Dublin v Meath in O'Byrne Cup semi-final

So Pairc Tailtean is where its at this Sunday

Lads and lassies please make your way to O'Mahonys barwhere drinks are on RD

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 15/01/2015 21:15:54    1683698

Looking forward to a bit of banter on Sunday Bert ;)and sure if Royaldunne is buying. ID say Cue might have a thirst on him :)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 15/01/2015 21:28:08    1683711

Sure 1st round on me :).

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/01/2015 08:14:10    1683732

The competition is irrelevant, however a win for Meath especially the young players would do great for their confidence and may help with a possible meeting in July.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/01/2015 12:07:11    1683813

Derinkkkk!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 16/01/2015 13:11:37    1683842

royaldunne

1683813 The competition is irrelevant, however a win for Meath especially the young players would do great for their confidence and may help with a possible meeting in July.

Agree from a Meath point there a something to build on kinda thing , not sure we can get much out of it either way , for that reason I wouldn't be surprised to see us turned over .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 16/01/2015 13:17:36    1683845

I fancy Meath to lay down a marker.Meath to win by 2 points.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 16/01/2015 13:24:28    1683848

Well Meath have a lot to play for

They made a show of themselves the last day out against Dublin

Even the whinging after the match...

Embarrassing isn't the word...

So yeah... Meath have a lot to play for

Hopefully Dublin can get a few new faces onto the pitch and try and force themselves into the NFL Div 1 panel

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 16/01/2015 13:53:38    1683861

Even if Meath won by 10 points,they would not be laying down a marker,it has nothing to do with the league or championship.

But as for the game itself,it will be a bit of craic,but I think Dublin will win by a few points.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 16/01/2015 14:08:21    1683864

Zinny,us Dubs dont need to lay down any marker,but i think its important Meath put in a good performance on Sunday.After all the beatings weve given ye over the last few years,if our 2nd string side come out of Navan with the win,it wont auger well for ye if we meet again in the championship.Dont tink it will be good craic either.This will be a serious game as they always are.For the O Byrne Cup,theres quite a bit at stake here.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 16/01/2015 14:21:10    1683871

Should be a bitta craic, we know it doesn't matter but deep down we all still really want to win, get one over the old rivals and all that, I do agree that it's more important to us from a moral point of view though, another defeat to Dublin wouldn't be great for the confidence if we meet again over the summer.

So hope to see a few Dubs in Navan on sunday, bring your hats, scarves and if you's want a dry arse bring a towel.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 16/01/2015 14:30:15    1683875

Do ye think Mick Lyons,Gerry McCntee or Liam Harnan would think a game v Dubs is a bit of craic.Meathmen ye are going soft and its showing on the pitch.As Chopper Read used to say - "harden the f*/k up!"

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 16/01/2015 14:51:52    1683883

Well it would be Meaths pretty much second team too

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 16/01/2015 15:07:27    1683889

Missing the point,the game is a bit of extra space from a fans point of view.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 16/01/2015 15:08:44    1683890

cuederocket

Do ye think Mick Lyons,Gerry McCntee or Liam Harnan would think a game v Dubs is a bit of craic.

No but those players went out to win Leinsters and AI's, they won't hold too many O'Byrne cup medals between them.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 16/01/2015 15:47:41    1683905

But those Meathmen didnt lose regularly to Dublin.They didnt have an inferiority complex.Meath fear Dublin now.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 16/01/2015 16:09:15    1683914

Look both sides will field a second string team for the most part, we all know this. But correct me if im wrong wasn't either 09/10 that Meath beat dubs in navan ? Now a few that played that game went onto be on the 5 past cluxton team, it might have shook a few doubts out. So hopefully this Sunday will do the same.
It is nothing more than a run out for a few lads to see how they adapt, but it can help with confidence ahead of a possible meeting between both sides when it matters .

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/01/2015 16:30:38    1683922

Things must be terribly quiet when the Dubs are trying to rise us over an O'Byrne Cup match.........

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 16/01/2015 16:49:13    1683926

Not rising ye richie.Ive tipped ye to win.Think yel want it more.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 16/01/2015 17:27:53    1683933

cuederocket

Maybe because Meath had better players than Dublin at the time? I still don't think Meath fear Dublin,we were a disgrace last season,but I don't think it was because of fear..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 16/01/2015 18:08:17    1683947