Meath Unlucky / lucky

http://hoganstand.com/Meath/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=238571

Meath once again are having some rotten luck with injuries

It blighted their last Championship campaign

Thankfully for them the injuries are not as serious as last year, but it's he amount of them at present that's the unlucky thing, it's really not the preparation the team would be looking for

But Meath are both unlucky but also lucky

In the sense that with the amount of players they currently have out... if they were on the other side of the draw playing either Dublin, Kildare, Laois

I def wouldn't give them a hope against Dublin with said injuries, but they'd find it very difficult to beat Kildare / Laois to reach their 4th Leinster Final on the trot

So in that way they are lucky to find themselves on the other side of the draw at present

They should limp through to another final.. maybe.. but with so many injuries - it's not ideal prep for a likely encounter with Dublin

They'll have key players only coming back from injury that haven't played much championship football

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/06/2015 13:28:31    1732352

you could look at it in another way
it could be what they need
they get the chance like dublin last weekend to play new players at that level
like dublin did with david byrne, john small and brian fenton
this would create competition for places when the more established players return from injury
if they make it to a leinster final and have them guys back it would give them far more of a panel to use
both in first 15 and the options off the bench as they will have found out a lot about themselves in the two
games getting there

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/06/2015 13:44:50    1732364

wait until brendtheredhand gets his eyes on this

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 04/06/2015 13:52:23    1732370

hill16no1man

1732364 you could look at it in another way
this would create competition for places when the more established players return from injury
if they make it to a leinster final and have them guys back it would give them far more of a panel to use
both in first 15 and the options off the bench as they will have found out a lot about themselves in the two
games getting there hill16no1man

1732364 you could look at it in another way
games getting there

That's true Hill.. but it's the experienced players they'll need at full flight to stand any chance of winning Leinster

And if they are getting little game time due to injury... it's not very good preparation

I mean they had a shed load of injuries last year... didn't do them any favours as in competition for places

I'd agree with your point regarding Dublin... but don't think you can compare our panel to Meath's current panel

We have fella's not even on the panel that would IMO walk into the Meath panel

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/06/2015 14:02:43    1732376

Uncle_Fester

1732370 wait until brendtheredhand gets his eyes on this

______

Why's that?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/06/2015 14:03:14    1732377

Firstly yes it is unlucky to happen again at this time of year, and it does raise the question if jimmy mcg was right to halt all club games in case of injuries, that been said they will definitely beat Wicklow and more than likely reach another Leinster final, is it ideal preparation? Certainly not. This is two years running this has happened while not as serious as last year it does hamper them in a likely final v dubs.
Just one correction to the hs story, Kevin Reilly is no longer captain, its Donal keoghan this year.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/06/2015 14:04:44    1732381

If Meath are going to compete physically with any decent team,then they need Kev Reilly,Gillespie,Menton fit and playing.Now Gillespie may be back if we beat Wicklow.BUT,he has played very little football this year.Reilly is a problem as he is struggling with a hip problem and is generally prone to injury.Those 2 players are leaders in the Meath team and they seriously lack that,when these two guys don't play.Menton has turned into a leader and is also physical.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 04/06/2015 14:10:35    1732383

The stronger Meath are the better. If another Dublin Meath final comes to pass I'm sure it will be a closer affair. But such talk is disrespectful of the sides still in it. Lots of football to be played yet.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 04/06/2015 14:12:26    1732386

I agree with Jimbob

If you are to compete with Dublin,you need your leaders and key players.Alot of good young players on the Meath team,but if Meath are to even compete with them,they will need Kev Reilly,Gillespie and Menton fit and well..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 04/06/2015 14:12:53    1732387

seany16

1732386 The stronger Meath are the better. If another Dublin Meath final comes to pass I'm sure it will be a closer affair. But such talk is disrespectful of the sides still in it. Lots of football to be played yet.
______

I Hear ya Seany but false modesty is a real cluchie thing... don't like it

It's just lying... wrapped up in BS

But sometimes you have to lower yourself to fit in I guess

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/06/2015 14:20:32    1732399

I got to say at this stage its gone beyond belief with Kevin Reilly and injuries, a Meath poster that i took to task over saying we should plan without him last year, in starting to think might have been right.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/06/2015 14:29:20    1732404

We have been unlucky with injuries over the past 2 years, with a number of important players missing for the championship last year and we'll probably have a few missing this year aswell which is less than ideal. You'd have to wonder what's going on in Meath club football with all these injuries to the county lads and some of them have been injured training with the county aswell so there are some question marks there.

It's risky business and very subjective to pick out players who we need to have but for me if we're to challenge for Leinster this year we need the following fit, defenders: Keogan (NB), Reilly (we desperately need a 6 so Keogan can stay at 2) & Menton, Centrefield: Gillespe, forwards: Tormey, Newman, Bray & E Wallace. Now we could probably afford an injury to 1 or 2 of those lads but not against Dublin (if we get there of course) against them we'd need all those players fit and firing in my opinion.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 04/06/2015 14:31:53    1732406

royaldunne

I got to say at this stage its gone beyond belief with Kevin Reilly and injuries, a Meath poster that i took to task over saying we should plan without him last year, in starting to think might have been right.

Ye actually come to think of it I said we should start planning without K Reilly aswell because of all his injuries so you can remove him from my post above. Now don't get me wrong it would be great to have him but given the amount of time he's spent injured we simply have to plan without him and also he has to start considering his long term health if he continues playing on, is it really worth it for him?

There's going to be a bit of pressure on McGill to fill K Reilly's boots at 3 this year but in fairness he's done a good job so and I have no major worries about him. The only real worry I have about our defense is the lack of a no.6, Keogan is well capable of filling the gap but we also need him at 2, so who's up to the task of playing 6?

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 04/06/2015 14:46:08    1732414

Is it bad luck lads,or has the way Meath are training anything to do with the vast amount of players out of action over the last few years.I dont remember many of Sean Boylans teams of old missing out through injury,although they certainly responsible for causing a few to anything that moved in a different jersey(:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 04/06/2015 15:35:55    1732439

but they had those players for the last three years and could not get close to dublin
as ben franklin said
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting it to come out different"

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/06/2015 15:51:57    1732455

hill16no1man

1732455 but they had those players for the last three years and could not get close to dublin
as ben franklin said
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting it to come out different"

Hill you'd argue black is white... ha-ha

I understand that point but the Meath lads seem to be going along with the point I'm making... and I reckon that's worth noting

They just don't have the panel to be losing lads who'd normally be automatic starters and that's far from ideal prep with lads missing game time in the run up to a possible final with Dublin

No doubt they players they were missing last year contributed to their performance against Dublin

It's all well and good to use the Dublin example last Sunday... but there's not too many counties with our sort of options

I agree with you about trying the same thing over and over again... but more to do with tactics... the tactics they've been deploying against us... going man to man.... now that's insanity...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/06/2015 16:03:08    1732465

cuederocket

1732439 Is it bad luck lads,or has the way Meath are training anything to do with the vast amount of players out of action over the last few years.I dont remember many of Sean Boylans teams of old missing out through injury,although they certainly responsible for causing a few to anything that moved in a different jersey(:

-

Couple of meath lads pointed out injuries sustained in club duties etc

Sure look at EOG for Dublin... and his younger brother... but them are the risks at this time of year

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/06/2015 16:04:48    1732466

hill16no1man

but they had those players for the last three years and could not get close to dublin
as ben franklin said

That's not really true hill, depends what you consider the same team really, from 12-15 only 2 of our players started the Leinster final in the exact same position in all 3 finals = 2. Keogan and 3. Reilly. Other players who started all 3 finals but not in the same positions include Menton, Carroll, G Reilly and S Bray, 2 of those started in the same lines (Bray & Carroll) the other 2 changed lines. So that brings us to a grand total of 6 that started all 3 finals.

But nevermind the Banty team in 2012, he never really worked out for us, but in 2013 we went man for man and put up a good display for 60mins before Dublin got the better of us. Now that led us to think that last year we had a chance, but straight off the bat Dublin were brilliant and I don't think many teams would have beaten them that day but also we were missing a few lads from 2013, O'Dowd made some poor tactical mistakes and our lads really let themselves down.

But just to look at the injuries and absentees between 2013 & 14, Kenny and Meade retired and Gillepse and E Wallace (4 important players) were injured (so was K Reilly in all probability but he played anyway) and MOD put G Reilly and S O'Rourke (only back after 3 year out) in centrefield which was a complete disaster. Also he moved Keogan who had been playing at 6 to shore up the defense back into 2 and dumped Menton into 6, where he can't really play, it was a disaster from start to finish.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 04/06/2015 16:30:05    1732478

They just don't have the panel to be losing lads who'd normally be automatic starters and that's far from ideal prep with lads missing game time in the run up to a possible final with Dublin

I agree with you about trying the same thing over and over again... but more to do with tactics... the tactics they've been deploying against us... going man to man.... now that's insanity...

I agree with a lot of what you've said and we certainly don't have the panel to sustain many injuries but I suppose plenty of teams could claim that as well, however I have to give credit to Dublin, you's have an incredible squad of players. This Dublin team has the potential to be the best football team of all time (not there yet) but their overall squad is surely already up there with the best of all time.

Just to take you up on the man for man thing, you may have a point and I wouldn't care if we put 14 men behind the ball if it meant winning a Leinster final against Dublin but I don't know if we'd be much good at that, I've never seen us do it and I don't know if you can just flick a switch and turn it on.

Our most balanced style was in 2013 and it got us the closest (although the scoreboard doesn't reflect that) so if we get a chance again I'd like to see us relatively injury free and I don't care what way we set up once there's a definite plan A and plan B, not just 'oh **** plan A isn't working, leg it'.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 04/06/2015 16:43:12    1732481

Hill actually didn't have most of them last year,
But we have strengthened the team plenty, trust me if they are all fit Dublin will have a lot to worry about in particular with the amount of complacency. With your dodgy keeper we may get another 5 :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/06/2015 16:45:15    1732482