Did you ever get sick from the GAA?

Not from results but from food, drink whatever?

I went to the Limerick v Clare qualifier in 2012 with my Brother & his 2 sons. The eldest lad was 7 and was eating like a small calf. His father took him out & I know they got food outside the stand in Thurles. A while after he asked me to take him to the toilet. On the way he says to me 'I'm starvin' so I took him to the vans and he got a hot dog & chips. He ate a bite of the hot dog and said he didn't like it & I ate it. But then he asked for a burger.

No major hassle only when we went back into the game I found out he had already got a burger & chip when with his father. He also had a packet of crisps (unbeknowns to the two of us) a can of coke and a packet of fruit pastilles.

All was well enough until the road home & he was inside in the back like a snake after swallowing an elk. Half in sleep half out, laughing, but uncomfortable.

Needless to say he is watched like a hawk these days. But it made me think back to my own young days watching GAA. I remember going to Limerick games between 1983-1991 and kids were bought fizzy drinks, tayto & given change for the pool table while the adults swamped pints.

All great craic but probably not the best to be consuming and might have caused a few upset stomachs along the way.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 06/05/2015 11:31:42    1720766

Are we talking about 'puke' football here?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 06/05/2015 11:52:30    1720776

If you like Brend :-)

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 06/05/2015 11:59:27    1720786

Don't know about getting sick, but I certainly ended up in A&E a few times :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 06/05/2015 12:26:08    1720807

Sick from Drink anyway...

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 06/05/2015 12:42:23    1720817

Good post slayer.I have great memories of being pushed into the pool room in the pub in ballagh on the way home from thurlus as my uncles swallowed the black stuff and stopping in tipp town for a pizza and some abuse.The day after we beat Cork up in Limerick i woke with a bout of sickness and a face like a strawberry from all the cider and sun

tubs12 (Limerick) - Posts: 41 - 06/05/2015 12:57:47    1720831

I remember a few years back at the double header in Thurles - Dublin vs Limerick, Galways vs Waterford, a mate of mine wanted to get some chips at one of the stalls. All was well until he noticed that the person handing them out had a cut on her hand, not dripping blood but enough of a cut to be noticed and enough to make you wonder how safe the food was that they had been handling. Needless to say the chips weren't eaten. Delighted I had brought the hang sambos wrapped in tinfoil aka the culchie passport!!!

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 06/05/2015 13:34:58    1720853

The Tipp lads get a lot of slagging for eating sambos out of the back of their cars at Thurles.

Well it is time to quosh the myth. The story is simply not untrue!

I've seen then arrive in from as near as 5 miles away & do it. I was friends with some of them in college. They loved a thrilling game where the sambos could be deep frozen for the replay! The 1996 Munster Final replay had tin foil everywhere. Cork was nearly destroyed.

This is why games v Tipp are special. You think it is flash photography and it's actually half time. Break out the sambos. They when finished ball up the foil & use it as a menacing missile into the noggin of another lad in the stand.

(All of the above actually pertains to fans of most counties, it's part of the GAA, sambos and Tae - just good to slagg off Tipp!)

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 06/05/2015 15:26:34    1720909

tubs12
County: Limerick

1720831 Good post slayer.I have great memories of being pushed into the pool room in the pub in ballagh on the way home from thurlus as my uncles swallowed the black stuff and stopping in tipp town for a pizza and some abuse.The day after we beat Cork up in Limerick i woke with a bout of sickness and a face like a strawberry from all the cider and sun

I have to say, you seem very blasé about it!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 06/05/2015 15:27:09    1720910

My apologies brendtheredhand.The word "Banter" should have used rather than "abuse" but living on the border of tipp and Limeiric you don't know if its abuse or Banter :-)

tubs12 (Limerick) - Posts: 41 - 06/05/2015 15:43:34    1720923