Sledging has been going on for years

Sledging has been going on for years.
I remember marking A fella that had done so and so to my mother and her in New York.
Big Sean was with his wife and children on Saturday night as was Michael Murphy with his partner I'm sure
so they know what any man said on Sunday was all crap talk the referees can't stop it the GAA can't stop it.
The only man that can stop it is the player that is getting it by roasting the mouth peace that isn't interested
in the ball.

TYRONE_MICK (Tyrone) - Posts: 332 - 21/05/2015 19:24:34    1726779

I agree that its being going on for years.That dosnt make it right or mean that we have to accept it.I agree its very hard for a referee to stop it.The way to stop it is for the men in charge of teams to lay down the law and make it clear to one and all that any one who does it won't play for them again.Ever.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 21/05/2015 21:25:11    1726842

It's not a gaa problem. It is in every sport and code. I discovered yesterday where the term sledging came from. It's origins are found in the gentlemans game cricket. As one of the batters came to the field an opponent started singing the percy sledge song when a man loves a woman to suggest he was having an affair with his wife. It's rife in every sport. Watch any moderatley competitive game in any code and you will see players mouthing off to one another. Why are the gaa on a moral crusade here? If some fella gets rattled by a fella saying he was fornicating with his spouse the night before do you really want him on the team?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 22/05/2015 09:48:51    1726904

Yeah the Aussies are notorious for it in the cricket apparently.
I heard a story that an English cricketer once said to Shane Warne, "Shane - why are you so fat?"

His response was, "it's cos after every time I S*** your wife she gives me a biscuit"

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9132 - 22/05/2015 10:31:05    1726927

I would like to ask a simple enough question following on from also acknowledging it has been going on for years.

Why are posters jumping to the conclusion that this verbal abuse is orchestrated by a county's management team.

Using the example of the Donegal Minor, which I must say was absolutely disgraceful and i certainly wouldnt have been as composed either on or off the pitch, however, getting back to my point why do posters point the finger at the management when it could quite as easily been some gobs***e who thought this was funny and taken it upon himself to act like this

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 22/05/2015 10:47:46    1726934

Has being going on for years. The players who hurl abuse all have parents who would defend their actions to the hilt. Its not just a football issue.Sledging occurs in pubs,discos,colleges ,and schoools. Its a social issue because we live in an era where the mores of what is good behaviour have been completely undermined by bad parenting and a lack of values in family units regardless of sexual orientation. Ask any member of an Garda Siochana what its like on the "beat"at the moment. Ask a Garda whats it like calling to certain house on offical business. Our manners and codes of conduct in society are at an all time low. Whats going on in G.A.A. matches is a mere microcosm of the overindulged mammys boys prevalent in this country. Bravado and mouthing in public,them hide behind Mammy and Daddys apron strings.

Brinsley Swartz (Mayo) - Posts: 2225 - 22/05/2015 10:51:23    1726939

We were actually discussing that at tea time lock jaw. A very funny response. The thing is though sledging is prevelant in every sport and it has been going on in the gaa for years, both codes despite what Horgan was saying the other day.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 22/05/2015 10:55:10    1726941

Well said Brinsley. I see young lads every weekend in my local giving it the big one, insulting all round them for the lolz. I know I was boisterous in my younger days but I always had manners and knew there were certain lines you didn't cross.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9132 - 22/05/2015 10:56:29    1726944

Lockjaw 22/05/2015 10:31:05

Yeah the Aussies are notorious for it in the cricket apparently.
I heard a story that an English cricketer once said to Shane Warne, "Shane - why are you so fat?"

His response was, "it's cos after every time I S*** your wife she gives me a biscuit"

Ha great response! See this is just a bit of friendly banter. Nothing sinister.. They can have a laugh about it after.

There was another one when England were playing Australia and Shane Watson had claimed to have seen a ghost in their hotel. Apparently he was completely convinced and was freaked out about the whole thing. The England camp got word of it and went to town on him in the next game.. Darren Gough started pretending he was a ghost when he was bowling to him, it was hilarious stuff think there's a clip of it somewhere!!

It's something that exists is almost every sport in the world to some degree. Agree that while some of the incidents that have come to light in the last week are very concerning, I think the whole moral crusade at the minute is a bit much.

HandballRef (Donegal) - Posts: 520 - 22/05/2015 11:04:13    1726951

What was said to the young Donegal lad was not sledging...

Disgusting.

It's abuse... utterly shameful carry on

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 22/05/2015 11:07:19    1726953

Jimbo you are spot on. It's disgusting to say that about a dead family member and I wouldn't call that sledging. However to suggest that saying you were at someone's mrs is in the same league is ridiculous.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 22/05/2015 11:20:50    1726963

i have to laugh we had the typical response from ex hurlers and pundits
that this doesnt happen in hurling and in particular the first man to say he never recieved it was henry shefflin
then almost to show how unaware at how oblivious they are to ever seeing anything bad in hurling
he comes out today with an article showing that he himself actualy used verbal abuse to davy fitz

"With so much talk about sledging in Gaelic football this week, a memory came to mind from the 2002 All-Ireland hurling final that made me chuckle.
"As Kilkenny got on top of Clare, DJ Carey scored this sublime point from under the Hogan Stand without even taking the ball to hand. There'd been a few verbals between Davy Fitzgerald and me throughout the game and now, as DJ's effort sailed serenely over, I went running towards the Clare goal, roaring in "Class is permanent boy, class is permanent . . ."

he then went on to show that when he was actually confronted about it from davy fitz he cowered away from him

"Davy, naturally, didn't spare me, inviting me further inside his domain. I went within maybe eight yards, then thought the better of it and wheeled away.

how dilussional are some of these guys that write about the games
that they really cannot see the obvious

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/05/2015 11:11:46    1727320

Apparently John Leahy said something similar to Hopper mcGrath in the semi in 91, which resulted in Hopper getting the line after decking him. Not new and not only in football

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 23/05/2015 12:51:20    1727350

I assume the point of this thread is that if something has been going on for years then we shouldnt do anything about it.
The mind boggles.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 23/05/2015 14:44:37    1727378

when things are reduced to a badly refereed soccer match where half the team is trying to get a player sent off then the black cards need to be dished out...in fairness joncarter i think the only issue the tyrone posters have is people are acting like tyrone invented all of this carry on and nobody else has even dreamed of doing such a thing...a bit of balance and objectivity would be a nice change for this forum

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 23/05/2015 21:28:59    1727519

hill16no1man

i have to laugh we had the typical response from ex hurlers and pundits
that this doesnt happen in hurling and in particular the first man to say he never recieved it was henry shefflin
then almost to show how unaware at how oblivious they are to ever seeing anything bad in hurling
he comes out today with an article showing that he himself actualy used verbal abuse to davy fitz

"With so much talk about sledging in Gaelic football this week, a memory came to mind from the 2002 All-Ireland hurling final that made me chuckle.
"As Kilkenny got on top of Clare, DJ Carey scored this sublime point from under the Hogan Stand without even taking the ball to hand. There'd been a few verbals between Davy Fitzgerald and me throughout the game and now, as DJ's effort sailed serenely over, I went running towards the Clare goal, roaring in "Class is permanent boy, class is permanent . . ."

he then went on to show that when he was actually confronted about it from davy fitz he cowered away from him

"Davy, naturally, didn't spare me, inviting me further inside his domain. I went within maybe eight yards, then thought the better of it and wheeled away.

how dilussional are some of these guys that write about the games
that they really cannot see the obvious
--------------------------------------------------------------
And what sort of a cocoon have you lived in that would make you say that anything in that story would be called abuse.FFS!!! Wise up man!!

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 23/05/2015 21:46:22    1727525

Spot on joncarter just because it had been going on for years doesn't make it acceptable. Theres a big difference in someone making a comment like class is permanent v referring to a lads sick/dead/handicapped family members during a game...how some people can't accept that the latter has no place in our games is very worrying..instead they are trying to justify that sort of behaviour....

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 24/05/2015 09:34:57    1727536

Yeah unfortunately the John Leahy story seems to be more than a rumour. I was only talking to my dad about it last night.

The problem is it seems to be gone way beyond verbals now. Without sounding like a broken record it's the refereeing teams on match day that need to step up. Players will getaway will what they are let getaway.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 24/05/2015 11:40:02    1727564

While lads giving each other abuse ,coupled with witty replies and hits off the ball has been going on for years . I already mentioned Dublin v Meath on another thread. We have to be very careful in this age of social media.
Bullying on internet sites has cost peoples lives and its not beyond the stretch of imagination that young teenagers (unbeknownst to management) can troll for information with facebook sites easily accessable and use information on football pitches against the opposition to get into their head.
This is not winding up your opponent or sledging its bullying and with mental awareness making great strides in GAA .
This has to be tackled head on and not brushed under the carpet. This is not a slur on a county Team but individuals who happen to have a county jersey on their back when they are doing it. Management could easily be oblivious to this.
Everybody should come out against this and not use the minor incident as an excuse to get digs in.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 24/05/2015 12:23:32    1727567

Seanie boy
Call it sledging verbals or goading whatever you want
It all the same thing and he clearly did that to try and get at fitzy

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/05/2015 13:44:17    1727582