Stephen Hiney. A great leader who gave 13 years of terrific service to Dublin

In a week or 2 of some of the highest profile names ever in GAA retiring it would be wrong to ignore a player who wont be considered a great but by jaysus theres not a player who would have worked harder then Stephen Hiney.

13 years serving Dublin through some terrible times and the best times. A great leader. Daly described him as a "warrior, I never met the likes of ye" high praise indeed.

Some seious injuries robbed him of his best years but he kept coming back and plugging away (while winning nothing which is way harder then coming back to a team winning stuff). Down the years he went toe to toe with some serious opponents and more often then not sniffed them out. A savage athlete and intelligent hurler

A legend? Not ouside Dublin though I hope hes recognised as a good player. But within Dublin circles he must be saluted as one of its greatest servants

All the best in retirement to the man simply called HINEY!

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 04/12/2014 13:07:11    1676579

Spans from the darkness to the light!

Warrior!

He'll be missed.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 04/12/2014 14:28:59    1676612

war horse , before there was a cause he was fighting , not the most fashionable and certainly his best years were prior to our recent success , he more than anyone in current squad inspired both fans and younger players alike . tough man good hurler a loss for Dublin hurling I wish him well .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 04/12/2014 14:40:07    1676619

All the best to Stephen played against him underage in football beast of a man.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/12/2014 15:09:06    1676634

Great service to our county.Part of the citys hurling revolution that has finally seen us regularly dining at the top table.From also rans to contenders.Were here to stay.Stephen - you played your part in this transformation.Hang up the boots with your head held high.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 04/12/2014 15:33:59    1676646

Don't really understand these recent announcements & releasing of statements when a player retires.

Its making legends out of lads who in fairness were pretty average Hurlers.

Whatever happened to just ringing your Manager or County Board & then heading off quietly into the sunset?

Dessie13 (Dublin) - Posts: 70 - 04/12/2014 17:14:50    1676679

Dessie,those innocent days you speak of,disappeared with the advent of social media.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 04/12/2014 17:35:36    1676691

cuederocket

1676691 Dessie,those innocent days you speak of,disappeared with the advent of social media.

CHECKMATE

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 04/12/2014 17:49:26    1676698

In the Leinster Final in 2013 I remember Stephen burying one of the Galway lads over the sideline on the Cusack side with a monster shoulder.

It's one of the moments that has stuck with me from that game, the moment that I really started to believe we'd actually finally do it!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 04/12/2014 20:15:15    1676746

First off who changed the title of the thread?

Dessie...You saying Tommy Walsh Brian Hogan and Eoin Kelly aren't legends of the game??

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 04/12/2014 20:34:32    1676748