Kildare v Dublin - O'Byrne Cup Final

Well it's almost upon us...

Can Dublin seek revenge against Kildare in this competition at last

Kildare's victory in Parnell Park left me sick... head down leaving our own backyard

Now it's time for payback on Kildare's home turf...

I'd imagine a fairly hefty crowd will be in attendance... even with the game being broadcast live

I'd fully expect another 7,000+ crowd as per the Meath match in Navan

Another away game for the Dubs... it feels like the 90's again... ;)

Gavin should start his strongest side that's available to him and keep faith with the lads that have been busting a gut so far in this comp so far

Looking forward to it...

Dublin win +2

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/01/2015 11:34:14    1685749

Jimbo did you mean +2 or 20+ ?

All very quiet on naming the teams. Hope the dubs do put out a strong side, we really need a good test for our defense before league.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 23/01/2015 11:48:15    1685760

St.Conleth

Jimbo did you mean +2 or 20+ ?

All very quiet on naming the teams. Hope the dubs do put out a strong side, we really need a good test for our defense before league.

Ha... if you boys can keep Rock quiet you'll have a good chance

You'd want to keep the free count down around the scoring zone too...Rock doesn't miss many and he'd scored a pile from dead ball so far this year

Yeah I fully expect a decent team to take the pitch... from both counties

Being on your home pitch - I'd be very happy to walk away with a +2

And you better believe I'll be on the pitch... IF we win ;)

Should be a good game.. hopefully with a few thrills and spills along the way

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/01/2015 11:59:37    1685767

Hopefully Dublin can over turn the odds in this one.

Kildare's vice like strangle hold on the O'Byrne Cup is killing this once great competition.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 23/01/2015 12:01:49    1685768

A great chance to get revenge on Kildare for preventing the Dubs from winning the quadruple in 2013.

To use a soccer analogy, it's just like when spurs beat united in the worthington cup in 98-99. Never forgotten by all.

HenryHill16 (Dublin) - Posts: 249 - 23/01/2015 12:24:06    1685782

Jaze how much revenge do you lads want ?? Got plenty last couple of years.

Think it will be a good game too. Early days for us but the return of Kelly, Doyle and Fitzpatrick this year is a huge plus. Still a bit worried about our midfield, no clear pairing evident as of yet. Mulhall up front was a big loss in championship and one of the couple of guys who played well against Dublin last year. Back too and playing well so far.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 23/01/2015 12:42:12    1685788

Good workout for both Kildare and Dublin ahead of the League games against Down and Cork respectively. Additionally it will be a good test for our defence who were rarely tested in the O'Byrne Cup to date apart from last week against DIT.Verdict: Kildare to win three in a row and strengthen "their vice like grip on the O'Byrne Cup".

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2989 - 23/01/2015 14:18:24    1685823

New FREE online Leinster GAA Fantasy game- play here http://www.leinstergaa.ie/fantasy

emadden (Kilkenny) - Posts: 4 - 23/01/2015 14:39:05    1685833

St.Conleth

Jaze how much revenge do you lads want ?? Got plenty last couple of years.

Think it will be a good game too. Early days for us but the return of Kelly, Doyle and Fitzpatrick this year is a huge plus. Still a bit worried about our midfield, no clear pairing evident as of yet. Mulhall up front was a big loss in championship and one of the couple of guys who played well against Dublin last year. Back too and playing well so far.
_____

Thou Shall not lose at home to Kildare

That was actually the 11th commandment before Moses fell over and dropped it on his way back down

We Dubs still live by it though - A sin was committed and needs to be exorcised

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/01/2015 14:51:57    1685837

The reason Kildare have done well in the O'Byrne Cup in recent years was because McGeeney was averse to giving young players a run and tended to play strong teams. The reason we have done well this year is because the teams we have played were really poor apart from Carlow who played with a great spirit in the 2nd half.
Ryan really needed to strengthen the squad and get game time into players returning from injury like Doyle,Fitzpatrick, Lyons and Mulhall and the 2 extra games will help with that.
As the the game itself, a few points either way after a competitive outing and both teams will probably be happy heading into the league.
We have a much better chance of beating Dublin now than later in the year as they are way ahead of us.

murof (Kildare) - Posts: 480 - 23/01/2015 15:14:36    1685840

We have a much better chance of beating Dublin now than later in the year as they are way ahead of us

True!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 23/01/2015 15:25:52    1685846

Well, the big one is almost upon us, shame it's only January, the rest of the year kind of pales in comparison, I think they should switch the O'Byrne cup to August/September :D

All seriousness though, according to the Indo, TG4 are NOT showing this game, I'll have to go to it now :D

http://www.independent.ie/sport/top-gaa-referee-admits-hes-made-mistakes-in-every-county-30930281.html

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 23/01/2015 16:39:02    1685884

If Kildare win this I'm making a thread calling for their removal from the O'Byrne cup.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 23/01/2015 19:22:50    1685943

Yes their dominance is becoming ridiculous at this stage, worse than Kilkenny and Dublin in Leinster!!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 23/01/2015 20:02:16    1685955

Hahaha... @ Jack

Sure you'd never do such a reactionary OTT thing like that

;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/01/2015 20:02:21    1685956

Hopefully our dominance will continue tomorrow, but the main thing is getting the team right for the 1st league game up in Down, Dublin should give our defence a test as against UCD and DIT it was all one way traffic. Looking forward to a good game in Newbridge, but whatever the result it is just preparation for Down and Meath in 1st two league games when the intensity will go up a few levels. We have named a reasonably strong team and are scoring well so Kildare to complete the three in a row bu a point or two!

NorthKildare (Kildare) - Posts: 197 - 24/01/2015 12:06:09    1686004

I see all the bunting up in Kildare today, i got my ticket this morning, jaysus AllIreland tickets were handier to come by.
I wonder what Hotel ye are staying in tommorrow night if ye complete the 3 in a row. Obviously Monday will then be open top Bus affair ;)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 24/01/2015 13:57:39    1686014

Dublin must be delighted to be able to share in this great occasion. What an experience for their young players and their many fans.

beir_bua (Kildare) - Posts: 746 - 24/01/2015 14:13:23    1686017

stuck in limerick till the morning
does anybody know if the tickets will be on sale outside the ground tomorrow
or is it only online and supervalu and centra?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/01/2015 14:47:48    1686021

hill16no1man

stuck in limerick till the morning
does anybody know if the tickets will be on sale outside the ground tomorrow
or is it only online and supervalu and centra?

There is no more online Hill. They say tickets can be bought at the match (but you would prob want to be there early).
Why not try a Supervalue in Limerick , they are listed as selling them .

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 24/01/2015 15:20:31    1686024