Monaghan win in Tralee

Fantastic stuff boys.
Thoroughly deserved.

Knoxboyo (Monaghan) - Posts: 170 - 29/03/2015 16:32:24    1707842

Excellent result, go easy on us next Sunday lads!!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 29/03/2015 16:38:31    1707855

Great result,Monaghan doing very well in dv1 generally!

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 29/03/2015 16:40:44    1707859

Super result for Monaghan.

Heady times in the Farney!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 29/03/2015 16:43:55    1707866

Well done Monaghan, sets ye up nicely for the Championship, any day you best Kerry is a good day

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 29/03/2015 16:49:33    1707878

Great game and great result. Big congrats to players and management Malachy is working wonders with these lads...pat spillane was quick to comment that Monagahan would set up similar toderry last night...nice to prove him wrong also!

Muineachain76 (Monaghan) - Posts: 180 - 29/03/2015 16:51:11    1707881

MuckrossHead

Monaghan haven't even managed an All Ireland semi final appearance, so while I take your point about punching above your weight, the fact of the matter is that, on recent form, O Sé was more than generous in his assessment & Monaghan are a distance behind the top teams.

How far is a distance in Donegal

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 29/03/2015 16:58:36    1707892

Fair play lads, we were absolute muck today, very peed off with the display from Kerry. They were rubbish

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 29/03/2015 17:05:10    1707901

Kerry is not an easy place to go for points in the League, great win for Monaghan.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 29/03/2015 17:09:03    1707903

The kerry supporters are a credit, Beggan kicked an unbelievable free against the wind and the Kerry supporters applauded. Fair play lads.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 29/03/2015 17:15:46    1707908

Congrats to Monaghan they deserved their win today and overall the better team. Are shooting with the wind was terrible 10 wides in the first half is not acceptable and our lack of a free taker today was another big problem. McManus and Mone were outstanding for ye and Drew Wyile had Donaghy in his pocket all day!!

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 29/03/2015 17:18:51    1707910

Fair play to the Farney men. Nobody relishes coming up against Monaghan. Well done on a great League.

Glynners (Donegal) - Posts: 109 - 29/03/2015 17:20:14    1707913

realdub

We are at home so we might need the loan of you'r bus. Seriously though I think the Derry match will stand to ye next week

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 29/03/2015 17:22:39    1707917

mhunicean_abu
County: Monaghan

1707892 MuckrossHead

Monaghan haven't even managed an All Ireland semi final appearance, so while I take your point about punching above your weight, the fact of the matter is that, on recent form, O Sé was more than generous in his assessment & Monaghan are a distance behind the top teams.

How far is a distance in Donegal

I'm taking nothing away from Monaghan today, or their overall performance this season in the league. But the likes of O Sé are referring to the All Ireland Series, when he says Monaghan are behind the top 4 or maybe 5 teams.

Hell I know what Monaghan are capable of, and I expect them to at least reach the Ulster final this year. We know within Ulster how good they are, and they fear nobody in Ulster ( Which tends to be the common feeling among all Ulster sides towards their neighbours ).

It's outside of Ulster where we have yet to see what they are really made of, we haven't seen them beat one or two of the big dogs in Croke park in August/September.

So until you knock out the likes of Kerry, Dublin, Cork or Mayo in Croker in the All Ireland series, you will remain a strong provincial team who lack the firepower to mix it with the big guns down the road. Donegal have shown they can mix it with the best, and win when it matters in the All Ireland series.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 29/03/2015 17:25:22    1707918

Well done on winning the all ireland today in tralee boys.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 29/03/2015 17:26:24    1707920

mhunicean_abu
County: Monaghan

realdub

We are at home so we might need the loan of you'r bus. Seriously though I think the Derry match will stand to ye next week

Hopefully you're right, once it doesn't end up looking like the Derry match!
Ye are through, take your foot off the gas now and let us through, McManus could do with a rest before the knock-out stages :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 29/03/2015 17:32:28    1707927

Super victory today. The issue in relation to lack of respect comes from the fact that Monaghan actually have a number of really good footballers and when pundits and rival supporters say monaghan are defensive, physical etc the quality of their football is glossed over. Monaghan don't score too many goals but point taking from the 45 line there are very talented.

As an aside Hoganstand claiming Monaghan are through to the semifinals. While I am open to correction I don't think that is right. If Mayo beat Donegal, Kerry beat Tyrone and Dublin beat Monaghan three teams will be on eight points with Dublin and Cork taking the first two places. My understanding is that points difference will come into play and if there is a 16 point swing between Monaghan and Kerry - Monaghan will finish in fifth.

Am I missing something or is the main Hoganstand article incorrect?

turnip12 (Monaghan) - Posts: 18 - 29/03/2015 17:37:02    1707932

waynoI

Well done on winning the all ireland today in tralee boys.

Bit harsh waynoI, we are as entitled to come on here and celebrate a win on the road as much as any county, especially against kerry. I suppose ye wouldn't know too much about winning on the road as ye are not on the road too often.

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1073 - 29/03/2015 17:43:18    1707937

Take your points Muckross and agree with most of them, though we are a better team this year than last year and even the year before that. The panel is a little stronger. Some people may not be aware of that (or unwilling to accept it). However, Cavan lie in the long grass.

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 29/03/2015 17:45:12    1707941

Would we go ahead of kerry on a head to head standing?

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1073 - 29/03/2015 17:46:36    1707943