Targeting of all things Ulster

I used to find the Ulster V the rest as a kind of slagging match , TBH I now find it shocking . HS and social networking sites have taken it too far , there simply is a visceral hatred of all things that comes from our province . I won't name any posters but they know who they are . To be fair , Dublin get a lot of it too . Banter is banter but some of the narrow mindedness from certain people beggars belief . Donegal , Tyrone , Armagh and Monaghan have received zero respect whatsoever . We are brilliant Gaels and have won some superb all - Ireland's between us . We have by a mile the toughest province and play our complex matches early on . Certain counties play one tough match and they get a by in semi finals . As one poster on another forum has posited , Galway commited more fouls than Tyrone or Donegal at weekend ; will this matter : NO. Numerous friends of mine don't bother with this site anymore , now I see why . Kerry , Cork etc can do what they like . It won't ever matter . I suppose I'm just being soft !

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 19/05/2015 16:09:28    1725655

+1

I was actually shocked at some of the stuff I have seen on here today. Sledging by players should stop. Sledging on here should also stop.

I think it's time to get rid of the provinces altogether and have a championship which doesn't use them. As well as making a more entertaining fairer championship it may get rid of some of this parochial mindsets which has really reached endemic levels.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 19/05/2015 17:13:40    1725707

Well I hope you keep posting because diversity of opinion is valued on this site. Maybe we are abit hard on you guys. Of course you have been great gaels and have been very successfull at Gaelic Football. I suppose personally I find the Ulstergael on here a little bit republican for me and a little narrow minded at times.

BanTarleton (Clare) - Posts: 181 - 19/05/2015 17:41:54    1725731

Well it mightn't be as bad if there wasn't so much whataboutery and denials going on.
For instance, one poster told me that ulster was now cynical simply because it was so competitive. But Ulster's most competitive period was 1991-1996. 4 all Irelands, 3 different teams and 4 different provincial winners. No cynical play and no sledging in that period. So what is this excuse about it being down to competitiveness?

You reference the point about galway. Yet a galway poster has come on and completely slated their own team for that. Will you be doing that about your own team? Therein lies your answer. It isn't about being cynical, it is about being cynical and then pretending it is something else, or it is someone elses fault, or that you are actually the victim of a big conspiracy. Then when a 'southern team' do it you are all over it. How come that isn't a big conspiracy too?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 19/05/2015 17:49:40    1725738

Well it mightn't be as bad if there wasn't so much whataboutery and denials going on.
For instance, one poster told me that ulster was now cynical simply because it was so competitive. But Ulster's most competitive period was 1991-1996. 4 all Irelands, 3 different teams and 4 different provincial winners. No cynical play and no sledging in that period. So what is this excuse about it being down to competitiveness?

You reference the point about galway. Yet a galway poster has come on and completely slated their own team for that. Will you be doing that about your own team? Therein lies your answer. It isn't about being cynical, it is about being cynical and then pretending it is something else, or it is someone elses fault, or that you are actually the victim of a big conspiracy. Then when a 'southern team' do it you are all over it. How come that isn't a big conspiracy too?

Go back and look at the thread from the Donegal v Tyrone match, several different posters from both counties have said the sledging and messing that went on was a disgrace, so they have done exactly what the Galway poster did.

And cynicism is most definitely not confined to Ulster, it is a country wide problem and in my opinion the 2 most cynical teams are Dublin and Kerry. I'm not saying that to insult anyone and there's no offence intended, that's just my opinion. Yes some Ulster teams are cynical but so are some Connacht, Munster and Leinster teams so why is it always levelled at the Ulster teams and highlighted more?

turkeyplucker (UK) - Posts: 137 - 19/05/2015 18:06:50    1725747

that poster slates everybody master

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 19/05/2015 18:19:20    1725751

Well therightstuff,you could be called soft alright but on the other hand I,as a Dub have often thought I couldn't be bothered checking in on the Hogan Stand anymore as you have a fairly good idea what you are going to get.Mind you I'm sure there are plenty who would say good ridings to you if I didn't.
In relation to the Galway issue ,I think they will get pulled up if this is how they intend to play going forward as this would not generally be their approach and usually they will play a more open style. Northern teams have developed a reputation for defensive and often considered cynical play which most but not all seem determined to defend and will not hear a bad word spoken about their side no matter what happens on the field. I am not on here to bash northern sides for the sake of it and appreciate the difficulties they have encountered in the past while trying to maintain their games. We,as you mention get this all day long too and it does get boring after a while but if you keep winning there's always going to be those who don't like it.
You could level certain charges against ourselves but it's more than likely not the first time its been thrown at us.

There's always going to be those who don't like you if you are from a certain part of this small island.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 19/05/2015 18:24:57    1725753

I totally agree with themaster on this one. Its the blatant lies that is been peddled by certain ulster posters about there own province that's the problem. Come on we have certain ulster posters telling us that there is no cynicism in the province, and that its all down to southern meejaa. I suggest that you accept there is a problem within the ulster game, the sledging the cynical fouling the off the ball stuff etc etc are all much worse in ulster than any other regions, does it happen in other counties and provinces ? Yes it certainly does but we highlight it and say its not on, that seems to be the difference. And while you can clap yourselves on the back for having the alleged most competitive province i have stated prior to last Sunday the finalists will be Donegal and Monaghan. So its nearly as predictable as every other province, also the likelihood of a ulster county winning Sam is quite slim with them all been rated behind dubs Kerry mayo and about same chance as cork.
I have and always have had great admiration for Down football, they have always played the game the way it should be played so there is no ulster bias on my or id say majority of posters behalf, perhaps its easier to say that those who point out what they see as wrong within ulster as biased etc than actually say maybe just maybe they have a point.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/05/2015 18:47:00    1725761

Targeting Ulster? Not me I love Ulster football.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2989 - 19/05/2015 18:52:23    1725768

In fairness a lot of places could complain about getting abuse, Meath were surely one of the most hated teams in the country throughout the 80s and 90s, now whether people think that was justified or not is their own opinion but personally the stick never got to me, if anything I actually enjoyed it a little bit. But anyway my point being, just go about your business and nevermind what anybody else is saying about you, competitive sport isn't about winning friends, it's about winning silverware.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 19/05/2015 19:11:32    1725778

The only difference between Ulster and the rest is that some in Ulster have a province wide perspective and a complex of if it is an attack on one of us it represents an attack on all of us. That mentality doesn't exist in the rest of the country in my experience. Speaking from my own viewpoint, once Dublin are beaten i couldn't care less who wins after i tip my hat to our opposition and wish them all the best. I take no pride in other Leinster counties achievements and do not see fit to defend them either. I do not show any bias toward Leinster teams playing non Leinster teams in double headers etc. I understand why Ulster tends to huddle together but as some stage lads you will wake up and realise some of this is all in your heads and of your own creation.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 19/05/2015 19:34:50    1725785

Htaem

1725778 In fairness a lot of places could complain about getting abuse, Meath were surely one of the most hated teams in the country throughout the 80s and 90s, now whether people think that was justified or not is their own opinion but personally the stick never got to me, if anything I actually enjoyed it a little bit. But anyway my point being, just go about your business and nevermind what anybody else is saying about you, competitive sport isn't about winning friends, it's about winning silverware.

Well said. I actually loved it. 31 versus 1. It was the best feeling ever, gg once said if he wasn't been abused by opposition supporters he wasn't playing well.
Hon the Royal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/05/2015 19:43:14    1725791

I totally agree with themaster on this one. Its the blatant lies that is been peddled by certain ulster posters about there own province that's the problem. Come on we have certain ulster posters telling us that there is no cynicism in the province, and that its all down to southern meejaa

Right I am calling this out - show me who said there is no cynicism in Ulster.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 19/05/2015 20:05:33    1725800

I think seannie16 has hit the nail on the head. Ill just give two examples last year dubs v Donegal and few years ago Kildare v Donegal. I wasn't backing the Leinster team in either, now i tip my hat to them if they win but that's as a neutral, no way would i celebrated a Dublin all ire win the way ulster counties would with "one of their own" we can't stand each other in footballing terms, now i was happy dubs won their all ire a few years back as i felt it was good for the game in general, same way i would feel if mayo won it , but honestly i couldn't care less if they never win it again, there's one Leinster team i want to win and that's Meath. The rest can take a run and jump as far as im concerned. Maybe ulster should apply same rules then you wont all be lumped together.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/05/2015 20:08:54    1725804

Donegal , Tyrone , Armagh and Monaghan have received zero respect whatsoever . We are brilliant Gaels and have won some superb all - Ireland's between us .

Rightstuff what about the mud slung at Kerry on here every time they win a match, what about all the posters on here who dismiss Kerry's victories as flukes or because the opposition don't turn up or because its 'a handy draw', an 'easy' All Ireland. Look at the reaction after we won last September.

You can't have it both ways. Loads of Kerry posters don't bother with this site anymore because of this guff they have to put up with on here and many of these comments are from Ulster posters like Ulsterman and others.

Kerry and the Dubs, to a lesser extent, get far more abuse/grief on here than any other county/province.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 19/05/2015 20:16:55    1725808

I think seannie16 has hit the nail on the head. Ill just give two examples last year dubs v Donegal and few years ago Kildare v Donegal. I wasn't backing the Leinster team in either, now i tip my hat to them if they win but that's as a neutral, no way would i celebrated a Dublin all ire win the way ulster counties would with "one of their own" we can't stand each other in footballing terms, now i was happy dubs won their all ire a few years back as i felt it was good for the game in general, same way i would feel if mayo won it , but honestly i couldn't care less if they never win it again, there's one Leinster team i want to win and that's Meath. The rest can take a run and jump as far as im concerned. Maybe ulster should apply same rules then you wont all be lumped together.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/05/2015 20:18:31    1725809

Royaldunne youre not making any sense.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 19/05/2015 20:29:34    1725814

Ulstergaels, nordies, you're all the one of the same
With what have ye done to our beautiful game
With your sledging and tactics, the puke and the brawl
Think of the children, think of us all!
For you have to remember, its not that long ago
We tried to get rid of you, jumped in bed with the foe.
But still you hung in there, like that fart in a room
You even got better, started the 90's with a boom
But the novelty for us it soon began to wear thin
Enough of that craic, let the hostilities begin
Spillane and Duffy, the Independent and the Times
We'll hit them on all fronts, accusations and lies
For our people are gullible, they'll suck it all in
Believe in our mantra and call foul on the sin
And when the frenzy is whipped up and our job is done
We can celebrate the centenary knowing we're further from being one
For what died the sons of Roisin, was it shame?

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 19/05/2015 20:39:38    1725817

Confirmation if ever it was needed.
Like a fart on the forum,more like it.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 19/05/2015 20:46:17    1725822

Not a fan of poetry then Blackpool?

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 19/05/2015 20:56:13    1725827