19/10/2014 16:01:03
wfkerry
County: USA

Mcguinness has said had Donegal played the way they are capable of playing in
the AI final they would have won he needs to wake up and smell the coffee
the reason they didnt perform was Kerry didnt let them Mcguinness should man
up and admit that Kerry beat them at there own game

Kerry were the better team on the day but Donegal were flat. He was gracious after the final and didn't make excuses. I understand the point he is trying to make so not sure what the point of this thread is to be honest.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 19/10/2014 16:13:31    1665162

disagree i think mcguinness is right
donegal didnt perform the way they did against us
had they have reproduced that form they would have beaten kerry
but dublin didnt perform like they did all year when playing donegal
had we have done then donegal wouldnt have been in the final

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/10/2014 16:16:36    1665163

McGuinness said Kerry were the better team on the day and made no excuses, he is merely saying IF Donegal played to their potential they could have won. Everyone could see Donegal did not reach the intensity they showed in the semi final, it was not just down to Kerry. He also suggested Kerry can play better than they showed. I don't see what denial he is showing....

tirchonaill92 (Donegal) - Posts: 156 - 19/10/2014 16:26:30    1665165

Redicilous topic. You obviously heard what you wanted to hear in order to play the victims again. Listen without predugice in future.

BallBearing (USA) - Posts: 72 - 19/10/2014 16:58:35    1665179

Heard him say that they didnt give the performance he hoped for . He made no excuses at all , praised Kerry and added that they can also play better.
Seems a reasonably fair summary.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 504 - 19/10/2014 18:30:50    1665208

Wkerry, you must have little to be at by starting this ridiculous thread............. What exactly did you want him to say

Yous won the AI, go and enjoy man instead of running around looking for the whole country to heap praise on yous........

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 19/10/2014 18:30:54    1665209

this is once again a sign of kerry people showing no grace in victory never mind defeat...donegal did perform poorly...a very honest assessment...this kerry team are a poor enough team and won an all-ireland where the standard was very poor

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 19/10/2014 20:02:38    1665252

Hillarious coming from a mayo tyrone poster anyway re: another poster, we don't need to be praised, we have enough people of distinction and pedigree in our own county to critique or praise ourselves when it is merited.

mlcollins (Kerry) - Posts: 440 - 19/10/2014 21:11:55    1665284

mlcollins

1665284 Hillarious coming from a mayo tyrone poster anyway re: another poster, we don't need to be praised, we have enough people of distinction and pedigree in our own county to critique or praise ourselves when it is merited.

Why is it hilarious coming from a Mayo or Tyrone supporter.
Ye want your belly tickled by other counties, but when its not forcoming the mask slips.
Donegal didnt play to the level as they did against us and that is all McGuiness is saying they underperformed. A blind man can see that , ye just about edged it on the day against a Donegal team who in truth had played their AllIRELAND final in the semi.
As i said before you were ruthless enough to win and that has to be admired .but ye caught the breaks against Mayo and Doneagl so now maybe a bit of humility wouldnt go astray from a few of ye.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 19/10/2014 21:29:27    1665296

Kerry can't win with grace and they can't lose with humility either. It is very hard to like Kerry.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 19/10/2014 21:38:30    1665301

The Dubs were getting a bit like this but the Donegal defeat has reinstalled some reality back into them and their reaction to that loss was the way it should be; they were very disappointed but accepted their defeat well, made no excuses and moved on. I am now even starting to like them again.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 19/10/2014 21:56:21    1665313

Kerry played to a plan designed to confuse and outwit McGuinness, playing JOD in the half forward line was a master stroke.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 20/10/2014 12:31:19    1665421

Donegal had a great year but they just did not produce in the final. Jim accepted defeat with a grace that did not spoil his reputation in any way. His four years with Donegal can be viewed as nothing but a success.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 20/10/2014 13:04:14    1665442

The actual all ireland final only took up a small percentage of the interview. He did acknowledge that kerry were the better team on the day, despite not playing their 100% best. He also said that there was nothing he would change or that he could have done to improve donegals chances in the final. Finally he said that kerry got their tactics spot on on the day. What more is there to say, other than to grovel. I wouldnt think that any manager would start to look at the opposition when assessing why you were beaten on a given day. It always starts with we were rather than they were.

There is a misconception that mcguinness said that if donegal played to their full potential that they would have beaten kerry. This is either misrepresented or misread. His exact words were we might have won the game

Its time for some posters to cop on. This is not how to behave win lose or draw. It is fairly hysterical, and I dont understand where all the bad feeling is suddenly coming from. I can accept all the criticism under the sun about the system and its implications on the game. There is truth in it, and I agree with being worried about the state of the game. But if it is not one thing it seems to be another with certain quarters.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 20/10/2014 13:43:29    1665459

bryanadams

Kerry played to a plan designed to confuse and outwit McGuinness, playing JOD in the half forward line was a master stroke.

Kerry have been excellent tactically all year but this is hilarious. They put him out there because he wasn't getting a sniff inside, hardly a master stroke!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 20/10/2014 14:02:20    1665465

I think you are well off the target Westkerry. Luck contributed a lot on the day as it does quite often. You only have to go back to 2011 and again DUBLIN got a lucky break:: O Sullivan giving away the ball with a careless hand pass ,,, would Dublin have win had they not got that lucky break?? Same applies this year, Durkin's mistake and even better still we gave away a goal inside the first minute which did not happen before during MCGUINNESS time in charge That to me was a big point in the game... I really thought That JIM would have done similar to what he done against DUBLIN and have everybody back behind the 50 meter line for the first 15 minutes or so and soak up all the kerry pressure.
Everybody in Donegal knows we played well below what we can do and even some of the players that night admitted that and that Kerry were not the best team they played in this year's championship. As regards JOD in the half forward line I can't see how it was a master stroke. Donn forget Kerry only got 9 points throughout the game and they are suppose to have a classy forward line. What about 2012 when they had Gooch Donaghy and JOD in the full forward line,, what damage did they do ??? You can say what you like about JMcG system but it is very effective and when carried out to perfection very little can go wrong except to make a mistake as happened four weeks ago.
So Westkerry enjoy your year as champions and be a little more gracious and go back and have a look at what J McG said and try understand it a little better

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 20/10/2014 14:39:24    1665493

The vast majority of Kerry supporters wouldn't engage in this sort of stuff and are genuine in their opinions, I wouldn't tar all Kerry supporters because of the musings of this one

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 20/10/2014 14:50:57    1665503

Kerry's isolation of Paul Geaney inside against Frank McGlynn in the first half was indeed a masterstroke. Fitzmaurice gambled on Donegal focussing much of their energies on stopping Donaghy and O'Donoghue and he knew that Geaney would have a serious advantage over McGlynn in the air. His goal was a crucial score and he could have had another later in that first half which went over the bar.

McGuinness worked wonders with Donegal but their style of football was not good to watch. I read a recent interview with the former Donegal forward Adrian Sweeney with interest. To paraphrase: almost every club team is now playing the same style and he feels it is awful to play in, never mind to watch.

beir_bua (Kildare) - Posts: 746 - 20/10/2014 14:55:39    1665507

Think it may have been Paddy McGrath who started on Paul Geaney (scored 1-1) Donegal were forced to move Frank McGlynn onto Geaney after that and while he held him scoreless it did take away from from their counter attacking axis. It took Donegal 35 mins to draw level/recover mentally after that early concession. Some feel that the turning point was not Durcans poor kick out but his failure a minute earlier to catch and clear a ball dropping into his zone, he elected to punch it sideways resulting in a soft free in for Kerry .. a 4 point turn around within 60 seconds.
Cant help feeling that JMcG would in hindsight or in the event of them forcing a replay have started with Toye, McElhinney and McBrearty .. young light weight forwards made little headways against a robust Kerry defence.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 504 - 20/10/2014 18:21:14    1665601