Dublin dominance v Kilkenny dominance

How come when the Dubs win two All Irelands in 16 years they're accused of possibly damaging football, but when the Cats win 7 All Irelands in 9 years (and reach the final in one of the years they didnt win it). Many of them All Irelands they won quite easily. They're praised for 'raising the bar".

Ulsterman loves playing the victim, but surely when it comes to begrudgery, the Dubs are the most sinned against.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 28/04/2015 18:28:01    1718659

That's it in a nutshell joncarter!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 28/04/2015 19:14:26    1718672

I suppose people are afraid of the potential in Dublin, with its huge population and resources, and lads like Ulsterman feel comforting complaining about it and looking for excuses for their own teams performance.
Whereas no one has any excuse for being worse than KK, with its small population and resources, so theres no use whining about it

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 28/04/2015 19:36:32    1718682

Kilkenny's success comes from the inner core, a bit Kerry's footballers. There is something in their genetic make up that makes them winners and great players. Dublin, in both codes, while containing very good players, have that manufactured feel about them and are the outcome largely of massive central funding. They have every advantage going from GAA money, ground advantage, advertising, fawning media coverage and on and off field decisions. Basically they have everything they need put in place for them. So yes when, compared to Dublin, I look at the economic pittance and derisory interest Croke Park gives and shows the 2nd biggest conurbation on the island, Belfast and Antrim, I find it difficult to whole heartedly say well done Dublin. It is simply not a level playing field.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 28/04/2015 20:10:49    1718693

i think its largely due to people fearing football will become unbalanced which i dont agree with...and gaelic football being such a huge sport in the capital and all the resources and population they have people just fear it will be too tough to stop...hurling was always uncompetitive

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 28/04/2015 20:11:49    1718694

Ulsterman

If those were the main reasons for Dublin's footballing success, would their hurlers not have been just as dominant over the last 5/10 years?

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 28/04/2015 20:15:59    1718698

I think the Dublin hurlers are coming from a bit further behind than their footballers but look at the progress they have made. I would make this point, several years back Antrim knocked Dublin out of the All Ireland hurling series in Croke Park and look at how polarised they have now become, Dublin going from strength to strength and Antrim hurling on it' s knees. Since that game it would be interesting to see if Croke Park would reveal how much central GAA funding has been invested in both counties for hurling coaching. grants and club infrastructure. If everything is fair and no county or province is being treated more favourably then Croke Park will surely have no problem with giving out financial breakdowns so people can judge.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 28/04/2015 20:31:45    1718702

Since that game it would be interesting to see if Croke Park would reveal how much central GAA funding has been invested in both counties for hurling coaching. grants and club infrastructure. If everything is fair and no county or province is being treated more favourably then Croke Park will surely have no problem with giving out financial breakdowns so people can judge.

Eh they do...have you googled it. Its a very interesting read

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 28/04/2015 20:56:48    1718714

How the f*&k have they got a manufactured feel about them, they're excellent players with fitness and attitude to match, end of, man you're becoming delusional!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 28/04/2015 21:00:11    1718716

Ulsterman

I don't think that's fair. The diversion in Antrim's and Dublin's fortune's since that game is not due to funding, its due to attitude. The attitude of the teams, and the attitude's of the county boards/provincial boards involved. I don't want to be harsh on Antrim, but if I had bags of money to invest in a hurling team, and I wanted that money to be used properly, I'm not sure Antrim would currently be a good investment. Not with the attitude the Antrim board has to its inter-county hurling teams, nor with the attitude the Ulster Council has to hurling in general.

Also, Antrim were beaten by all other 5 teams in 1B this year, and by Kerry in a play-off, are all those teams better funded? I don't think they are

Listen, yes, an investment in hurling in Belfast, to match that invested in Dublin would be ideal. But there needs to be a real will to push hurling forward in the region, and a real vision for developing hurling, before that can happen. Dublin had that. I don't believe Antrim has, I wish that wasn't the case. If Antrim were good enough to beat Dublin just 5 yeasr ago, they were good enough to achieve alot more at inter-county level in the interim, but they haven't/didn't. They've been an annual disappointment. The have (or at least had) the talent to be alot more successful than they have been. Thats not down to a lack of funding.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 28/04/2015 21:07:51    1718720

It helps the poor lad sleep at night to think that RD. Normal people know better!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 28/04/2015 21:08:31    1718721

How's Limerick Jackeen?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 28/04/2015 21:10:51    1718723

Ulsterman: as you have already made the claim that there is something in their genetic make-up that makes Kilkenny such marvelous hurlers, is it not equally possible, by your own logic, that there is something in their genetic make-up that makes people from Antrim in particular, but inhabitants of Ulster in general, bloody terrible hurlers? Perhaps it is not a question of funding.
There is some anecdotal evidence to support this. When Setanta, then a boy of 12, arrived at Emain Macha from Louth (not exactly a hurling hot-spot) he was able to take on the Red Branch Minor team single handedly and defeat them in detail. Perhaps this single moment is the root cause of Ulster's hurling woes? Did Setanta, single handedly, irreversibly instill a profound inferiority complex in the hardy Ulster stock that has ever since precluded them from competing at a national level?

Curiously, archaeological excavations at Emain Macha resulted in the recovery of not one single artifact relating to hurling; however, substantial evidence of a great bonfire was identified. Was this the ritual destruction of their hurling equipment in an act borne out of despair at the realization that Ulster would never compete at a national level as long as a 12 year old from Louth (LOUTH for crying out loud!) could come along and put them to the sword?

Further excavations along the route of the Black Pigs Dike in Fermanagh have resulted in the recovery of mysterious small, circular objects lodged into the south facing slope of the wall. Are these the remains of proto-sliothars being fired, tauntingly, across the border by southerners seeking to further mock their northern cousin's lack of hurling skills?

Only future archaeological research can hope to shed any light on this. But I think you're on to something.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 28/04/2015 21:27:42    1718747

Doesn't really matter Jon carter what these individuals say. They are generally just looking for someone to be vent their frustration on and probably haven't the slightest idea about who the Dublin players are. All they see is a jersey and as you can see they pretty much don't have a clue why they dislike all things Dublin.
Resources ,manufactured,unbalanced blah blah blah. Nothing of any substance just some grey vague notions.
As you mentioned ,its the Kilkenny's of this world who are more dominant and anyone who wants to see it knows that.

By the way anyone who thinks hurling was never competitive obviously hasn't a clue.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 28/04/2015 21:32:53    1718752

Indeed Marlon I wouldn't disagree with a lot of your post, I never denied we make s lot of our problems either. Very good festinog a career on TG4 awaits you.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 28/04/2015 22:00:02    1718764

Bitter culchies.

Most are fine but there is an element that'll surface almost everytime Dublin win a match at any grade. It has been happening since 2011 and will continue to happen until this particular Dublin team declines.

Then it'll be the self same culchies on here and elsewhere straight in with boot proclaiming how poor a team this Dubs team was and how they always knew that the Dubs were nothing but media hype etc.

Again the majority of our GAA country cousins are not like that and are sound out, however their is a sizeable vocal minority of bitter culchies like Ulsterman etc.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 29/04/2015 08:36:48    1718771

festinog

1718747 Ulsterman: as you have already made the claim that there is something in their genetic make-up that makes Kilkenny such marvelous hurlers, is it not equally possible, by your own logic, that there is something in their genetic make-up that makes people from Antrim in particular, but inhabitants of Ulster in general, bloody terrible hurlers? Perhaps it is not a question of funding.
There is some anecdotal evidence to support this. When Setanta, then a boy of 12, arrived at Emain Macha from Louth (not exactly a hurling hot-spot) he was able to take on the Red Branch Minor team single handedly and defeat them in detail. Perhaps this single moment is the root cause of Ulster's hurling woes? Did Setanta, single handedly, irreversibly instill a profound inferiority complex in the hardy Ulster stock that has ever since precluded them from competing at a national level?

Curiously, archaeological excavations at Emain Macha resulted in the recovery of not one single artifact relating to hurling; however, substantial evidence of a great bonfire was identified. Was this the ritual destruction of their hurling equipment in an act borne out of despair at the realization that Ulster would never compete at a national level as long as a 12 year old from Louth (LOUTH for crying out loud!) could come along and put them to the sword?

Further excavations along the route of the Black Pigs Dike in Fermanagh have resulted in the recovery of mysterious small, circular objects lodged into the south facing slope of the wall. Are these the remains of proto-sliothars being fired, tauntingly, across the border by southerners seeking to further mock their northern cousin's lack of hurling skills?

Only future archaeological research can hope to shed any light on this. But I think you're on to something.

I'm staying well out of this one!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 29/04/2015 08:45:46    1718772

Ulsterman

I think the Dublin hurlers are coming from a bit further behind than their footballers but look at the progress they have made. I would make this point, several years back Antrim knocked Dublin out of the All Ireland hurling series in Croke Park and look at how polarised they have now become, Dublin going from strength to strength and Antrim hurling on it' s knees. Since that game it would be interesting to see if Croke Park would reveal how much central GAA funding has been invested in both counties for hurling coaching. grants and club infrastructure. If everything is fair and no county or province is being treated more favourably then Croke Park will surely have no problem with giving out financial breakdowns so people can judge.

Damo already pointed out that Dublin brought two develpoement squads up to Antrim for hurling. Ye couldnt be bothered to have 2 pitches ready, showed contempt by having the pitches seeded at the time and the kids had to play on a Rugby pitch. Should other counties stand still in training their kids GAA while Antrim CB couldnt give a toss, Your Hurlers got relegated this year because they have no pride in their County jersey , only their club one.
So dont be coming on here playing the poor mouth and blaming Dublin (who do care about their county jersey and the juveniles through hard graft have come on leaps and bounds ) for all your problems.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 29/04/2015 08:49:49    1718773

Love it, Festinóg

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1550 - 29/04/2015 09:10:24    1718776

is it not equally possible, by your own logic, that there is something in their genetic make-up that makes people from Antrim in particular, but inhabitants of Ulster in general, bloody terrible hurlers?

If you look at the last 20 years of Club Senior Hurling finals we have had 5 finalists winning once.
If you look at the last 10 years of Club Intermediate Hurling Finals we have had 2 finalists winning once.
If you look at the last 10 years of CLub Junior Hurling finals we have had 2 finalists winning once.

Not bad for a county who are in the land of bloody terrible hurlers and forgotten Gaels.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 29/04/2015 09:22:20    1718779