Great start for Dubs against Tipp

That'll do...

Great crowd, great performance, great start for new management

Lots of encouraging signs

A much needed 2 points

That was prob one of my best days as a fan in Parnell Park!

Up the Dubs... :)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 15/02/2015 15:38:47    1693685

Great start, well done!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 15/02/2015 15:46:43    1693689

Very convincing indeed. Congratulations lads

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2660 - 15/02/2015 15:49:04    1693690

Another slow start from our lads.

Looks like the Dublin hurling train continues to roll post-Dalo though.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 15/02/2015 15:50:34    1693691

Was that game on live today? Feck it... Should have that one set to record on the box...

Would have watched it all over again with me Snack Box...

Free gaff!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 15/02/2015 15:53:41    1693693

lads it's a great result and all but HL1A: dynamic Dubs trip Tipp up that article is some hogwash. You'd swear you just won the all-ireland

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2660 - 15/02/2015 16:15:24    1693705

Very enjoyable Dublin performance.Carton was solid at fullback,Rushy was like a playmaker at full forward.He took his goal brilliantly.I wasnt too keen on Ger Cunninghams appointment but i am warming to it already.Early days but this is exactly the type of performance that we needed.
On the other hand Tipp were a pale shadow of last years All Ireland final team.D Maher,G Ryan,P Curran,Woodlock and Forde were very poor.The rest not much better.Bubbles was about the best of a poor team.I feared for Tipp after last years final and i tipped them to struggle this year.Today does nothing to change my mind.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 15/02/2015 16:18:25    1693708

You'd swear you just won the all-ireland

Are you for real, where are you getting that from?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 15/02/2015 16:21:56    1693711

realdub

That's not directed at any fans mate. I'm referring to the cringy article.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2660 - 15/02/2015 16:30:23    1693716

Maybe I am wrong but is Rushe not usually a defender ?

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 15/02/2015 17:03:21    1693729

Yes Rush doesn't normally play full-forward, and Doylerwex, just read that tabloid piece, wouldn't agree that it sounds like we just won the AI but shabby piece none the less!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 15/02/2015 17:12:33    1693734

Great performance from the Dubs. Carton was brilliant at full back and Kelly is settling in at centre back. Keaney and Sutcliffe did the job too and Dillon was a threat all day.

Despite what everyone keeps saying Rushe has played extensively in the forward line. In fact it was only in 2013 that he was really moved into the defence. Previous to that he had played at midfield, centre and full forward.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 15/02/2015 17:25:37    1693740

That'll do...

Great crowd, great performance, great start for new management

Lots of encouraging signs

A much needed 2 points

That was prob one of my best days as a fan in Parnell Park!

Up the Dubs... :)

Pity there werent a few more Dubs there to see it, once again the efforts of the hurlers are second best to whatever the footballers do, those guys deserve better!! Footballers get Croke Park, all the glory, prestige, sponsorship and GPA media, the hurlers dont get such exposure or perks but get a few decent die hards like yourself Jim to cheer them on. The fact that the capacity of Parnell Park was tested to the limit for that game today says a lot about how appreciative some Dublin supporters are towards the success this Dublin hurling team has brought to the capitol.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 15/02/2015 17:28:42    1693742

Lots of positives but plenty to improve on to. Big test next week we usually do well in Parnell need to start doing it on the road though

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 15/02/2015 17:34:09    1693747

A great start, and an important win as Division 1 status is important. Tipp looked sluggish and are a few weeks behind us in conditioning I would feel.

GC has shaken things up to a degree, the placing of Keaney and Rushe was interesting and effective although I do feel Rushe will revert even though I think the reason for placing him there is wholly legitimate.

Simply put, if we don't score goals in big games we will never move forward.

Still, delighted with the win but to slightly adjust an old saying, 'Rome wasn't built in February'.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 15/02/2015 18:12:42    1693783

Richie, the place was packed! As advocate of hurlers playing all home games there I am happy out, and great performance. No-one getting carried away. Tipp's first real game since the heartbreak of the replay and in modern hurling the team that is up for it and gets a run on you will beat you 9/10. Great day and we'll worry about the next day the next day :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 15/02/2015 18:23:58    1693786

Well said Richieq

We're a football first county and always will be

But that doesn't mean that the hurlers deserve more credit

I wouldn't classify myself as a die hard hurling Dub... Far far better fans than me

But the message in your post is why I make the effort

Because they deserve it... What they've achieved in the last number of years has been incredible

But they'll never attract the same support as the footballers

But still... That was a great crowd today and fair play to the travelling Tipp support

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 15/02/2015 18:30:33    1693791

That should say " Dont " deserve more credit

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 15/02/2015 18:34:36    1693794

Well said Richie,

Each to their own.

I went to one or two in the past.

But no gra for them at all and now personally I wouldnt go to a Dublin hurling game if you paid me.

To those who do, Fair play!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 15/02/2015 18:37:14    1693796

Apologies Richie! I thought you were being sarcastic about the crowd. My bad....

Football will always be the biggest game in town but hurlers will get decent crowds when playing decent teams and always have done. Was a time when you wouldn't get 3/400 in the place but few other than certifiables like myself felt a pressing need to see Wicklow or Roscommon or Derry. No harm to the counties concerned but the big teams always add to the attendance.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 15/02/2015 18:51:07    1693799