Andrew Shore Ban

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=230906
I think it's just outrageous and unfathomable that Andrew Shore's 48 week ban has been upheld. Here's a guy who is in the prime of his career and had a great 2014 for Wexford and will be a huge loss for his club Parnells in Dublin. Granted he broke the rules as the paperwork was not fully complete to participate in this Mickey Mouse hurling tournament in England but he was only there to promote the game across the water. Had the game been played a few hours later he would have been eligible to play. The powers that be are sticking to the rule book but common sense has to prevail in these situations. We saw last year how quickly the GAA brought in the "Anthony Nash Rule". A fine for the clubs and a couple of games ban is more than sufficient. Guys can beat the pulp out of each other and get a few games suspension.
I'd like to know where are the GPA when they're needed to represent their players. Would this happen if it were Michael Fennelly or Bernard Brogan? I'm not so sure.

gaafarmer (Wexford) - Posts: 280 - 29/01/2015 16:01:10    1687758

First of all what the hell was he doing playing in the competition in the first place. This competition was designed to give clubs in Liverpool, Leeds, Nottingham and outside London a chance of playing some games and it was set at 13 aside in order to help teams field but what the club in question did was temporary transfer lads in to win it how was that helping promote hurling. I am sure there were a couple of lads dropped who were probably training all year so that these super stars could play .. I am glad they have taken this stance and I hope it continues there is a history of this going on for years particularly in Birmingham and it needs to be stopped. The Kevin Brady case comes to mind who was also an inter county player. If the lad was transferring for the year then I would have sympathy for him but he was only transferring for one game pure stupid ..

mike_tuam (Galway) - Posts: 157 - 29/01/2015 16:58:47    1687783

If I could permanently ban 2 phrases from the dictionary of GAA terms, they would be "disgrace" and "common sense". Everything and anything any player, manager, or the GAA itself does is a labelled a "disgrace" by someone. Then as well as that, apparently all rules should just be abandoned and the GAA official guide should be torn up and replaced with the words "use common sense".

Its not common sense to let someone away with breaking the rules simply because they are good players in the prime of their career. What possible case could you argue? What could the GPA do? Even ignoring the fact that simply on a point of fairness he shouldnt have been playing, (he is far too good to be taking someone's place in a small sided hurling tournament in the UK). I'd argue that a lad living and training over there playing a match is better for the game than transferring in one good hurler for the weekend.

He made a mess of the paperwork and was caught. Rules are rules and he broke them, whats the point in having the rules if you intend on ignoring them?

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1643 - 29/01/2015 17:30:23    1687801

Outrageous ban, totally disproportionate. Placing a professional punishment on an amateur player. I hope he wins his appeal.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 29/01/2015 17:30:43    1687802

I've no sympathy for the Roger Casements club or Andrew Shore. Well said Mike_Tuam by the way. There was far too much of that going on over there in years gone by and they're still at it. And yes, Kevin Brady was but one example. The club he played for there were notorious for doing it.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 29/01/2015 18:14:51    1687832

Surely a 48 ban is ott,if i heard someone getting that i would presume they decked a referee or something that else that severe

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 29/01/2015 18:34:10    1687843

CastleBravo

.castlebravo. that is one of the most sensible posts that I have seen on here for quite some time. very eloquently put.
It brings me back to another thread about a certain rule which was applied and then, no less a man than Uachtaráin Cumann Lúthchleas Gael sees fit to have to point out that the rule is incorrect . well if it's incorrect why vote the blooming thing in. why wait till it's applied before you scrutinise it.

I have heard man's a supporter say why doesn't the ref use common sense, well as CastleBravo says, then why bother with rules at all.
I have so sympathy with anyone like this or a club like this who deliberately breaks a rule and then crys foul. it's like these clubs playing underage players and then complaining when someone objects. you might as well have no rule at all .

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 30/01/2015 10:39:23    1687990

GAA Farmer

I take it you have talked to Andrew before you made this comment? If not then why not?

I'd like to know where are the GPA when they're needed to represent their players. Would this happen if it were Michael Fennelly or Bernard Brogan? I'm not so sure.

26plus6equals1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 430 - 30/01/2015 11:07:11    1688003

I would be fairly sure that Fennelly or Brogan wouldn't pull this stunt.

macs4eva (UK) - Posts: 107 - 30/01/2015 12:14:11    1688032

As a Wexford die hard supporter, I am sort of siding with the authorities on this one, hard as it is to take losing one of our best players.

What was he doing at this tournament in the first place I dont understand.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 30/01/2015 12:27:46    1688039

I cant understand why people cant read the rule book, you cannot play ilegally, this rule has been in place since the 'Tony Keady Incident'. And most gaa people are well aware of the consequences of doing this. Personally its a fair ban and the reason I think so is because a months ban would only encourage this behaviour. Some clubs in Dublin and around the country are very wealthy and I know for my point of view if one of these clubs called me offering XYZ euros to transfer to them to play a few games after my own club were knocked out of championship , I would certainly consider it, if was aware the worst ban I could get would be 1 month. Its a year as it is and because of this I wouldnt do it. It would be a disaster for the GAA. Eg. Portumna knocked out of Galway Championship early and Joe Canning gets £2000 to line out for Kilmacuad Crokes banned for a month hes hardly going to worry about that?? They need to make an example of Shore, and if the ban is upheld then how many players will play illegally next year??not too many

Colinog (UK) - Posts: 39 - 30/01/2015 13:40:42    1688074

Completely over the top. The punishment should fit the crime. I dont know if Im missing something, but I cant figure out how not signing yyour paperwork is worth a years ban. The gah should take its head out of its h*** and get its punishments in order. Break a lad in half, insult, dive, cheat, feign injury, etc and your grand. And for all the lads who say the laws have to be implemented, blah blah., id like to set the cops on them everytime they jaywalk, smoke a blunt, etc.

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 30/01/2015 13:49:09    1688076

Point well made Colinog

HenryHill16 (Dublin) - Posts: 249 - 30/01/2015 14:07:32    1688082

Flack, whats the point in having rules in the first place then???

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 30/01/2015 14:31:58    1688092

i know like the above i am going against my county man,but rules are rules.just like everything in irish society,its the poor old "ah sure he only sort of bent thr rules,we should leave him off".just like podge collins sending off last year,or shefflins 2 years ago,they broke the rules.simple as that.they should be punished accordingly.i am sick of that sort of attitude in the gaa and irish society in general.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 30/01/2015 15:00:45    1688102

I actually agree that he deserves to be punished for what was a stupid breaking of the rules.

But for me its seems way to excessive. I mean basically its telling a young fella he cant hurl for a year because paper work wasnt in order (i believe if the match had taken place a few hours later then he would be fine). Who does that help in reality?

Ive seen players racially abuse another player and get 2 a month ban, if a player is found doping but can prove no "significant fault or negligence" he can get away with a reprimand or maximum 2 years but get your paperwork wrongs and its a year!!, doesnt make sense to me.

I mean you can strike a referee and get the same ban as not having your paperwork done in time!!! or bite an opponent in a game and receive a ban which is 6 times more lenient than not having your paperwork done in time. Thats crazy in my opinion.

Either way if he doesnt get off thats fair enough but hopefully the GAA will have the cop on to review the severity of such a ban for an offence going forward to reflect the actual severity of the offence in question so some other fella doesnt get the same ban in the future, knowing the GAA i doubt it though somehow.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 30/01/2015 15:23:22    1688110

frankbhoy
Its the rules that I think are stupid, not the way they are implicated. The punishment should fit the crime, and if it doesnt, then change it. Every transgression should have a proportional punishment, 48 weeks for what Shore did is ridiculous. What harm was he doing, if it was a soccer match (etc) he played thered be no problem, but then again the GAA always treated their own like muck

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 30/01/2015 15:50:19    1688116

This is the same organization that's considering a change that would see a player who receives 2 yellow cards being substituted rather than sent off. Where's the balance?

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 30/01/2015 16:11:46    1688123

If this was a Cork Tipp KK player this ban would not have been upheld.

Absolute disgusting.

If I were shore Id never play the game again. Also I'd think about going to a higher authority than the GAA.

Can an Amateur actually be banned from playing an amateur game.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 30/01/2015 16:51:30    1688137

When you are applying for a transfer do you not have to provide proof of permanent address, work, etc? If a player is just transferring to play a shield competition (couldn't play a championship match as they already had played championship in the same year) it is unlikely that they would have proof of residence, etc required as part of the transfer.

People talk about promoting the game by playing in these competitions, how can this be if a senior intercounty player is flown in to play in an 11 a side developmental shield competition. Smells more like a team trying to win the competition at all "costs". Players should be aware of the pitfalls and suffer the consequences.

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 30/01/2015 18:18:28    1688163