Everyone loves a celebration...

In work today a few of the lads got talking about celebrations in soccer and how they are ridiculous. This brought us onto talk about celebrations on the GAA pitch in both hurling and football.

Without trying to annoy the Dubs for me it had to be the time Eoin Mulligan scored into the Hill 16 end, not quite sure of the year, but he stuck in the back of the net and walked along the end line just looking at the fans on the hill, no fist pumping or shouting just walked and stared. I was at the game and it gave me a good chuckle.

Just said I'd set up a thread for people to share their favourite celebrations ever on a GAA pitch both club and inter county.

Triple H (Meath) - Posts: 551 - 13/04/2015 21:47:57    1713931

What about the Mort and his RIP Micheal Jackson celebration!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 13/04/2015 21:50:51    1713934

It was certainly the most audacious one that's for sure :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 13/04/2015 21:51:25    1713935

Ha ha Brend,

scarlet for him :d

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 13/04/2015 21:55:13    1713937

Andy Moran into the Hill in 2013 Final.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 14/04/2015 08:07:07    1713942

Ollie Murphy jumping onto the barrier after scoring the goal has to be up there as best ever. Reald do you remember that one ??

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/04/2015 09:26:54    1713964

In 2002 Donegal drew with Dublin in All Ireland Quarter Final in Croker.
Adrian Sweeney at the time was a real sharpshooter. He took the ball and without much of a look slotted it over at the hill end. He was a big enough fella and just stuck his chest out towards the hill.

I tried to find link online but cant seem to get one.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 14/04/2015 09:53:30    1713974

Ye from a personal point of view I enjoy Meath celebrations into the hill, always adds a bit fun to an otherwise serious situation. I remember Tommy Dowd doing it in the 90s and Geraghty doing it a few times back in 2007.

Have say though one of my favourites that I've heard of (and I hope it's true) was from the connacht final of 1936.....bear either me. Apparently Mayo were leading Galway by 3 with only minutes to go when a man called Brendan Nestor scored an equalizing goal for Galway and then proceeded to raise the green flag himself, when I heard that I burst out laughing, I'd love to do it myself :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 14/04/2015 09:53:42    1713975

the silliest celebration ive seen was from the young Tyrone keeper after he kicked a 45 against Donegal (I Think) in the Ulster championship only a few years ago. I could be wrong about the opposition. After he ran celebrating his point into a jeering crown he must have felt unstoppable... only for it all to go to his, the crowd really got on his back and he kicked the next 4 or 5 45's dead wide. Taking it all in his stride and not letting his emotions get the better of him would have been a better option.

faithful4ever (Offaly) - Posts: 209 - 14/04/2015 10:03:22    1713982

googled the subject and found these beauties

http://livegaelic.com/craic/video-big-greg-mccartans-brilliant-goal-celebration/
this one from greg mccartan

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YSarXRxcYQc
like djs one v wexford in 1991

others are seamus darby - joe brolly kisses - davy fitz scoring goals from penos followed by mad sprints back

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 14/04/2015 10:09:28    1713983

Yes I do RD, disgraceful carry-on :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 14/04/2015 10:17:01    1713986

Joe blowing kisses......share the love

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 14/04/2015 10:39:59    1713992

Bit of a trend , best celebrations into the Hill ? full of blue . The amount of ex players that have wrote / commented on the joy of putting it to the blue army on the hill is staggering , a few have said keeping the Hill quite was what it was all about .
Andy Morans celebration priceless .Love it .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 14/04/2015 10:43:57    1713993

Reqldub were you on the field that day? :).
Anyway ill always remember that one, geraghty was not as in your face with his celebrations mostly just a fist pump and a grin.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/04/2015 11:29:56    1714010

"I ain't sayin' nothin'"

Johnny Tightlips... The Simpsons :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 14/04/2015 12:22:57    1714036

Triple H my favourite "celebration " is the casual jog back into position by any of the Dublin players after they've posted another score against the royals in our now usual hammering of meath whenever we meet! I've been at all these games and I've had quite a good chuckle to myself as well! (along with a sprinkling of sympathy for the meath team and supporters! But not too much)

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 14/04/2015 13:51:18    1714072

DoireCityFC
County: Derry

1713992 Joe blowing kisses......share the love

And Oisin McConville mocking him by blowing kisses to the crowd after scoring against Derry :-)

FairShoulder (Armagh) - Posts: 333 - 14/04/2015 13:59:34    1714076

Dstuction how did the replay go for Adrian? just wondering?

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 14/04/2015 14:03:35    1714078

this thread makes no sense haha
some giving their best celebration and others giving the most ridiculous it appears
without pointing out which is which haha
suppose the opening post didnt make it clear either
talking about how ridiculous they are in soccer
then pointing out how he enjoyed one haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 14/04/2015 14:15:08    1714082

The Stars what do you think of that Joe Brolly

RAHKILL (Westmeath) - Posts: 395 - 14/04/2015 14:18:43    1714084