Dubs unfair advantage in Croke Park

Listening to Offalys manager Pat Flanagan and Colm Parkinson on Newstalk last night i have to say i agree wirh them in regards our advantage in playing games in HQ,esp in early rounds in Leinster v some of the weaker counties.You could hear the despair in both their voices.It needs to change for fairness to prevail?

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 08/05/2015 13:06:23    1721516

Dubs play where the culchies tell them to.

The culchies tell the Dubs that we have to play in Croke Park then they spend (as well as the money) the rest of the time complaining about how the Dubs always get to play in Croker!!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 08/05/2015 13:31:35    1721525

Most Dub supporters would love an away trip - i know i would...

The only problem i have with this is capacity/congestion,
what stadium/town in leinster could handle up to 30,000 dublin fans?
portlaoise? kilkenny?
even if half the tickets go to dublin then this doesnt even cover gaa season ticket holders/parnell park pass holders never mind clubs allocation.
should they burn the bond holders and have hq sitting there unused?

leinster final, qf, sf and final all fixed for croker for all counties.
that leaves one/two possible games in leinster for dublin to play away.
it'd be great - but no stadium/town could handle it - it would be carnage.

HenryHill16 (Dublin) - Posts: 249 - 08/05/2015 13:39:13    1721527

All Leinster counties get to play their provincial semi-finals and final in Croke Park. It's up to the Leinster counties at the end of the day if they want to arrange a home and away arrangement for the preliminary round and quarter-finals. They should play outside Croker for their first game. It's not a reason for so many Leinster counties being low down divisions. Many seem to be poorly run and incapable of getting their own houses in order.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7823 - 08/05/2015 13:44:31    1721529

Fellow Dubs,i know all the reasons are valid lads,but it is a ridiculous advantage that i dont know of any team in world sport enjoys.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 08/05/2015 13:47:45    1721532

i actually texted in to that and they read out what i said, and i say again. Its the only way to revive the dead leinster champo.
Dubs Kerry in Thurles, Dubs Cork in Cork, Dubs Longford in Longford....great days out
Bring it back

Its not the Dubs doign this, its the LC

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 08/05/2015 13:54:42    1721536

It's an over stated point. In recent times most if not nearly all Leinster semi/final and all Ireland series games are played in Croke Park. That's the same for each team in Leinster if they win their provincial and every other team after their provincials. How many championship games will the Kilkenny hurlers play in Croke Park this year if they go the direct route?

Dublin playing Mayo Cork Donegal Kerry Tyrone etc in Croke Park in the All Ireland series offers no advantage to Dublin.

However I'd agree with Flanagan to an extent, Dublin playing Offaly or Carlow in Croker would suit Dublin better as the opposition would have no experience of the occasion. That's fair enough and Portlaoise or Nolan Park should be used for such games.

This issue is a media bandwagon that they can't help get on, but for the majority of the championship Dublin play in Croke Park just like any other side would bar the geographical accident of proximity for travel.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 08/05/2015 13:56:46    1721537

I think Dublin would still win and probably with ease but it doesn't make it fair. I met so many Dublin fans in Ballybofey two years ago and everyone of them wished that they could travel out of the city. Not only that , its makes for a great occasion when its packed out in a smaller venue . Wont ever happen though .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 08/05/2015 13:57:10    1721538

It is going to happen eventually.

The culchies will eventually stop arguing with themselves and belatedly realise that this is all in their own hands.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 08/05/2015 14:13:13    1721542

The question here really is what's more important, Money or the games themselves. There is an argument that Kilkenny or Portlaoise wouldn't handle 30,000 Dubs coming down? They would love to have them down spending their money and I'm sure they would figure something out!I know if I was from Kildare or Meath and I was playing the Dubs later on that year in Portlaoise or Navan I'd feel I would have more of a chance.

sportsfan14 (USA) - Posts: 281 - 08/05/2015 14:15:54    1721543

Seany,i have to disagree with you on 1 point.I think Dublin have an advantage playing any county in Croke Park,be it Kerry,Cork,Mayo or whoever.I know our fellow Dub poster Hill16 doesnt believe in home advantage in any sport but i beg to differ.Also the Parnell Park argument doesnt hold up anymore as we play all our league games in HQ.It is our home ground now.Pat Flanagan even mentioned small things like Dublin being so used to the pitch,which is different than any other,the dressing rooms,crowd,being able to sleep in own beds with very little travel.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 08/05/2015 14:18:17    1721544

MesAmis

It is going to happen eventually.

The culchies will eventually stop arguing with themselves and belatedly realise that this is all in their own hands.

_________

Spot on Mes.................

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 08/05/2015 14:31:30    1721547

Ah FFS Cue did you have to start this up again?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/05/2015 14:33:50    1721548

The advantage is overstated but to the best of my knowledge there are only 2 reps from Dublin on the 30+ member Leinster Council Committee that calls the shots. So it isn't the Dubs who are making the decisions on this. If there was another ground in Leinster capable of holding our games then no problem at all. As a season ticket holder, if a decision was made to hold a round 1 game in a ground with a small capacity and this deprived me of a ticket then I would have major problems with it. Other than that, all road trips are welcome.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 08/05/2015 14:35:01    1721550

Cuederrocket, from my viewpoint Mayo outnumbered Dublin in the 2013 All Ireland Final but yet you still think Dublin had an advantage that day? I would totally disagree there. Dublin rent Croker for league games, we do not own it. I can't think of many examples where a team playing in their home stadium would be outnumbered by the opposition in a major game.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 08/05/2015 14:35:33    1721551

To be honest with you, I saw Dublin playing in Omagh a few times and they were just as good away as they are in Croker. I think some teams are fooling themselves to think that Dublin away would be a different kind of animal. To be fair they'd still beat the majority of teams and wipe the floor with any Leinster side end off.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 08/05/2015 14:45:04    1721556

Seany its not just about the crowd.Would you rather play Mayo,Tyrone or Kerry in an All Ire semi or final,in Croke Park,or Tralee,Omagh or Castlebar??Of course we can play well anywhere and beat any county anywhere but for me,having to travel for those games would lower our chances of winning.Up to this year we had a woeful record in Castlebar.When is the last time we won in Cork??Playing all our games,big or small,in Croke Park is an advantage for me.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 08/05/2015 14:54:08    1721560

After listening to newstalk last night clondalkin,it was fresh in my mind.Ive always believed it to be an advantage to us.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 08/05/2015 14:57:44    1721561

Its a simple one really and to argue the point is wrong,

- Dublin play 5/6 league games and all their Championship games in Croke Park, its 2nd nature to line out there, to they dont have the benefit of non home advantage in Leinster games is a ridiculous statement

- No one is saying that the results would be any different if a First round or QF of Leinster was played outside the capital, but certainly it would be a boost to the championship and the town that hosted them
- As Parkinson added on Newstalk im sure the Dublin players themselves would relish going to preform in a lions den of a packed Portlaoise/Tullamore/Navan etc, certainly more so than rattling around Croke Park where you can even hear the coaches calls on the line
- For the Leinster council's side its all the more perplexing as I believe it needs the guts of 30,000 in Croke Park to break even for a match

highking12 (Meath) - Posts: 184 - 08/05/2015 15:09:06    1721564

If the Dubs want to rent out the Gaelic grounds in Limerick for games they can.

We showed last year we can put on a great spectacle.

We could even get signs up to translate Dub into English, such as:

Buke the bazaar Yellow card that chap whose parents are not married
Are ya bloind ref Referee old chap, can you see what is unfolding before you?
on yer dick van dyke I say old chap get on your bicycle & cycle away
catch him by the gregory peck seize that player by his neck

We could also double the price of the pint and force all locals to add an 'o' to our first name to make ye all feel welcome. Then just turn on fair city on the TV in pubs afterwards and it's a home from home :-)

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 08/05/2015 15:10:38    1721565