Laois and. Kildare. A real full blooded rivalry

Well after all those Ulster games have been hyped up its time for a genuine full blooded rivalry.
Laois and Kildare hate each other, and that's putting it mildly, now yes Kildare seem to be in disarray, but they will be up for this 100%. Really looking forward to seeing this one.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/05/2015 19:02:01    1728301

+1

Honestly wouldn't care if Dublin gave us a proper hiding in a potential semi final just so long as we beat Laois in the quarter final. The slagging at work would be endless if we lose to them.

beir_bua (Kildare) - Posts: 746 - 25/05/2015 20:13:13    1728330

Yeah that's what makes Leinster so special, there is so many mini must win games or you can forget about work for a year as you wont live it down. The Kildare Laois rivalry is one that many might not know. But for me this is the game of the championship so far for the neutral. Cant wait.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/05/2015 20:36:13    1728347

Leinster is the only province with so many derby's that means so much to the counties involved irrespective of how either team is faring in general.As an Offalyman I hope both of them lose at the weekend.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 25/05/2015 20:51:03    1728357

Hopefully football is the winner lads cause I can't take much more of that Ulster rubbish. I honestly don't like seeing Kildare being so bad there a team I love to hate when there going well I can't believe they've gone so far back, Kildare n Laois have some great players they both should be doing a lot better.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 25/05/2015 20:54:04    1728360

That's it cd im the sane re Kildare, i need them to be better :).
But yeah its all the derbies, i don't think any other province has that where one game means so much, even if winning it means getting hammered by dubs its still better than the alternative of listening to bs from your neighbors for a year v

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/05/2015 21:12:24    1728374

Jaysus lads this is like Louis Walsh proclaiming Boyzone to be the best band of all time and dismissing Pink Floyd as boring , something just doesnt feel right ;)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 25/05/2015 21:28:53    1728385

I have a Grannie from Kildare and a Grandad from Portlaoise.Im neutral on this derby.I have a soft spot for both.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 25/05/2015 21:29:11    1728386

leinster is a joke of a province... has the most teams and is now being passed out by Munster in terms of standard.. i used 2 love it about 10 years ago when meath laois westmeath offaly wexford could all compete now none of the teams are of the required standard.. yes Dublin improved buy my god how the others have worsened is a sad sad situation.

blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 194 - 25/05/2015 21:41:17    1728391

Haha athcliath,i was thinking along the same lines,although you put the perfect words to it.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 25/05/2015 21:46:35    1728397

Blue skies majority of those you mentioned would still be ahead of Cavan though :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/05/2015 22:00:47    1728407

royaldunne

Blue skies majority of those you mentioned would still be ahead of Cavan though :)

Meath are probably around the same level as Cavan. The others are lower.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 26/05/2015 08:35:59    1728412

couldn't see neutrals outside the counties involved paying much attention- neutrals will watch Cork v Kerry, Mayo v Galway, Dublin v Meath- but us v Laois, i don't think so! Important for the locals no doubt but neither team going well and unlikely to make any impact on the championship. Winner will provide a training session for the dubs but important for kildare to win and salvage something from a poor year. Players will be motivated and give their all, same with Laois, expect it to be close but Laois tend to produce better scoring forwards than kildare so likely to shade it this time.

switec (Kildare) - Posts: 525 - 26/05/2015 08:52:25    1728415

Cavan > Meath

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 26/05/2015 09:01:43    1728417

Leinster is a joke the Ulster posters keep telling us but I don't remember getting too many hidings off Ulster teams in the championship when we've met them in the last few years. We've given out a few though. But either way, enough of that 'my da would beat up your da' nonsense. We've got these jokels in Tullamore to deal with.

10 Reasons to dislike Laois:
1. After 2003 they seemed to think they'd invented the game of Football
2. And this after we beat them with 13 men in '97.
3. Tom Kelly, the midlands answer to Greg Louganis
4. Laois is a one syllable word. Are ye so devoid of chants that you need to contort this into 'Lee-ish'?
5. Billy Sheehan and his vocal views on partition.
6. Speaking of which Kildare's transfers get picked through like the last of the Christmas turkey.
7. Players from all over this country travel home from Dublin to train with their counties. Lads from the even Aran Islands get the boat. Not Laois though, that's just too far to travel, better transfer to Parnells.
8. Parkinson.
9. The only famous person to come out of Laois apart from Oliver J. Flanagan was Darren from Love/Hate and look what happened to him!
10. Did I mention Tom Kelly?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 26/05/2015 09:09:58    1728418

Laois and Kildare? Ive never even heard of them. How did I miss their titanic struggles all my life?
This match is sure to break the viewing figures record

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 26/05/2015 09:24:35    1728422

Always a tasty encounter ...Clashing with the champions League final (both on Sky)so that could me a dip in the crowd.
Laois and Kildare have been getting poor support all year and a lot of the South west Dubblin fans(Kildare :-) )will surely want to watch the Soccer??

On the pitch I expect a tight game Kildare have a great record over Laois in every greade in recent years and hard to see that changing but Laois have one of the best midfield pairings in the country with Quigley and O'Loughlin and maybe could trouble the confidence of the Lillies?

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 26/05/2015 09:49:01    1728432

Well last year Kildare went to extra time with Monaghan, also its only a few years ago dubs needed a very dodgy free to beat them.
Id wager that at least one of these teams will be in last 12 and i have a sneaking suspension both will be.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/05/2015 10:09:53    1728440

10. Did I mention Tom Kelly?

Enough said.

Dr.Watson (Kildare) - Posts: 208 - 26/05/2015 10:43:14    1728460

Of course at least one of Kildare and Laois could make the last 12 - a bit will depend on qualifier draws of course as neither will get past Dublin but as far as I can see they are on the A side of the draw for the qualifiers which is the one that looks lightest so certainly cause to be optimistic.

Already in the A side are London, Offaly, Limerick, Carlow and Cavan, with the teams to follow before the last 12 stage likely being Antrim, Fermanagh, Clare, Longford and Sligo. A lot of teams in that will probably be liking their chances and makes such a prediction not that much of a reach.

Would have raised more eyebrows had Kildare and Laois been heading into the other qualifier pot with the like of Tyrone, Leitrim, Louth, 3 from Derry, Down, Donegal and Armagh, Tipperary, and one of Galway or Mayo - in such circumstances I would be saying they would be lucky to win a match in the qualifiers between them.

As for the game between Laois and Kildare - this could be a very entertaining affair and lets hope it is. It does not have to be two heavyweights involved to make a game entertaining and as we saw with Fermanagh Antrim last year high entertainment can come from a matchup between two of the perceived minnows in the competition.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 26/05/2015 10:46:12    1728463