Possible venue change for Tyrone and Meath

First off, what's the story with the fixture? I believe that the venue may be changed. Can anyone from Tyrone expand on this?
There is some parade on 11th which could impact on travelling supporters. Clones is been talked about, any truth?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/06/2015 12:40:29    1745344

I hope not. Home game from Tyrone is a home game for Tyrone. I want it in omagh. Hate clones.

I also don't see how they could move this game without also moving Derry and Armagh also which would also be very unfair.

However,

I do feel there would be a need to televise as many of these games as possible if there's a situation where families are uncomfortable about bringing kids.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 30/06/2015 13:09:59    1745376

I havent seen anything about it but I know omagh can have some big parades. GAA HQ should have know this weekend wasnt great and if they more it to Clones it will be unfair on Tyrone and another way of HQ avoiding tax in the north

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 30/06/2015 13:10:37    1745377

Knowing the GAA they'll probably fix it for croker despite the game only attracting 20k at most....

PoppinPoints (Meath) - Posts: 225 - 30/06/2015 13:16:37    1745382

I was chatting to a fella in work today from Tyrone and he hopes it's not in Omagh. He would rather the game in Navan. Tyrone dont like omagh.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 30/06/2015 13:17:57    1745383

Royaldunne it will be next Monday when it will be confirmed. Its a joke.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 30/06/2015 13:18:44    1745385

But some craic by the GAA having 3 games in the North on the 12th weekend.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hamKl-su8PE

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 30/06/2015 13:18:51    1745386

In typical gaa style,
It has been confirmed that it won't be confirmed until next Monday.

But unfair on fans trying to make plans. What's the gaa's reasoning for such delays.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 30/06/2015 13:20:26    1745388

I'd prefer to play them in Omagh myself, far too many horror shows in Clones, at least Omagh doesn't carry as much baggage, plus I'd just prefer a spin up to Omagh, haven't been up there in about 5 years.

Ps, forgive the ignorance but I thought rub it in your face day was the 12th not the 11th, they parading for the whole weekend ye?

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 30/06/2015 13:21:52    1745391

Jinxie the only difference with tyrone v derry/armagh is.....

Cross is close to the border and Im guessing very few people march in that area.

Similar to Derry. On the border if you want the senic route and Derry is vast vast majoirty catholic and the few parades we get dont cause trouble anymore. Besides I think the Derry v Wexford game with be in Dungiven and you will see no red white and blue down there.

Omagh on the other hand is very mixed which can cause tension and possible trouble

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 30/06/2015 13:22:03    1745392

Last year on the exact 12th weekend Tyrone v Armagh was moved to Sunday afternoon as there would be no parades on a Sunday. This maybe is the same situation Tyrone v Meath at Omagh on Sunday 13 July would also help with spreading the fixtures around. I certainly would go to Armagh v Galway as well if this was possible. Tipperary v Louth on the Saturday alond with Derry V Wexford with the other two games on Sunday may be the solution.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 30/06/2015 13:23:04    1745393

Jinxie actually talk of it been a clones double header, but i think that was shot down.
But not one word on this game is very very strange.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/06/2015 13:23:34    1745394

unbelievable ! as if this situation was totally unforeseeable.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 30/06/2015 13:53:38    1745425

Rd
Have also heard Cavan meantioned. But it will be next Monday.

I suppose it's more of a nuisance for Tyrone squad than Meath. We know were aren't at home, never planned for it, Tyrone will have planned for it.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 30/06/2015 13:54:49    1745428

Strange indeed. Tricky to make plans but you would think the GAA would have planned for this. Home teams could not be asked to go to a neutral venue like Clones unless the counties themselves individually agreed this. Home venue should be home venue after all. Unrelated but with the groupings you have the Rossies knocked out of the province a week after us but playing their round 2 qualifier the week before us. Mind boggling scheduling.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 30/06/2015 13:55:56    1745430

Htaem no parades on the sunday. The lords day. Took long enough for rugby to be played on sundays up here and shops to be open. Always the Sat before the 12th

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 30/06/2015 13:56:10    1745431

As I posted on another thread, Tyrone have failed to win any of their last 7 league/championship games in Omagh when facing division 1 or 2 opposition. Purely from that perspective, I wouldn't complain too much if it was moved.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 30/06/2015 14:02:15    1745439

DoireCityFC
County: Derry

1745431 Htaem no parades on the sunday. The lords day. Took long enough for rugby to be played on sundays up here and shops to be open. Always the Sat before the 12th

Move the match(es) to Sunday then?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 30/06/2015 14:12:29    1745450

Quick point, are all the parades on sat?? Ahh Jesus lads me been the size of a house and me Mr tayto bulging,ill be easy to pick out :)
So it would appear that Tyrone are willing to give up home advantage (don't like omagh) in that case i think we looking at clones as i think Meath have no say in venue as they the away team.
How could this not have been foreseen???

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/06/2015 14:15:03    1745456

Yeah they don't commemorate the Battle of the Boyne on a Sunday (being good Christians and all that) if that's the day the 12th falls on - this year the official commemorations are on Monday 13th. I had a quick look there at the Parades Commision website and there does seem to be a Parade for 22:15 in Omagh on the 12th but it is down as being a one band parade with estimates of 60 people. I've put a link up below which any of our Southern gaels who are travelling North can have a scan at - might be of some use if you are trying to plan your route to whichever ground you are going (whether that be to take in a parade or avoid one).

https://www.paradescommission.org/

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 30/06/2015 14:19:34    1745459