Robbie Henshaw and the GAA background

Lovely to hear all the rugby pundits lauding Robbie Henshaw's Gaelic Football skills on Sunday. Considering the High catch is almost redundant in Gaelic these days they probably dont watch too much of the Sunday Game. Truth be told Gaelic probably uses more Rugby tactics now what with front up tackling and breaking through defensive tackles. I have yet to hear RTE GAA commentators talking about how such a fella used to play a bit of towns cup and thats how he was able to get up after taking a forearm to the chest.
Credit to the Irish boys though. They are a super bunch and despite the perception on this forum most of them are normal IRISH guys doing their country proud. They deserve more respect for their achievements.

jpcampion (Laois) - Posts: 194 - 02/03/2015 12:41:02    1698271

Why is this thread on the GAA forum...seems like you want to have a good dig at Gaelic Football.....as for GAA commentators talking about how such a fella used to play a bit of towns cup and thats how he was able to get up after taking a forearm to the chest....wtf?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 02/03/2015 13:05:27    1698282

good post. agreed

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 02/03/2015 13:14:29    1698291

well i saw henshaw play a few times in gaelic football and he seemed way off the pace at inter county level..this was only underage..maybe the rugby does suit him

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 02/03/2015 14:24:58    1698336

jpcampion
County: Laois

1698271 Lovely to hear all the rugby pundits lauding Robbie Henshaw's Gaelic Football skills on Sunday. Considering the High catch is almost redundant in Gaelic these days they probably dont watch too much of the Sunday Game. Truth be told Gaelic probably uses more Rugby tactics now what with front up tackling and breaking through defensive tackles. I have yet to hear RTE GAA commentators talking about how such a fella used to play a bit of towns cup and thats how he was able to get up after taking a forearm to the chest.
Credit to the Irish boys though. They are a super bunch and despite the perception on this forum most of them are normal IRISH guys doing their country proud. They deserve more respect for their achievements.

The rugby team getting non stop praise from all branches of the media.Its laughable that anyone would think the rugby team are getting a lot of respect.Secondly they are getting paid for what they do so frankly apart from the money whey receive what more should the players expect.They're not playing for the love of the general public.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 02/03/2015 14:26:52    1698340

ridiculous to suggest that the Irish rugby team arent getting enough respect. Totally ridiculous.
How about the Clare footballer who works himself bloody hard for his county, knowing he probably wont win anything, and doing it for free at the same time. All he gets is lip service.
As a poster above alluded to, so long as the professional sports people get their pay at the end of the week, they wont be losing any sleep over what the public think of them.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 02/03/2015 14:39:34    1698352

In a post-match interview, Henshaw himself mentioned his Gaelic football background when asked about that catch. I think it's fair to say that practically everyone who is Irish is proud of our national rugby team who (despite a small player pool & just 4 professional clubs) are probably ranked 3rd in the world after yesterday's win. The fact they represent Ireland as a whole is another positive reason to support the team.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 02/03/2015 15:18:42    1698367

you not proud of the soccer team keeper?

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 02/03/2015 15:33:58    1698378

These rugby "high catches" usually demonstrate great bravery for a player to keep his eye on the ball with some 20 stone mountain running at him. I don't think it is quiet the same skill level of a man rising to collect the ball over his head among a crowd of players like you see in Gaelic Football.

Many's the time he broke our hearts but it was some sight to see Darragh O'Sé doing plucking a ball from the clouds among a crowd of players at a critical point in a match. The rugby catches are grand but for me they don't compare to that.

dahayeser (Cork) - Posts: 336 - 02/03/2015 15:41:04    1698386

Not particularly, Fabio.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 02/03/2015 20:52:03    1698523

why is that?..in what way are you not proud of them like the rugby players?..you do realise its lot harder to win in soccer..in rugby we are often an elite side by default.

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 02/03/2015 20:54:40    1698526

Republic of Ireland - currently ranked 67th in the world, one place above Burkina Faso...

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 03/03/2015 11:35:43    1698620

keeper7
County: Longford

Republic of Ireland - currently ranked 67th in the world, one place above Burkina Faso...

Just shows how competitive soccer is.

The rugby goys are in the top ten automatically and will always be forever no matter how good or bad they are.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 03/03/2015 12:26:09    1698659

02/03/2015 14:24:58
fabio8
County: USA

well i saw henshaw play a few times in gaelic football and he seemed way off the pace at inter county level..this was only underage..maybe the rugby does suit him

if he was that far off the pace how come he played at minor inter county level - cant be that bad

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 03/03/2015 12:32:11    1698666

02/03/2015 20:54:40
fabio8
County: USA

why is that?..in what way are you not proud of them like the rugby players?..you do realise its lot harder to win in soccer..in rugby we are often an elite side by default.

tis harder for a minnow to beat a major side in rugby than soccer due to the low scoring nature of soccer

how are we an elite rugby side by default - i thought it was due to our own effort

personally i am proud of any invididual/team that respresents their country

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 03/03/2015 12:34:18    1698667

Gavin Duffy's failure to make any impression with Mayo (despite the hype) is another indication that the skill levels in rugby are way below what's required to play Gaelic football. It also helps to undermine Pat Spillane's contention that he could put together a random group of fit lads and get them to compete at inter-county level. Gaelic football is more more skillful than the begrudgers admit.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 03/03/2015 12:47:53    1698674

Rugby is a dull sport, best suited for those who are too slow, too unfit for Gaelic football

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 03/03/2015 13:07:04    1698689

03/03/2015 13:07:04
cacsmckilly
Rugby is a dull sport, best suited for those who are too slow, too unfit for Gaelic football
Garbage. Any facts to back up this?

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 03/03/2015 14:29:29    1698738

keeper7
County: Longford

1698620 Republic of Ireland - currently ranked 67th in the world, one place above Burkina Faso...

What's your issue with Burkina Faso?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 03/03/2015 15:29:24    1698768

Fair play to Henshaw but it's a lot easier to compete at the top level in a minority sport. There are more decent inter county football teams than there are decent international teams. There are 4 teams in Europe, 3 in the Southern Hemisphere. Then you have 2 or 3 half decent teams who can compete at least. And then you have the rest.

I will save Mr Bold the hassle of mentioning the mighty Georgia or Romania but saying they are strong in the same way Limerick and Clare are strong at football.......

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 03/03/2015 15:36:46    1698770