Mayo v Galway All Ireland final

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=226797

Yes its happening this Sat in Clonberne at 3:30pm.....ok its an over 40's match but its still an All Ireland title. Galway going for three in a row and Mayo trying to stop them. I know a few Mayo lads on it and a few who won All Ireland's at the grade in the past. Including an incident a few years ago where at the winning Mayo dinner the cup disappeared.....

So no support from the GAA but they are going ahead with it anyway - all the best lads, Stick it to them.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 30/10/2014 10:09:09    1668231

Yew tree
Has every county got a team in this competition ?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/10/2014 10:29:34    1668243

No its only a very small few.. Galway won one game to get here! As stated its not supported by the Gaa. Honestly its a bit of a mickey mouse thing at the moment but i think its something the GAA should look at supporting. Galway going for 3 in a row and have probably played 6 games in total in those three years!! Out of Galways panel i dont think any of them played inter county.There are a few local lads from North Galway playing and some of them didnt play senior club football!!

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 30/10/2014 10:58:31    1668254

An all ireland final with Mayo in it? I might aswell get this out of the way so ; Congrats Galways on winning the All Ireland over 40's title well done.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/10/2014 11:22:01    1668264

Ah give them a break bleclare, they are 40+ and still mad for the game. Fair play to them. Interestingly, the reason those guys are playing today is probably down to the fact that they didn't play senior intercounty.

Clondalkin, have a look at who won it before Galway's recent dominance... Then get some more gaa money to manufacture a team for it yourselves.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 30/10/2014 12:17:35    1668291

Time to split the galway over 40s region into 2.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 30/10/2014 12:20:57    1668293

An all ireland final with Mayo in it? I might aswell get this out of the way so ; Congrats Galways on winning the All Ireland over 40's title well done.

It's not like Mayo minors won an All-Ireland last year, or the U-21s in 2006, or Mayo clubs or Ladies in the past...

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 30/10/2014 12:46:49    1668302

Isn't it an unofficial competition due to insurance difficulties?

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 30/10/2014 12:48:42    1668305

I think your the ones who need to do that The Master cause whatever your doing since '51 ain't working hahaha

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/10/2014 12:58:39    1668315

good galway team, the likes of Mark Kelly,Kevin Walsh,David Cronin,John Wilson,Carl Donlon,Seamus o rainne,Conor mc gauran,Donal o fatharta,Brian Silke,Trevor Burke,Finbarr Tomas all played senior for galway.

jj19 (Galway) - Posts: 448 - 30/10/2014 13:40:46    1668338

I accuse the GAA of ageism, discrimination and xenophobia... over 40's are people too.

HenryHill16 (Dublin) - Posts: 249 - 30/10/2014 13:43:37    1668339

The GAA preaches community for all but if your over 40, then your not allowed play. Insurance would probably cost more. Did anyone over 40 ever play in an intercounty championship game?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 30/10/2014 13:47:42    1668344

Mayo will probably choke.

Turndownforwhat (Galway) - Posts: 53 - 30/10/2014 13:52:06    1668347

jj19

1668338 good galway team, the likes of Mark Kelly,Kevin Walsh,David Cronin,John Wilson,Carl Donlon,Seamus o rainne,Conor mc gauran,Donal o fatharta,Brian Silke,Trevor Burke,Finbarr Tomas all played senior for galway.

jj. Your really scraping the barrel there with these lads. Firstly Kevin would be the only recognisable face, but rumour has it his club are in action this weekend, so he might not even be there, after that Brian silke apart the other guys prob have a few appearences in FBD and one or two league gamees.. Hardly household names around the country.. I am not knocking them at all, but for the media to say both teams are full of inter county greats is laughable.. I know one guy who turned up uninvited to a training session last year and no one had the heart to tell him to go,he is still turning up and he will tog tomorrow..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 30/10/2014 13:54:04    1668348

Billy Fitzpatrick as selector put himself on mayo team back in 1985. must have been close to 40 then

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 30/10/2014 13:57:11    1668350

Miler - I was thinking that myself.

Great to see the usual tiresome comments about Mayo springing up here.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 30/10/2014 14:03:45    1668356

I remember that Miller and Yewtree. I am fairly sure that Fitzpatrick was 40 at the time. I think he kicked a great point too as part of Mayo's comeback in the drawn game.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 30/10/2014 15:23:42    1668393

We have some info on the final here, http://mayoclub51.com/2014-ireland-masters-football-final/

Can't find any info on teams? Anyone here have any idea?

MayoClub51 (Mayo) - Posts: 157 - 30/10/2014 17:34:48    1668446

I think it's a great idea, and it would be something for us all to watch and pass away the off season, coz in fairness there is feck all on telly.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/10/2014 20:50:24    1668506

I think it's a great idea, and it would be something for us all to watch and pass away the off season, coz in fairness there is feck all on telly.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/10/2014 20:50:27    1668507