Antrim footballers

What can you say, what a result have had a very poor year, looked awful against fermanagh and then this result considering lads were dropped for playing hurling on friday night.
Fantastic result and there ranked 9th best team in ulster, laois must be sick.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 705 - 20/06/2015 16:12:17    1739852

Easy knowing what province the competitive teams are coming out of. Ulster and leinster... like comparing the Champions League to the Milk Cup. Well done Antrim!!

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 20/06/2015 16:25:13    1739862

Fair play to them and good luck in the next round.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 20/06/2015 16:25:49    1739863

Have to admit I didn't see this coming but well done Antrim, in fairness they were in the promotion hunt from Division 4 up until the final day but the disappointment of missing out on promotion had appeared to unsettle them, but to go to Portlaoise and pull off a win is a serious achievement for them, let's hope it's a start of brighter things for Antrim

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 20/06/2015 16:30:04    1739865

Wow just heard the result....well done Antrim...a weekend of shocks to follow maybe?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 20/06/2015 16:31:21    1739867

amazing how when dublin hammered monaghan last year
the ulster boyos said it was down to monaghan playing three weeks in a row
now antrim gain a brilliant last gasp win over laois
who happen to be doing the exact same thing playing for a third week in a row
and theres no mention of this hindering laois
its like the pot calling the kettle...........

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/06/2015 16:37:22    1739869

Well done Antrim, not as shocked as other people. All Ulster teams are good enough to beat teams like Laois but still a fantastic result away from home.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 20/06/2015 16:42:22    1739873

Leinster football is falling apart at the seams, because one county which shall remain nameless, but plays every game on their home ground, has millions of Euro every year in funding, professional resources and facilities, and an enormous population to pick from, has so many advantages.

Young lads from the other counties are turning to Rugby and Soccer, the GAA needs to invest major funding in the other counties, to save Leinster football.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 20/06/2015 16:44:57    1739876

Some result, well done to Antrim.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 20/06/2015 16:45:46    1739877

hill16no1man

amazing how when dublin hammered monaghan last year
the ulster boyos said it was down to monaghan playing three weeks in a row
now antrim gain a brilliant last gasp win over laois
who happen to be doing the exact same thing playing for a third week in a row
and theres no mention of this hindering laois
its like the pot calling the kettle...........

I think in the case of Monaghan, some argued last year that they didn't have enough time to prepare for a team like Dublin. Keep in mind that Dublin up until that point were reigning All Ireland Champions and didn't look like they could be beat. But overall, most people would agree Monaghan were never going to win that game. They lacked the big game experience and confidence to challenge Dublin, however this year they have come on leaps and bounds.

As for Today's match, It's a bit of a shock. I certainly didn't expect Antrim to take a team like Laois, as there is a substancial gap between Division 2 and Division 4. Well done Antrim, It's nice to see some of those quality players actually perform and take up the challenge.
Would we see a shock result like that in Hurling? I don't think so.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 20/06/2015 16:48:15    1739879

The roller coaster of being an Antrim Gael continues. Delighted with the result and given the unrest over the dropping of players makes it even more of an achievement. With regards to the Fermanagh match, don't forget we played 47 mins with 14 men (allowing the added time in both halves) and had we not left our shooting boots behind we could still have come away with a win. Does the reverse venue work for the second round i.e. We played away in the second round last year so do we get home advantage this round?

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 20/06/2015 16:49:25    1739882

I honestly thought the final score was a wind up after hearing the half time score but delighted for the players who took to the field and showed no fear. After watching the timid display against Fermanagh, Sean McVeigh's suspension, Niall McKeever's injury, a number of players not interested this year and to top it off a typical episode from 3 St.Gall's player who chose club over county once again today's result is one hell of an achievement. I hope it generates some much needed confidence going forward and that the lads who delivered it today are given priority for the next round whoever we meet. Well done from a happy Saffron.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 20/06/2015 16:57:38    1739884

GaryMc82
its akin to Laois beating Offaly. Actually its not even. Its like Fermanagh beating Fingal, a mess up between no hopers, wholl be knocked out in the next round, unless they draw another no-hoper

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 20/06/2015 17:20:37    1739888

Fair play to Antrim, btw, hopefully theyll make me eat me words

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 20/06/2015 17:40:11    1739893

As long as Dublin remain in in leinster annually and keep dominating the rest of leinster will keep getting worse.

Funny how people justify all the underage money going to Dublin because they have big non gaa areas that need investment.

But it's not fair that 10 county gaa strong areas of leinster get left behind to rot .

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 20/06/2015 17:43:31    1739895

Well done to Antrim, Laois... what can I say!!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 20/06/2015 17:47:30    1739896

Martin McHugh claims laois are the next closest in Leinster to Dublin by some considerable distance.
But maybe that says more about the one trick analyst.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 20/06/2015 18:04:08    1739903

no excuses for Laois. They should have no trouble playing 3 games in 3 weekends.

crikey (Australia) - Posts: 355 - 20/06/2015 18:07:13    1739906

Laois... the mind boggles. They have serious talent they must wreck the heads of their supporters. We beat them by 5 last year. Two weeks ago they looked for all the world like they were going to a get a tilt at Dublin. Now they've been hammered by the neighbours and dumped out of the qualifiers by a Division 4 team AGAIN.

Always think Antrim underachieve in GAA terms. They never seem to get their best 15 on the field in either code between one thing and another. Hopefully they'll kick on from here.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 20/06/2015 18:10:04    1739908

Well done Antrim - hope ye get home draw next round. What a despicable act from certain players to play a game last night. These boys shouldnt be allowed in an antrim jersey again. And its no shock - same names again!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 20/06/2015 19:02:45    1739929