Ciaran Whelan Proposal

Whelan wants football to be 13 aside but did not specify which positions he would eliminate. Any thoughts?

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 14/05/2015 09:46:00    1723453

I think that's a bad idea when you have 30 or so players on a panel training like mad all year.

I see where he is trying to go, but things can be solved from another route.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 14/05/2015 10:07:41    1723465

To be honest this is all getting out of hand. Every pundit and journalist thinks they have the solution to the so-called ills of gaelic football. Is gaelic football really that bad? I don't think so. Yes when two teams play ultra defensive then the game can get bogged down e.g. Donegal v Monaghan. However there are bad games in every sport, some of the soccer games are rubbish with nothing happening for long periods. All sports are evolving and gaelic football is no different, there will come along another system to beat the blanket defence. We need to implement the rules we already have. I wasn't a fan of intorducing the black card but now that it is there, we should use it properly. If refs black carded all cynical fouls then that would clean up the game a lot. For the big issue is the fixtures calendar, we need to sort that out first before we start changing playing rules.

JimTheLegend (Donegal) - Posts: 247 - 14/05/2015 10:09:50    1723467

I wouldn't dismiss the idea, it would create a bit more space, the only way of knowing would be try it out maybe in January or during the league to see if it has any significant effect on the game. There does seem to be suggestions flying in left, right and centre these days though and they can't all be good so I can understand why the Gaa needs to take careful consideration, also I hope they are actually considering changes in the first place.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 14/05/2015 10:18:54    1723473

It would be good for a lot of clubs struggling to field teams though

dahayeser (Cork) - Posts: 336 - 14/05/2015 10:20:16    1723474

all that would do is reduce the amount of forwards even more making it more defensive than ever

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 14/05/2015 10:31:27    1723489

You would have to be a lot fitter to play a hand passing style game with only 13 men I think.

It would probably naturally promote more kick passing, and good forward play with all the space!

I'd feel very sorry for the corner backs of this world playing in that format.

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 14/05/2015 10:32:51    1723494

You would have to be a lot fitter to play a hand passing style game with only 13 men I think.

It would probably naturally promote more kick passing, and good forward play with all the space!

I'd feel very sorry for the corner backs of this world playing in that format.

I've done a right few 13-a-side games played at divisional junior / U21 level down south. The hurlers on the team love it because they can run up and down all evening and there's actually very little kicking needed. Just run into all that space and don't risk losing possession by kicking. Matches decided by a shoot-out between 2-3 forwards and dull as all hell.
Hard on the overweight officials too!

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 14/05/2015 10:46:58    1723508

hill16no1man

all that would do is reduce the amount of forwards even more making it more defensive than ever

More defensive even though each team would have 2 less players? Haha well now this could be interesting.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 14/05/2015 10:49:37    1723510

Reduce it to 14 a side by taking out the goalkeeper.

Sure think of all the high scoring games we would get!!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 14/05/2015 10:52:52    1723514

htaem
yeah because if you reduce the team by 2 players
you might on the team sheet make them have maybe one less corner back and one less corner forward
but what do you think will happen the way managers think
they will drop a forward back to cover full back line
and another into half back
leading to 3 forwards max
id say it would lead to an actual basketball style of all up all back as thats how 13 men games would evolve

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 14/05/2015 11:38:26    1723547

Ah look to be honest hill I'm not really interested in this proposal anyway, I'm not even sure why I commented on it, suppose I was just making the point that if the Gaa wanted to try it the January would probably be the best time to do to but I don't really see it as a runner anyway.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 14/05/2015 11:53:08    1723557

Great idea, 13 aside, eliminate the pick up and 7 subs in lieu of 5. All changes would increase scoring rates and make the game more attractive. Try it for the league in 2016.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 14/05/2015 11:54:34    1723558

I'm against this proposal, as it seeks to change the very nature of the sport for the good of the already dominant.

Ciaran's description of why he wanted it reduced to 13 men, is basically a wet dream for Dublin and a sure way to allow an all attacking side like Dublin to really dominate the sport going into the future.

Think about it, wide open space with acres of space to attack at pace. While others might do ok at that, Dublin In particular would love that type of space.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 14/05/2015 12:06:40    1723562

Well said JimTheLegend, this is getting way out of hand. Gaelic, like all sports evolves and will continue to do so. Such a lazy attitude, "lets change the rules instead of finding a way to beat the system.' Mickey Harte for all his criticism, had the balls and know-how to approach gaelic differently in the 00's and look what that got him, 3 All-Irelands, while everyone else was playing catch up. Every fecking pundit is throwing their weight behind 'rule changes' to get column inches and try to be the 'saviour' of gaelic. Utter crap! '13 men' '4 players between the 2 45's' do me a favour!!
This summer will be as exciting as any other because we have a wonderful sport that captures the imagination of everyone. The tension, nail biting, heart palpitations will be there regardless if there are 13 on the field or there are 4 fecking men between the 2 45's. Do yourself a favour and stop reading (and lining the pockets!) Brolly, Spillane, Whelan and enjoy the sport for what it is. A wonderful one that will still be here long after the aforementioned eejits are gone!

Harpo (Tyrone) - Posts: 50 - 14/05/2015 12:15:52    1723569

Gaa has was evolved, games were for a while 17 aside don't know the history and when it changed, but easy to see message form counties that are sucessfull with defensive style don't want change easy to see why, but kids wont watch and kick around on there own time a slow game if they go out in there own time they want will try the tricks and dummy they see that can only occur if players have space. I not saying this idea is the answer but the negative style is turning kids away in all counties especial in less sucessfull counties from watching football and thus playing

madbull (Westmeath) - Posts: 195 - 14/05/2015 12:34:56    1723584

He is eliminating 2 players not 2 positions
it will be entirely up to each manager how they play

lads, 3-3-2-3-3 is not and has not been a given for years!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 14/05/2015 14:45:55    1723661

Actually he had 2 proposals and I would agree with both.

We have heard about too much bunching in midfield and too much bunching in defence. With fitness levels increased there are simply too many on the pitch so I would agree with 13 a side.

The 2nd proposal is about revamping to a new 2 tier championship. Plenty of us on here have been saying something similar as the current provincial setup is predictable.

Interestingly the main obstacle to getting a change is the provincial administrations who would lose out.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 14/05/2015 18:39:21    1723773

madbull
County: Westmeath

1723584 Gaa has was evolved, games were for a while 17 aside don't know the history and when it changed, but easy to see message form counties that are sucessfull with defensive style don't want change easy to see why, but kids wont watch and kick around on there own time a slow game if they go out in there own time they want will try the tricks and dummy they see that can only occur if players have space. I not saying this idea is the answer but the negative style is turning kids away in all counties especial in less sucessfull counties from watching football and thus playing

I think the Idea of reducing players to 13 per side, which Ciaran likely seen on HS, Will also turn quite a lot of people off Gaelic Games too. By having a few dominate.

And I don't agree about teams who are successful because of the defensive systems, as most were successful before the blanket and then needed to adapt

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 14/05/2015 18:50:10    1723776

13-a-side -> No thanks.
6-2-6 (Brolly) No thanks.
Kick-outs beyond the 45: Yes. If there is a concern that some keepers cannot kick that far, the mark is a good idea in my book. It wasn't far off being voted in before, something like 62% of the vote, not far off the two-thirds majority required.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7824 - 14/05/2015 19:36:13    1723782