Abolish replays

One of the big problems with shortening the intercounty season is allowing time for replays.

How about abolishing replays for all except the final?

1. Drawn matches go to extra time.
2. No cancelling of cards at end of game - carry them into extra time
3. Lowest number of cards at end of extra time wins the game if scores are level - rewards fair play
4. IF no of cards are same - free kicks from 45 yard line dictates winner (best of 5 then sudden death)

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 06/05/2015 11:25:13    1720760

I agree with abolishing replays but is wont happen as too much much $$$$$ at stake. I don't agree with the cards system. 45's is interesting.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 06/05/2015 11:29:02    1720764

why 45s - surely penos are far better. more tension.
but rather than aboloshing replays there definitely needs to be extra time played for all championship games before they go to a replay

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 06/05/2015 11:33:30    1720768

I was just about to say 'you can't decide it on cards' when I thought 'why not'

As good a tie breaker as any. An interesting idea but personally I love replays. From the first time I saw those lovely green shirts draw with Cork in Limerick and then the masses of fans heading to Pairch Ui Chaoimh in planes trains motorbikes wheelbarrows and thumbing lifts all the way down to the Pairc, 0-10 to 0-4 down at half time, a rally from our lads before Jimmy Barry the fecker goaled to win it for the Rebels.

A decent idea, worth looking at.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 06/05/2015 11:37:45    1720771

I'd abolish replays completely, especially for finals. One of the great anti-climaxes in sport is when the roars of a frenetic crowd are completely silenced by a referee's whistle signalling a draw. Sport is drama, and the tension builds and builds in a tight game, leading towards a decisive conclusion. But a referee signalling a draw instantly kills everything, and always leaves me completely unsatisfied, irrespective of how good the game has been before.

The argument that amateurs shouldn't have to play beyond 70 minutes is not valid, as extra-time is already used in replays. Replays in the GAA are purely about increasing revenue. We are the only sport who have our showpiece finals go to replays, and money is the only reason for this.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 06/05/2015 11:39:04    1720772

I agree with abolishing replays but I can't see the Gaa ever doing that, they'd stand to lose too much money. I also agree that cards should be carried into extra time but the game should never decided on card count, at the end of the day the awarding of cards is still quite inconsistent and so you can't fairly decide a game upon them.

As for if the game ended level after extra time I suppose I'd be open to either a penalty shootout or a freekick shootout, to be honest neither is particularly fair either but they are very tense and they negate the need for a replay.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 06/05/2015 11:53:02    1720779

I would only allow replays if a game ends all square after extra time is played.All games that finish level after 70 mins should have to play 30 mins extra time.
Two things i would abolish with immediate effect
1 Winning captains speeches
2 The managers going into dressing room of opposing teams post game(not just because of recent incident)

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 06/05/2015 12:00:54    1720788

Thomas Clarke

But a referee signalling a draw instantly kills everything, and always leaves me completely unsatisfied, irrespective of how good the game has been before.

As a fan of 1 of the teams playing or in general?

Last year's drawn hurling final was, IMO, the greatest game of hurling I've ever seen. And once a draw was signalled, I think almost everyone's reaction (certainly most neutrals) was that both teams, and the fans, deserved to witness another 70mins of the same.

Likewise in 2005 Ulster Final - again I think that trilogy of games played between Armagh and Tyrone that year were the best games of Gaelic Football ever played (in terms of standard and intensity, they are not appreciated by too many "purists"). If we had extra time in the 1st game, we would have been denied 1 of the 3 games.

Where a replay really hurts a team is when a huge favourite is caught out by an underdog only for them to scrape a draw and walk the replay. Happened to Cavan against Tyrone in the 00s when we lost a replay by 21 points!! Kerry have had a few similar nervy draws before trouncing their opponents 2nd time around.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 06/05/2015 12:16:29    1720798

Navy football coach Eddie Erdelatz after a scoreless tie against Duke in 1953 used the phrase, "A tie is like kissing your sister."

I would be of the same opinion.

How about 2x10 min halfs of extra time. If still level have 10 mins of sudden death. If still level a shoot out.

Shoot out format goes as follows:
Ball left on 45 line, defender stands on 21 yard line, attacker stands 5 yards from ball, goalkeeper stands on goal line and must stay inside small rectangle.

Team that gets the most scores after five attempts wins. Then sudden death.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 06/05/2015 12:17:24    1720799

I see the point but can't agree.

Some of the greatest games in both codes have been replays & I would hate to lose them.

Far better to ditch the meaningless play offs in the league.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 06/05/2015 12:19:21    1720801

See posters as usual looking at everything through their own self satisfaction eyes , anybody stop to think about the players , lets not kid ourselves here , this is about the" fans " and not players .
Ive been very fortunate to be in the company of county players football and hurling , and I can tell you amongst them their is no appetite for anything other than replays ,think back to Dublins last all ireland we had walking wounded out there , but hey lets flog them for our satisfaction , flog them for another 20-30 mins , as for penalties christ all mighty why not just make it 11 aside , 90 mins , and no handballs .
Anti climax my hole , these are not professionals , let them go at it again on another day , but hey the modern instant need for faster satisfaction generation know better , I tell you what lets play the game see who gets the most likes on facebook and give it to them .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 06/05/2015 12:30:49    1720809

Damothedub

I tell you what lets play the game see who gets the most likes on facebook and give it to them .

I like it! We would need wifi in all stadiums to make it happen or will we get the veiwers at home to vote after we hear what Brolly and Spillane have to say? NO chance for the defensive teams then.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 06/05/2015 12:36:58    1720813

cavanman47

As a fan of 1 of the teams playing or in general?

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
In general. As good as the drawn final was, it was no better than the 2003 hurling semi-final between Cork and Wexford. An epic sporting contest, that ended in silence.

I'm aware that it's very much personal preference, but I like to see a great contest have a natural and decisive conclusion on the day, rather than saying 'This atmosphere/feeling is incredible - how's the story going to end?!....but instead of finding out, let's all burst the bubble and go home instead.'

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 06/05/2015 12:38:44    1720815

Sorry,i should av said 20 mins extra time.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 06/05/2015 12:42:59    1720818

cuederocket i think the captains speech and the managers coming in to the dressing room are 2 of the best traditions in football. I always think the cup presenting in rugby and soccer is a bit of a anti climax.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 06/05/2015 12:51:16    1720827

Penalties a problem for GAA and other sports.
After the second period of extra time is level then a next team to score policy should be used. Throw in at centre field, toss for direction of play. Far fairer than penos.
I agree replays cause too much strain on the fixtures calender especially for club games which have to be cancelled because county team drew the week before.

jpcampion (Laois) - Posts: 194 - 06/05/2015 12:59:08    1720833

Love replays myself!

Completely agree with Damo's points.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 06/05/2015 13:09:34    1720836

Ros1,fair enough im sure lots would agree with you.I never hang about for the speeches and ive been at 7 football finals and over 15 hurling finals.I remember people eulogising Sean Og Hailpins speech as gaeilge.How many could even understand it bar the odd roar of "Corcaigh!"Different strokes for different folks.I think the rugby and soccer are fine without these needless speeches.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 06/05/2015 13:17:43    1720841

jpcampion
County: Laois

I agree replays cause too much strain on the fixtures calender especially for club games which have to be cancelled because county team drew the week before.

This is the most important reason for abolishing replays. Its not all about the intercounty players.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 06/05/2015 15:38:12    1720917

Replays have always been part of the GAA and long may it continue. When two teams finish with the same score at the end of normal time, a replay is the best solution. It would be ludicrous for an All-Ireland to be decided on penalty shoot-outs or who scores next. Players have put in too much time and effort for a game to be decided on a lottery basis. Also replays are a welcome boost for the promotion and finances of the games.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 06/05/2015 15:58:01    1720927