Dubs fans denied chance of road trip yet again!!

I despair

The culchies had yet another chance to let us Dubs go on a road trip, And they keep us in Croker.

Only got yourselves to blame lads, Remember that as the year goes on.

http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=227181

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 06/11/2014 11:52:35    1670057

Did it go to a vote? Apparently last time it went to a vote the motion to travel was defeated 11-1, yet when it came up in 2006 it passed 11-1. What the hell's happened to change all the culchies minds in the space of 8 years, back handers me thinks.

Ps, anyway it's better off this way, at least now the Dubs can pretend they actually want to travel down the country and we can pretend that Croker is the sole reason for Dublin's domination in Leinster = everybody wins :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 06/11/2014 12:11:54    1670067

Yeah, agreed spineless stuff. Leinster Council reps have a lot to answer for yet again. How they can look at a once great provincial championship and idly watch it die is beyond me. This would be one of the smallest things they could do, there's far bigger issues, but even this tokenism is beyond them, and I include my own county reps in that.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 06/11/2014 12:25:43    1670075

waynoI - I'll arrange a challenge game between our club and Dublin at our pitch up in the Glens pre-Championship so youse can get your road trip. We'll look after you well.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 06/11/2014 12:33:54    1670077

All complaints to the Leinster council please, and not to the Dublin fans on here, thank you!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 06/11/2014 12:41:04    1670081

You would wonder what goes on in these meetings. As Hteam pointed out, the turnaround in the voting is unbelievable. I for one would love to see the reasoning these lads use in coming to this conclusion. They should put it to the people in these counties to have a vote on what way their county will vote. This caper of the same lads going to the same vote every year, all behind closed doors, isn't on. If the people of each county want to go to croke park then fair enough, no problem, but I seriously doubt that every single county in leinster has a majority who want to give their opponents home advantage every year.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 06/11/2014 13:09:42    1670094

I go to all Dublin games all over Ireland wether it's league or O Byrne Cup and I go to all Dublin home games but I won't be going to this game I'm bored of it seeing Dublin hammer some team in a near empty Croke Park with no atmosphere whatsoever . Very disappointed in the other Leinster counties and the Leinster council.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 06/11/2014 13:14:53    1670100

Load of s**te that. Would rather have played Galway in PortLaoise or Tullamore. Me favourite pre match pub will now be packed to the rafters the tickets will cost more and therell be a crowd coming in for the last few minutes of the hurling thatll have ye constantly having to stand up to let them to there seat and then they make stupid remarks about a game they know little or nothing about "go on number 5 whack him with your stick"

All joking aside though its a pain in the hole

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 06/11/2014 13:15:03    1670101

I have seldom, if ever, spoken to a Dub who WANTS to play all of their Leinster championship games at Croke park. The Leinster council have once again failed to grasp that with the Dubs on the road it can only help to reinvigorate the game at county level in a province that is absolutely crying out for it.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 06/11/2014 13:38:21    1670113

Keeping Dublin in CP for a provincial QF. Not letting Galway into the u21 and not letting Kerry into the minor.
A night of shame and greed for the Leinster Council.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 06/11/2014 13:51:04    1670122

Thurles 01, Longford, Clones, some of the best days ever as a Dub
And as for Cork in 83...

Ye do it to ye're selves lads
Ye cant blame us then when we end up sauntering thru Leinster..again....

Let us up to Ulster....be some craic

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 06/11/2014 14:14:04    1670145

Liamwalkinstown
And as for Cork in 83...

Liam, can you tell me what way the Dublin representative voted? If it was to keep Dublin in croke park, then you are in exactly the same situation as everyone form leinster who is commenting here - your representative hasn't represented your views. So this 'you do it to yourself' line isn't really apt.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 06/11/2014 14:31:46    1670154

Liamwalkinstown
And as for Cork in 83...

Liam, can you tell me what way the Dublin representative voted? If it was to keep Dublin in croke park, then you are in exactly the same situation as everyone form leinster who is commenting here - your representative hasn't represented your views. So this 'you do it to yourself' line isn't really apt.

+1, I'm sure the Dublin rep left the meeting with tears rolling down his face, tears of laughter I bet!!!! Oh and Liam you would have some craic in Ulster alright but I am sure you wouldn't be so cock sure about yourselves up there, be careful what you wish for etc etc

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 06/11/2014 14:44:28    1670163

Ok I am going to be honest here.

The financial advantage aside which Dublin supporters would have from not having to travel all over the place during the summer. I love traveling to games and would hate it if Mayo played every single game in MacHale Park. What is the old saying "getting there is half the fun"

From the great craic and sing songs on trips on the special trains to Dublin for the games, weekends in Dublin on the lash before and after the game. Unforgettable trips with Mayo to London and New York. You can't beat it.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 06/11/2014 15:21:43    1670181

No complaints from me on this
Save money on having to buy two tickets for football and hurling, only problem I have is the fact they fixed it for the Sunday of a bank holiday weekend , missed a glorious chance to increase the attendance by not playing it the following day the bank holiday Monday.
Bank Holiday Monday games are huge crowd pullers especially in Dublin, you only have to look at the recent Dublin championship final which was delayed and packed to the rafters due to crowd congestion, the June bank holiday Monday and august bank holiday Monday are glorious opportunities for the Gaa the June one is a perfect launching pad for the provincial championship and the August is a perfect launching pad for the all Ireland series, they need yo utilize them

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/11/2014 15:25:28    1670183

They have to keep the the committee meeting room and jax in the Leinster Council's Offices in Portlaoise plated in gold and bejewelled somehow lads!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 06/11/2014 15:27:07    1670184

I'm with Brian on this. How in the name of jaysus could anyone think that the Dublin footballers playing Offaly or Longford (no offence to either) in Croke Park should be given top billing over Dublin/Galway in hurling?

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 06/11/2014 15:28:47    1670186

I'd love to able to play London and New York away for our Championship games yew_tree, can we swap? :) ha ha

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 06/11/2014 15:29:55    1670187

i dont know who the 1 was that voted no, i have no clue, but if we whip someone by 10+ or 20+ in croker next summer, and their rep voted yes, then they havent a leg to stand on when they call foul

anyone disagree?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 06/11/2014 15:32:36    1670188

Hurlingdub
it makes no GAA sense, but it makes perfect economical sense
I am not sayign its right, just thats how it is

Answer this truthfully, which do you think would bring a bigger crowd. Dubs Offaly Football, Dubs Galway hurling....
answer is the football, and we know it.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 06/11/2014 16:02:38    1670204