Cake on The Sunday Game

Thought Cake came across well last night. Extremely articulate and brought a new dimension to analysis. Felt Des Cahill rushed him a little and perhaps doesn't appreciate indebt tactical thinking or perhaps that level of analysis doesn't appeal to the casual viewer?

sportsfan14 (USA) - Posts: 281 - 25/05/2015 17:47:27    1728262

Thought he was rude and arrogant. Made me squirm

christy sting (Derry) - Posts: 262 - 25/05/2015 18:02:39    1728272

Triangles? He also noted that monaghan won by hitting vertical balls? My favourite was the clip of darren hughes running direct at the goals as the reason for turnaround. However that chance came off a mistake from mcgloughlin not hughes initiative.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 25/05/2015 18:13:21    1728279

I agree with that comment but can someone please tell me what a vertical pass is?

royalfan4life (Meath) - Posts: 76 - 25/05/2015 18:20:33    1728281

Are you joking? He is comical, but that's not what he is paid for. Laughable analysis last night and insulting to London as well, the Rossies hardly walloped them and there he is proclaiming they shouldn't be in the championship. Cake did well as a keeper and is a successful businessman but the mind boggles as to why he is on the television giving crackpot analysis.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 25/05/2015 18:24:50    1728282

His comments about 'Confused Coach Syndrome' and northern teams said it all to me really. Looked like a man who has just discovered how to use the arrows and lines on the RTE computer. Let's hope it was a one off.

OgraAnDun (Down) - Posts: 406 - 25/05/2015 18:35:09    1728286

Most people in Roscommon take him with a pinch of salt. Questioning Londons involvement was unnecessary and insulting. They are a serious representation of Irish culture and have performed admirably in recent years. Does new York deserve similar ridicule? Criticised ulster football immediately too and tried to seem tactically astute regarding geometry patterns on the field....I lost respect for him after his recent article and uninformed claims regarding the Roscommon bus.A brilliant keeper who served his county and club with distinction. But an attention seeker in the media.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 519 - 25/05/2015 18:54:01    1728294

Could see Whelan squirm a few times too. Wouldn't blame him either

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 519 - 25/05/2015 18:56:12    1728296

considering london have a few victories lately including away to leitrim i dont understand how they dont deserve to be in the championship?

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 25/05/2015 18:57:57    1728297

Loves triangles almost as much as Pythagoras.

bit of joke to be honest.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 25/05/2015 19:00:29    1728300

His comments regarding London are laughable and insulting. Not what the GAA is about

spy_in_the_sky (Antrim) - Posts: 273 - 25/05/2015 19:11:13    1728310

Added nothing in my opinion.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 25/05/2015 19:23:04    1728311

Sure if nothing else himself and Marty will boost the female viewer figures.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 25/05/2015 19:52:15    1728317

He was poor
Very insulting to London.
Brilliant keeper and lunatic Rossie enthusiast maybe his still hurting over mark o Carroll his club mate who had a career ending injury against London last time we were there but he was indeed at times cringe worthy

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 25/05/2015 20:08:12    1728326

After a weekend suffering collateral damage from fellow county men, I completely disagree with Cakes comments regarding London. I was at the game yesterday and have been at a couple of the New York games and I have seen first had what these games mean to the exiles. The GAA is not professional and is as much a social community based movement as anything else and that should never be forgotten. There should always be a place for London and New York and I am delighted that London GAA have got the financial backing to develop Ruislip.
Speaking of social , the intensity of lads and lassies on the lash was a sight to behold in Ruislip yesterday.

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 214 - 25/05/2015 20:16:56    1728333

Embarrassing
No more please

conordee (Galway) - Posts: 440 - 25/05/2015 20:19:23    1728336

Dont know much about this lad,but the small bit i do,im not liking it at all.He has a similiar type of charisma that wee Davy Fitz has.Or hasnt.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 25/05/2015 20:20:12    1728337

I usually enjoy 'Cake' but didn't agree with his London comments. Galway beat Leitrim by 8 points - should they also be cast out of Connacht?

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 25/05/2015 20:32:01    1728343

I thought his analysis was very weak. He seemed to have a few pre rehearsed phrases and he threw them out. The body language of McStay and Whelan clearly indicated to me they weren't comfortable with his comments/analysis.

He comments about London were very unfair and arrogant. They beat Leitrim and Sligo two years ago and Fermanagh the year before yet he was making the point that Roscommon's championship really only starts when they play Sligo in the semi because the London match yesterday was apparently a non event but the Sligo match is a different kettle of fish altogether. Are Sligo so improved that they are to be taken far more seriously than London? Also, Roscommon only won by seven points so the gulf wasn't that huge to suggest London have no business playing the likes of Roscommon. It's not that long ago when Roscommon were in division 4 either so I thought it was very arrogant of him to speak of London like that. I doubt they'll be calling him back to appear again about that attention seeking performance.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 25/05/2015 20:33:46    1728345

Who is Cake? Is he married to Marie Antionette from up the raod?

cjx (Tyrone) - Posts: 270 - 25/05/2015 20:42:39    1728351