THAT Joe Canning goal. ...

"Every now and then you something happens in a hurling match that takes your breath away"

That was the line used by Liam Sheedy during half time of the SG today.

Ah really now ?

I'm probably the only one, But i didnt think it was that good.

Maybe i'm being harsh, I'm not saying it wasnt a good goal. It was, But was it really one that would take your breath away. Come on now, I dont think so myself.

Surely to god being able to catch, turn and hit a ball in one movement, more or less, and put the ball into the back of the net from what, 13 yards, Shouldn't be beyond the capabilities of most inter-county forwards. I wouldnt be able to do it, Most of us here wouldnt be able to id imagine. But most of us here arent playing for their countys in Leinster finals.

Do we not see similar with defenders clearing their lines when facing their own goal for example, Just catch, turn and launch it up the pitch.

Alot of analysis about Joe's movement, Jesus fellas move for every ball, Its the norm.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 05/07/2015 19:40:07    1747929

Yes It was that good. One 360 degree turning movement, ball in the net. Brilliant

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 693 - 05/07/2015 20:04:37    1747949

A fantastic goal, best of the season so far in my opinion

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 05/07/2015 20:07:39    1747952

Are yis actually serious lads ?

Fair play then !!

Didnt think it was all that and a bag of chips myself. Classy but hardly breath-taking.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 05/07/2015 20:17:51    1747962

You got one thing right...you're probably the only one.

conordee (Galway) - Posts: 440 - 05/07/2015 20:21:40    1747965

yup. it was that good.. brilliant in fact.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1056 - 05/07/2015 20:21:48    1747966

It took the breath away from everyone in the crowd. That's all that matters.

Goal of the championship so far.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 05/07/2015 20:22:33    1747967

It was pure class in my opinion to turn catch and strike the ball in basically the one movement was juts brilliant skill.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 05/07/2015 20:29:06    1747976

One could argue that Galway have the goal of the championship so far in both codes. Gary Sice's strike a few weeks ago was top drawer as well.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 05/07/2015 20:51:15    1747986

Defenders facing their own goal catch the ball from what? a hand pass maybe, but not a high ball from fifty or sixty yards turn and let fly. Brilliant goal.

peile (Mayo) - Posts: 180 - 05/07/2015 20:51:36    1747987

Initial recation was wow, after seeing it again my option didn't change.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 05/07/2015 21:01:25    1747996

Marty Morrissey said it was the best goal he has ever seen. I could only name a handful of goals that I have seen that were better. Yes, I think it was that good.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 05/07/2015 21:15:00    1748005

Good ol Marty his gushing is almost pornographic - "take your breath away" only a kiss does that - and that goal was no kiss.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4893 - 06/07/2015 08:15:18    1748049

Great catch and finish from Canning.
Galway really faded out of the game in the last 20 minutes though.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 06/07/2015 09:05:48    1748069

I am with Wayno on this one, good goal, but not one of the greatest ever, I actually prefer this one from Wexford U21's the other week. http://www.balls.ie/gaa/cathal-dunbar-goal-wexford-u21s-offaly/298304

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 06/07/2015 09:19:33    1748080

An exceptional goal alright, I particularly admired how he could generate such power with that 'compromised' swing due to KK players in close proxmimity, great wrists. Not the greatest goal ever however in my opinion, dare I say the Joe Canning factor may be influencing people's assesment of the goal, but don't think we'll see much better individual goals this year.
(Being a Kilkenny man, I'd prefer to watch Eoin Larkin's final score over and over rather than Canning's)

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 06/07/2015 10:18:12    1748127

I must say I have to agree with Waynol. My reaction on the day was, great goal. this thread is about that goal but the fact is Galway were well beaten. Had Kilkenny taken all their chances we'd have been destroyed. A great goal is no consolation. Joe's overall contribution is of more concern. Up to yesterday it looked like he was hitting decent form but he was well marshalled by Holden on the day. TJ Reid scored 1.3 from play and his overall work rate was miles ahead of Joe's.

westisthebest (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 06/07/2015 10:48:44    1748152

Excellent goal from Joe.But to say one of the best ever is way over the top.Catch,swivel and execution.Food and drink to a player of Joes capabilities.I also think the Wexford U21 goal was more impressive.Team work at its best.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 06/07/2015 10:49:21    1748156

Jeez, has the OP ever played any sport?

How about you go to the nearest park, take off at a sprint, and try turning around backwards while still maintaining momentum, and see if you can manage to stay upright. lol

Try the basic running part, never mind catching the sliothar and spinning around in one motion, to strike it while challenged by two Kilkenny men with hurls, and then you might appreciate the brilliance and skill involved in that goal.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 06/07/2015 10:52:43    1748162

Good,honest observation westisbest.Joe,apart from goal,was pretty ineffectual for large parts.TJ Reid put in a trojan shift.Never relented.Kilkenny really bossed game in last 25 minutes.The scoreboard flattered Galway a little.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 06/07/2015 11:02:40    1748182