Kerry still the team to beat?

Lads who can compete with Kerry? Dublin have peaked as their a league team and ourselves Donegal, Tyrone and Mayo are still in transition. Kerry wont start training til August when the real football. Hopefully we get within to 8-10points of ye in the Munster Final as ye look unstoppable at the moment

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 28/04/2015 10:31:56    1718320

Agreed Hugh! Kerry the team to beat,Definitely look on to do the two in a row! The rest of us will just have to look on and admire this team as they romp to another handy Ai!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 28/04/2015 13:46:18    1718472

No doubt and with youngfellas like Gooch and Galvin set to return they are a formidable prospect for any Sam chasing wannabes. I think they will be very teak tough coming coming out of a very competitive and quality ridden Munster championship. Off the top of my head, I can't think of another county who will compete with them in August. They easily dismissed the Jackeens in Killarney without even getting out of second gear and without many of their star performers. They have also proven that they can crack Donegal's system and they relegated Tyrone in Omagh. Best to just hand it over to them now!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 28/04/2015 14:03:27    1718483

Yup defo Kerry

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 28/04/2015 14:13:57    1718494

And the award for stating the obvious thread of the year goes to.......

Of course Kerry are the team to beat. They are defending All Ireland champions. Every year the current AI champs are the team to beat.

Will they be beaten ? I think they will.

Who could beat them ? Any one of the following. Donegal, Tyrone, Mayo or Cork.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 28/04/2015 14:26:25    1718504

The defending champions are always the team to beat. The last 6 champions have gone out to a hungrier team at the quarter-finals 3 times and the semi-finals 3 times. If this happens this year, the hungrier team will be coming from Ulster. The league champions are always a threat then as well. They'll be the team to beat on the other side of the draw.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7818 - 28/04/2015 14:37:42    1718510

Yerra!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 28/04/2015 14:40:41    1718511

Dublin have just won the league, therefore they are the team to beat.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/04/2015 14:40:53    1718512

They'd tell you otherwise but I think every Kerry man will be honestly disappointed if they don't do back to back AI wins. With the quality they have added to last year it'll take some team to topple them. I'd go so far as to say which ever team does will win the AI.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9112 - 28/04/2015 14:45:45    1718517

The defending champions are always the team to beat. The last 6 champions have gone out to a hungrier team at the quarter-finals 3 times and the semi-finals 3 times. If this happens this year, the hungrier team will be coming from Ulster. The league champions are always a threat then as well. They'll be the team to beat on the other side of the draw

You Kerry boyos and your cute hoorism ;-)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 28/04/2015 14:49:54    1718524

waynoI
Who could beat them ? Any one of the following. Donegal, Tyrone, Mayo or Cork.

That cuteness rubbing off on you wayno...so you except us to swallow the notion that you don't include Dublin as a team that can beat Kerry? Dublin would be my fav to beat Kerry this year. Dublin the form team and have not even hot top form, scary.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 28/04/2015 14:59:36    1718533

If the top 6 counties cant beat this Dads Army team hang your heads in shame Kerry winning last year made a joke of the whole thing with an average and old team. This is an average team that are no great Kerry team like past era's half there team are old enough to be Cormac Costello's dad Ffs. If we meet Kerry this year we will beat them no doubt in my mind about that.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/04/2015 15:04:53    1718540

clondalkindub..........agree you will beat them if you meet. Good team but not this year sadly

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 28/04/2015 15:21:57    1718548

Kerry have one hand on the trophy for sure.

JackoDub (Dublin) - Posts: 458 - 28/04/2015 15:43:32    1718561

Reigning champions
best manager in the game
best player in the country just back from a year out
2 all time greats back from retirement/australia to add to an alrady championship panel

its a no brainer

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 28/04/2015 15:55:58    1718566

clondalkin you had little doubts going into last year's AI semi final also from what I remember! Pride before two falls maybe!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9112 - 28/04/2015 16:23:50    1718586

@Lockjaw - what county will be delighted not to win the All-Ireland?! Of course we want to retain our title. For anyone looking at cold statistics, the last 6 years suggest the defending champions will exit at the quarter-finals or semi-finals. Hopefully we can buck that trend. We will receive a stern test from Ulster in our attempts to do so.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7818 - 28/04/2015 16:37:13    1718598

This is an average team that are no great Kerry team like past era's half there team are old enough to be Cormac Costello's dad Ffs.

Hmmm. Was his birthday in June? As in 9 months after September? Maybe this explains the blast of good footballers coming out of Dublin of late

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/04/2015 16:40:03    1718600

The master
Very good lol.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/04/2015 16:53:10    1718609

Kerry caught a lot of people by surprise last year, like Donegal also surprised quite a few in many respects.

But Kerry are now reigning All Ireland Champions, and they now face the full focus and glare of every team in the country. No more surprise element, no more underestimating Kerry or dismissing their chances. They are the defending champs, and every team will bust a gut to take their scalp.

They will most likely win Munster, however I think they may well be beat in the All Ireland series. It's not that they will not perform or are not hungry, Just that All Ireland Champions are generally dissected to a microscopic level by everybody, while they themselves can only dissect or study teams they think they could be facing.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 28/04/2015 19:41:03    1718685