2015 looks like Kerry v Dublin

Dublin will be back next year with the meanest attack in the game alone with a robust defence (missing this year).

Kerry will be even better considering the age profile and the confidence gained for the youngsters this year. Add to that the fact Cooper and now Tommy Walsh will be back. You think full back lines had trouble keeping tabs on Donaghy? Well now you have DOnaghy, Geaney and Walsh!

I'm putting my neck on the line now and calling it. How are the semi pairings fixed for next year? It was Ulster v Leinster this year so will be it Leinster v Munster or Connaught next year? The Dubs and Kerry to meet in an epic in either the semi or the final.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 01/10/2014 14:47:14    1659027

Leinster v Connaught AIS next year. Think there's going to be some serious Dublin v Kerry clashes next 5 years!

theduke66 (Dublin) - Posts: 334 - 01/10/2014 15:21:00    1659044

So thats you putting your neck on the line is it Jack, predicting a Kerry V Dublin final, quite a call to make, sure you don't want to retract that!!!!!!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 01/10/2014 15:22:51    1659047

Yerra, I'd be lying if I said I wasn't looking forward immensely to see can we defend our hard won title in 2015.

No team is unbeatable and just as I never bought this crap about Dublin dominating and no other team ever winning an All Ireland again, people in Kerry will take talk of us winning 2 or 3 in a row with a healthy pinch of salt.

But, we are the only county to defend our title in the last generation and I suppose we will have as good a chance as any All Ireland football winners since 2007 doing it!

Hopefully in 2015 the Dubs won't do another disappearing act before we get the chance to grapple with them. They've become quite adapt at the old smash and grab victories over Kerry ;)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/10/2014 15:36:30    1659053

i said it coming out of croke park after this years final that the 2015 final will be kerry v dublin its a cert wonder what odds ud get on that? very short id say

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 01/10/2014 16:22:34    1659080

If this year proves anything then you cant assume anything in sport....was this year not meant to be Dublin v Mayo part 2....Kerry were in transition and Donegal were gone backward?????? All four teams I have mentioned will be back next year and you can add Cork, Galway, Armagh, Tyrone to that list who can cause damage plus a few more surprises...

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 01/10/2014 16:37:05    1659091

Tommy Walsh 7 years out of the game next season that's along time away it mightn't come to him as easy as people might think, also the Gooch out for the season with a cruciate and 32 next year so you wouldn't know what level he'll be at, if they both come back as what they were then were all in serious trouble. I reckon a Mayo v Kerry final the Dubs were found out this years to be average.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/10/2014 16:45:35    1659095

The last 6 champions have not made the final in the following year, as the capital only know too well. The Ulster finalists will be favourites on that side of the draw. For now, we'll winter well.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7842 - 01/10/2014 16:48:19    1659096

Dublin are odds on to make the final, Kerry won't make it past the Quarter finals, the best time to beat Kerry is that round as it's their 1st champ game in Croke Park, all depends who they play and if they win Munster or not. Mayo, Donegal, Cork should make Quarters, Tyrone, Armagh, Kildare, Monaghan, Meath and Galway probably battle it out for the other 3 places, Roscommon could be a dark horse for 1 place, can't see Mayo or Galway winning Connacht in 2015 with new managers. 2015 will be a funny year with new bosses, will Jim McGuinness still be in charge of Donegal. I'm also putting my head on the block for final (if McGuinness is still there) Dublin v Donegal with Dublin winning, without McGuinness it's Dublin v Cork, Dublin winning. There will be no challenge from Connacht in 2015 (i hope i'm wrong)

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 01/10/2014 17:13:30    1659108

Kerry played in 2 of the last 4 finals
Donegal played in 2 of the last 3 finals
Mayo played in 2 of the last 3 finals
Dublin played in 2 of the last 4 finals

We are due a Kerry v Dublin final next year so its not going to happen.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 01/10/2014 17:13:48    1659110

Riverboy, we've only lost two Q-finals in the past 13 years since their introduction and only one of them was when we were the reigning champions. Facts don't support your theory there son.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/10/2014 17:38:08    1659117

Far to early to be suggesting Dubs will make final next year.People on saying they were cert for this year.Kerry will make final alright and get the handy route in Munster as usual. Handed this years AI so back to back titles are likely alright.

BallBearing (USA) - Posts: 72 - 01/10/2014 19:34:19    1659145

Handed this year's All Ireland?

Are we already back to the old begrudger's refrain that anytime Kerry win an All Ireland title its by definition been an easy/handy one?? Lets see we beat the Connacht champions in semi, Ulster champions in the final (both two of top four teams of last four years).

Can I ask you what do Kerry have to do to win a 'tough' All Ireland? Go back to sucking on your lemons in the States...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/10/2014 19:45:47    1659150

Ah now,Kermit you know the truth is hard to take alright. You wouldn't be so touchy if you didn't get a soft one this year.Better to win one the proper way and not be getting these oul AI where an error hands ye the title.Sure look ye can take it ye will get a by in Munster again and be back in the hunt and sure you might be able to put things right.

BallBearing (USA) - Posts: 72 - 01/10/2014 20:01:22    1659156

Kerry are on the ulster side of the semi finals. That means, if they get passed cork which is very likely, home fixture this year in killarney), they will be automatically in a quarter final v a back door team. Possible semi finalists will be the winners from ulster/back door. The other side of the draw would look like mayo v dublin in the semi.. unless galway can upset the apple cart next year or roscommon for that mater.

So yes there is a strong possibility that this could happen. But it is not certain. you wouldnt get odds on on it happening. I think that there is a lot of football to be played out before we get to this stage. New faces in, old faces out. Injuries. etc. Good to think about it, it is shortening the winter already.

re kerry's soft all ireland this year. It was the toughest semi final they could have come through. Mayo were ravenous for the title. All right, we did not play our tip top best in the final, but ask any kerry person how hard an all ireland it was for them to win in relation to the last 30 years for instance. I bet it was the hardest, bar 2000 when galway took them to a replay.

Anyway heres to 2015.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 01/10/2014 21:01:18    1659181

Yerra yankie whatever you say boss. No point trying to get into any serious debate with some fella whose only interested in spewing bregrudgery about Kerry.

37 is home with the turf, a nice short winter lies ahead down in the Kingdom and 2015 is shaping up nicely. An Riocht Abu!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/10/2014 21:12:27    1659187

When Kerry win their quarter final matches then there is no stopping them after that, they are in their stride, very rarely do they lose a semi or final for example 2011 defeat to Dublin so the best time to beat Kerry is quarter final stage, you aren't going to meet Kerry in 1st round of qualifiers. In 2013 and 14 Kerry were cruising in 1st half but dropped off the pace in 2nd half in both quarterfinals v Cavan and Galway. If both teams had pushed harder, made changes and tactics then Kerry could have been beaten those days. By the way Kerry lost to Down in quarterfinal in 2010 and Donegal 2012, so since 2010 which is 5 championships Kerry have won 3 out of 5, beating Mayo in 2011 and 14 and Cavan in 2013 so yes my assessment is correct. Since 2000 Kerry have lost only 3 semifinals out of 10, to Meath in 2001, Tyrone in 03 and Dublin in 2013. The time to beat Kerry is Quarter final stage

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 01/10/2014 21:32:53    1659198

Donegalman
Fair play to you and your fellow county men on here, ye tell it as it is and don't get in to the begrudgery like other posters,
And I can only speak for my self but to me that was our toughest final win that I can remember.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/10/2014 21:50:49    1659210

With Big Jim gone from Donegal it will be Dublin v Cork AllIreland Final 2015

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 04/10/2014 20:58:47    1660200

Armagh and Tyrone are coming from the north. Sam Maguire was at Austin Stack Park today for the county quarter-finals before heading off for Listowel! For now we winter well. Ciarraí abú!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7842 - 04/10/2014 21:31:33    1660218