Kilkenny's attitude to hurling rules

I heard Brian Cody being interviewed earlier and he seemed to be insinuating that when Joe Lyng was sent off that "nobody was injured" was the only thing that mattered. Is that really a defence to such an incident?

Why is it that Kilkenny think that they should call the shots on rules.

I am sick of this "nobody was injured,its a mans game" style attitude. The fact is that there was just as high a chance Joe Lyng could have injured the Dublin player. We have rules to protect players and the referees are there to implement the rulebook rather than bow to what Kilkenny think they should do.

I can absolutely tell you one thing for sure, when Liam Dunne did a similar challenge on Martin Comerford in 2002 the same would not be said.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 23/02/2015 21:04:57    1696152

It was a sickening belt and the dublin player was lucky not to be badly hurt. Lyng will miss one match and all is forgiven. Puts Andrew Shores suspension in perspective.

the_post (USA) - Posts: 184 - 23/02/2015 21:30:30    1696163

Clearly if you read the article properly you would see he was talking about the first red card which wasn't a red in my opinion and not the second red card which was correct. Ye need to remove ye're Cody hating goggles lads.

Article from Hoganstand.

Brian Cody had no idea why Jonjo Farrell was sent off against Dublin.

Kilkenny are expected to appeal the straight red card Farrell received in the first half of the Nowlan Park defeat. TV replays suggested that the sending off, which followed a fracas in the 25th minute, was harsh.

"I'll let you decide on that lads," the Cats boss told reporters.

"I won't talk about referees. Obviously, it had a huge bearing on the game. There was nobody hurt, that's all I know. I don't know why he was sent off. The referee made a decision and that was it."

Cody also conceded that the better team won.

"Dublin deserved to win it. It was a bid disadvantage playing with 14 for most of the game and with 13 (Joe Lyng also saw red in the second half) for a lot of it. That made it very difficult.

"We fought it out to the end and pegged it back well, but overall we couldn't have any complaints about the result."

Faithfull (Offaly) - Posts: 573 - 23/02/2015 21:45:28    1696177

I do admire Cody and the Cats and don't regard them as the terrible monsters some do, but Perfect makes some reasonable points. Some commentators are clearly intimidated by Big Brian. Watching the highlights one of the commentators said something to the effect that Lyng was clearly going for the ball! He clearly was not. Or if he was he ought perhaps pay heed to that well known ad for glasses! Now, neither your own nor my own nor any others tog out 15 angels Perfect as we well know! But I have never heard anyone as you say make excuses for them!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 23/02/2015 21:53:07    1696183

I don't think anyone can deny that Kilkenny's style tests the rule book

They kind of perform inside a rule grey area....

It's no surprise that Kilkenny are the strongest advocates for this type of play... "keeping it manly" ahem...

It benefits them greatly and they use their pedigree wisely

What defines a tackle exactly.. Kilkennys style looks a bit all over the shop.. hurl in face, grabbing arms, grabbing hands... sort of a controlled scramble in close.. almost impossible to ref 100% spot on

Actually far from "almost" impossible... it is impossible

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/02/2015 21:56:05    1696186

first one was a yellow at most, second one was very dangerous and deserves a ban. he even broke a bit of his hurley off when he connected with the dublin players head

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 23/02/2015 21:59:32    1696191

Comerford wasn't the only man dunne chopped down! :P

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 23/02/2015 22:03:30    1696192

Fair play lads you swear butter wouldn't melt in any of your county players mouth lads are on here about the two sending offs about what Cody allegedly said. I see nobody mentioned about the swinging back of the hurl by Liam Rushe caought Paul Murphy under the eye with the but of the hurl, also the Dublin full back was fouling jj Farrell every time the ball came down to him the umpires saw nothing when it suits like the injury Conner Fogarty picked up the week before no body saw that. I would also like to jog peples memory about the horrific injury Michael Rice, Tj Reid got a couple of years ago what santions were issued out to there two culprits, what insult to Michael Rice that the tipp player was out on the field at half time in the all Ireland 2012.

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 24/02/2015 08:32:56    1696195

Firstly, I think the first red card was not a red. The second one was. I dont know what the starter of this thread is referring to, but I heard Cody on Radio 1 yesterday on the way home and he appeared to be saying that "nobody was injured" meant neither should have been sent off? I am not 100% on this but I will listen again and confirm.
For the record, I dont think Kilkenny are a dirty side, I never have. They play on the edge, where would you want your county men playing? But I hate the way the media pandy to them too, like hurling is their game and their game only.
hurlingdub I agree with you, but remember the furore at how dirty Wexford and Dublin were in Parnell Park 2/3 years ago? There was 1 sent off and arguably should have been at least 1 more from each side. No Kilkenny pundit was dragged out like god almighty and all bow to Eddie Keher and his opinion after that match! Instead, the likes of Michael Duignan were left to absolutely slate both teams. There is double standards in media circles when it comes to criticism of teams, of that there is absolutely no doubt.
blackspot91, that doesnt even warrant a response, but I'll just point you to this article regardless (http://www.hoganstand.com/wexford/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=83390)

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 24/02/2015 08:52:10    1696199

jimbodub you've some neck on you with that post. Anyone with any sense of rationality who was at the game on Sunday and any games between Dublin and Kilkenny in recent years would acknowledge that Dublin have been the more physical of the two teams (particularly during the Dublin team's 'body building phase') and more than willing exponents of the type of tackling that you attribute to being solely Kilkenny traits. A few years ago there may have been some argument that Kilkenny were the most guilty of these tactics, but this simply does not stand up anymore. Take any offence, be it any of the tired cliches such as "hurl in face, grabbing arms, grabbing hands" that you mention, or out and out dirt and give me an example of Kilkenny players doing it and I'll give your five more of players of other counties doing the same and much worse. Posters like you are more than happy for Dublin to lap up the laudits for 'out Kilkenny-ing Kilkenny', 'beating them at their own game' etc. when it suits, but then fail to see the hypocrisy in the posts like you've made on this topic

In any case this entire thread is meaningless, as it is based on a fallacy, perfect10 heard what he wanted to hear not what Cody actual said. Cody was commenting on the JonJo Farrell issue when he made the statement, but don't let that stop anyone questioning Kilkennys attitude to the rules of hurling. Ironic really when you consider that Kilkenny in recent times have suffered more than most in recent times by a failure of referees to correctly punish offences that have lead to serious injury.

By the way, what Joe Lyng did was stupid and inexcusable (much like Donal O'Grady's offence in the AI semi final last year that only lead to a yellow card by the way) and you won't find any Kilkenny man saying otherwise.

At the weekend, Kilkenny had one man unfairly dismissed and another correctly dismissed and will receive the appropriate punishment. Cork had Horgan escape without punishment for a striking offence that cannot be labelled as anything but dirt, Bubbles O'Dwyer was lucky to not get the line for Tipperary and the previous weekend a Cork player broke Conor Fogarty's shin off the ball. I had a search of the forum but I cannot find the faux outrage following those incidents, strange

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 24/02/2015 10:22:07    1696231

Cody was referring to John Jo Farrels sending off.Seemed harsh to me.Once again its the inconsistency of our referees that has us scratching our heads.Kilkenny are not a dirty team.However the 2nd Kilkenny red was a wild pull and he deserved his marching orders.
In regards Michael Rices injury,i dont think Pauraic Maher intentionally hurt him.It was a wild pull but his hurley slid along to the top of Rices hurley where it badly injured his hand.A total accident in my opinion.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 24/02/2015 10:48:07    1696239

At the weekend, Kilkenny had one man unfairly dismissed and another correctly dismissed and will receive the appropriate punishment. Cork had Horgan escape without punishment for a striking offence that cannot be labelled as anything but dirt, Bubbles O'Dwyer was lucky to not get the line for Tipperary and the previous weekend a Cork player broke Conor Fogarty's shin off the ball. I had a search of the forum but I cannot find the faux outrage following those incidents, strange

That is the first time I have ever heard anybody suggesting Patrick Horgan was a dirty player. Most say he is too nice. Anyway, people have different ways of looking at things.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 24/02/2015 12:06:09    1696259

Pat Horgan, too nice? I've heard it all now, Bennybunny ;) But yeah, you're right in that he cannot be considered a dirty player. Too skillful for that.

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 299 - 24/02/2015 12:24:50    1696269

Bennybunny, no where in that sentence do I say that Horgan is a dirty player, and you know it. I referred to the offence itself, was it not a dirty stroke?. Anyway we heard all about how Horgan is not a dirty player, not in his nature etc. when he had his red card for striking Paudie O'Brien opponent's head with the hurl rescinded in 2013

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 24/02/2015 12:32:38    1696275

So I listened back to the interview I heard, I dont know if it is the same as the one referred to in the first post but the interview is cut in such a way that it doesnt really make out that he's only referring to the first red card.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 24/02/2015 12:50:22    1696286

I find this thread interesting as I was in Thurles on Sunday, after the Bubbles O'Dwyer incident, the ref called in his linesman.
He clearly sent him over to check on the injured player while he took Bubbles name and didnt issue a card until the linesman told him how serious the players injury was.
You can see it all on the TV too.

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 24/02/2015 13:29:39    1696297

In fairness Pinkie, I do think he was referring to the first rather than the second red. I heard the original interview. His body language when Lyng walked past him on his way off did not suggest approval either!

Fair enough point Hefty regarding other teams, including Dublin, trying to 'out Kilkenny Kilkenny.' That was certainly a factor in the 2011 league final where Dublin did up the ante having perceived that Cats had sort of bullied them in other games. Problem with that is having the balls to keep it up for all other games!

I am also old enough, and have listened to older people, to know that Cody comes from a background in which Kilkenny would have been perceived to have been soft touches. A lot of people would find that hard to imagine but that was certainly the perception in 60s between Cats and Tipp until Cats faced Tipp down in league final I think (?) in 1967 and then went on to beat them in All Ireland final for first time in long time. League final was ferocious altogether according to my Da!

Similar perception might have been around in late 80s and early 90s when Pinkie's chaps seemed to bully the stripey lads the odd time! Cody would hate that more than anything and he set a new standard when he took over that upped the intensity and aggression levels above where Wexford and Clare had it.

Have to say too, that in all the years I cannot honestly recall any real lingering nastiness regarding the Cats. I know it has been an unequal relationship but I have never found them on or off the pitch to be other than gracious in defeat or victory.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 24/02/2015 13:41:15    1696307

Ballsology, Kilkenny are where they are today not because the GAA or CCCC bow to them but because they are brilliant, end of. First red was harsh but possibly technically correct and the second spoke for itself, Sutcliffe also deserved to go, what's the big deal?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 24/02/2015 13:46:27    1696312

Same old thing when anyone criticize a Kilkenny player for going over the top. Kilkenny supporters dig up the "dirt" by players from other counties and try to prove that Kilkenny players are saints compared to those from other counties. Sure it's only all "manly" stuff when Kilkennny do it.

Patrick Horgan has already been criticized by posters on The Blood And Bandage for that dig on a Clare player. Nobody is excusing him; in fact people are angry that his actions could have left Cork a player short.

No such home truths ever spoken by Kilkenny supporters.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 643 - 24/02/2015 13:58:21    1696318

I'm sorry Midleton but that post is nonsense. Read the title of the thread, accusations are again be made about Kilkenny following a game, a game in which a Kilkenny correctly had a man sent off for a stupid, dangerous pull, an incident that all Kilkenny people have acknowledged as such (so much for 'No such home truths ever spoken by Kilkenny supporters' eh?).

No one is trying to make Kilkenny out to be saints, Kilkenny players are not saints, I'd hate if they were since we'd win nothing. Incidents involving Tipperary and Corks players from the most recent weekend of action were brought up, simply as examples, to highlight the different treatment Kilkenny often receive in the media and online discussions, and to show that Kilkenny are no better or no worse than any of the other top hurling counties when it comes to the physical side of the game.

There is no attempt to label Kilkenny as saints, just as there is no attempt to label any Cork player dirty. If you and other posters are uncomfortable with incidents involving players from their own county being highlighted, then maybe they should think twice before offering one-eyed and subjective commentary on Kilkenny players and Kilkenny hurling in general.

Incidently I hate all this whataboutery of bring up incidents committed by opposing county players etc. but some of the stuff written about Kilkenny on here and other forums would drive you to it, it's just not rational and doesn't stand up to scrutiny.

Fair play hurlingdub, indeed Kilkenny were traditionally regarded as stylish hurlers that could be bullied out of the game, "Kilkenny for the hurlers, Tipperary for the men" etc. There's no denying that Cody has successfully added steel to the skill during his reign, you'd imagine that this previous period of Kilkenny hurling is something he is always conscious of.

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 24/02/2015 14:41:31    1696335