Cody attack on Barry Kelly

I've always admired Cody, but his attack on Barry Kelly was petty and mean-spirited. There is far too much of this nonsense going on now with managers trying to bully referees and Croke Park regarding who gets to ref matches and attempting to influence the way games ar reffed. Drawn game was a class that could have gone either way, was let flow and had very few frees - just as Cody claims he wants. Sometimes it is better not to say anything.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 29/09/2014 11:38:56    1657984

very poor from Cody. think ater just winning another AI he'd have kept any shxt like that in camp. and it was actually a fowl from Hogan. I agree it was a poor decision to allow the free at that stage in the game but it WAS a fowl

GerMan (Limerick) - Posts: 38 - 29/09/2014 11:51:59    1657993

I didn't hear it, so I can't comment on what he said.

I will say this though. Consistency, has become a problem. I'm more of fan of fussy refeeeing than the 'let the game flow' BS. The game flows well enough, once a fussy ref lays down the law. Last years championship was reffed well, and was a splendid spectacle. This years, was a bit patchy, and so was the spectacle. For me, fussy refereeing will lead to faster, more free flowing, open hurling, where the ball does the work. The 'physicality' of hurling is not nearly as pretty as the skills, and I know which onwe I'd prefer to safegaurd.

For all of that, I think I am in a minority. Most people seem to like it when the rules can be ignored if the ref deems it appropriate. This is often referred to as 'common sense.' So if we are to have 'common sense' reffing, could somebody in the GAA tell us as much? That way, we can coach young fellas accordingly, and instruct the refs in our county championships to take a less literal interpretation of the rules.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 29/09/2014 12:01:59    1658001

Sure Hurling doesn't need referees anymore as there doesn't seem to be a rule book being followed. No point in complaining about one isolated decision when there are countless more in the game which could be referenced.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 29/09/2014 12:02:35    1658002

Probably uncalled for but Barry Kelly dosent seem to favour the Cats. The sending off in Thurles last year, that late free in the drawn game, his handling of Eoin Larkin in the drawn game, penaltys outside the box. Kilkeeny have only won one of the last 5 games with Kelly in the middle. What did the people think of Donal Ogs comments on Brian Gavin? Strong words to say he brought his own rules. I Find him a much better ref than Kelly

222 (UK) - Posts: 693 - 29/09/2014 12:23:04    1658018

Culchie, I agree 100% with your last post. The amount of fouls in the replay compared to the free count was unreal. The outcome of so many hurling games now depends on how the referee decides to ref the match. I hear all these lads on about how it "evens out" over the 70 minutes, well how do these lads know that? In last Saturdays game did the referee let Kilkenny or Tipp get away with the most fouls without giving frees? The one that annoys me most ( and players also ) is when a player is fouled, ref does not give a free, he gives advantage but then the player to get free from the man fouling him takes about 10 steps and then plays the ball. This as you mentioned is seen as common sense, well then put common sense into the rules and state that if a player is being held that he is entitled to take 10 steps to get clear of the player fouling him.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 29/09/2014 12:28:21    1658022

serious lack of class by Mr. Cody. no other manager would get away with it.. i found it also disappointing on Saturday that cody spent a good 10 minutes jumping up and down and running around before shaking eamon o sheas hand. That should have been the first thing after the final whistle. and jumping up and down at every decision. He could learn alot from JBM a real gent.

blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 194 - 29/09/2014 12:36:03    1658029

County: UK

1658018 Probably uncalled for but Barry Kelly dosent seem to favour the Cats. The sending off in Thurles last year, that late free in the drawn game, his handling of Eoin Larkin in the drawn game, penaltys outside the box. Kilkeeny have only won one of the last 5 games with Kelly in the middle. What did the people think of Donal Ogs comments on Brian Gavin? Strong words to say he brought his own rules. I Find him a much better ref than Kelly

Very bad form from Cody, Taught kelly done great job in drawn game and agreed with his decison to award tipp free last play of game.Cant blame him for the peno's as he was out the field and correctly seen the fouls consulted his umpires who were alot closer and then awarded the penos not much more he could do.Ref on saturday hardly blew his whistle and game got messy at stages do to lack of order on the game imo.
I think theres a need for black card rule in hurling now as tipp would prob be all ireland champs now if there had been with the cinical fouling the cats did in drawn game

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 29/09/2014 12:42:33    1658031

Isn't it odd - that once "See no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil" Galvin is in charge Kilkenny win! The Sunday game ambivillence to the use of illegal play and especially the spare hand was once again exposed last night. Galvin let the game flow most of the time simply because he didn't see half of what was going on.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 29/09/2014 12:47:21    1658035

I am saddened and dismayed by Coady's comments.

He really has let himself down and in doing so shown his true colours.After all they won the game fair and square so why go back to a game played 3 weeks ago which he didn't lose.

I also do not like his antics on the sideline intimidating officials and displaying a lack of sportsmanship.

This man deserves great credit for what he has achieved and I love Kilkenny hurlers,but I am shocked by this attack on a referee.After all it is an amateur game and not a world war!!!!

Shame on you Mr Coady.You are not a good role model and I hope the GAA authorities are not afraid to take you on for your way over the top comments.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 29/09/2014 12:49:16    1658037

hurlingdub

1657984 I've always admired Cody, but his attack on Barry Kelly was petty and mean-spirited. There is far too much of this nonsense going on now with managers trying to bully referees and Croke Park regarding who gets to ref matches and attempting to influence the way games ar reffed. Drawn game was a class that could have gone either way, was let flow and had very few frees - just as Cody claims he wants. Sometimes it is better not to say anything.

If Cody was trying to influence the way the game was reffed why didn't he say something before the final. He waited until after the season was over, then said his piece. People oftem lambast him for never saying anything interesting or controversial, then when he does, he's lambasted again.

I'm glad someone high profile from the Kilkenny camp (and you don't get much more high profile than Cody) has finally brought Kelly to task on some of the outrageous decisions he's made against Kilkenny in the last 3 years. Bogus last minute free to give Galway a draw in the 2012 final, bogus last minute free to (almost) give Tipp a win in the 2014 final, bogus red card against Shefflin in the 2013 QF (while allowing Cork's Shane O'Neill run amok in the same match). I'm only surprised he's waited this long.

Fair play, Brian.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 29/09/2014 12:50:34    1658040

KK are the most cynical team in the GAA. Look 2 finals and 3 penalties against them with numerous high challenges that went unpunished. Cody is like Alex Ferguson, he tries to intimidate referees who then wouldn't make tough calls against them. Barry Kelly had a good game. KK really are fairly lucky to be All-Ireland champions. Then can thank the GAA for their stance on penalty taking

The_Bull (Cork) - Posts: 248 - 29/09/2014 12:58:29    1658044

Should read Gavin - distracted by the hurley yielding attacker in Kerry!!

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 29/09/2014 13:02:09    1658049

cody putting pressure on refs?! well i never...

the likes of galway get fleeced by refs whenever we play kk

lowballplease (Galway) - Posts: 935 - 29/09/2014 13:09:46    1658058

Mean-spirited and vindictive comments, but with the purpose of intimidating any referee who attempts to apply the rules in a game involving the Cats. What Cody (and many pundits too) appears to want is a free-for-all where the rules are not respected.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 29/09/2014 13:12:36    1658059

The_Bull

1658044 KK are the most cynical team in the GAA. Look 2 finals and 3 penalties against them with numerous high challenges that went unpunished. Cody is like Alex Ferguson, he tries to intimidate referees who then wouldn't make tough calls against them. Barry Kelly had a good game. KK really are fairly lucky to be All-Ireland champions. Then can thank the GAA for their stance on penalty taking

Bull (appropriate name by the way) - anything to say about Richie Power almost getting his ankles broken by Donal O'Grady when straight through on goal in the SF (inexplicably, no yellow card for O'Grady which would have seen him sent off)? Or Power and C Fennelly both dragged back when through on goal with overlapping Kilkenny runners in the second half on Saturday night?

Quick to point out Kilkenny cynicism, not so quick to point it out in our opponents funnily enough. I'll put it down to grief at seeing Cork's favourite team Tipp getting beaten.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 29/09/2014 13:17:39    1658062

Well I will try again to say what I said earlier but for some reason was not allowed to post.

I think Cody has seriously let himself down by saying this. Kilkenny set the bar very high a and are the kingpins of hurling, but their is a rule book and it is almost as though any referee applying the rulebook 100% is wrong, anti hurling and not letting the game flow.

For me, "letting the game flow" is ignoring fouling, holding the hurl, using the spare hand, etc. Kilkenny have every right every winter to come out and tell the rule makers what they think should change, just like any other county. But it is not their game and they too are bound to a rule book also which they have every opportunity to contriubte to.

If Davy Fitz went on such a rant, everybody would be up in arms. Cody should be embarrassed for this. No wonder we have no top hurling referee from Kilkenny - they must not like the rule book either!

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 29/09/2014 14:09:11    1658095

a new low for cody here

his teams play on the edge, tipp couldnt handle that edge or match it and lost on saturday, they talk about losing with dignity maybe winning with some too

cody, harte, horan, mcguinness all media darlings as the paper never refuses ink

UniGaa (National) - Posts: 694 - 29/09/2014 14:18:07    1658105

wheter it was a free or not is one thing
but his choice of words to suggest that the ref cannot allow a team a chance to win the match from a free
at that stage of the game is bizarre!!!
if the ref thinks its a free he has to award it
just because its in the last seconds of an all ireland final
its like cody thinks that there should be some sort of rule that you shouldnt give a free for a team to have a chance of winning.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/09/2014 14:20:32    1658108

I think Kilkenny could feel more aggrieved with the referee the last day. They were fouled more than Tipperary.

Ballydalane points out the KK players being dragged back when they had overlapping players. Dead right and proof in my mind that a black card is needed. Not just needed but enforced.

A couple of other points about Barry Kelly in some of the major decisions. The free he gave to Tipp at the end of the draw was fair. Hogan was burrowing trying to win a free (much like Kieran Joyce did the same before half time in the replay). This was a very good decision. Kilkenny people cannot feel aggrieved in the decision but possibly can in the consistency. We don't see enough frees for this transgression.

Culchie makes the best point IMO: we want to keep the skill in hurling - physicality is secondary.

Kelly was very harsh on Larkin in the first game for one major incident.

Henry Shefflin's red card against Cork last year was possibly a little bit soft. The first yellow was deserved - though as mentioned, a black card would be a fitting punishment. The second yello, Jamie Coughlan bought it by going in low. Henry knows the score though. He was on a yellow and a player of his experience got tricked into it. This is the way hurling has become and he should not really complain.

Shane O'Neill deserved a straight red in that game without a doubt for a wild pull. However he most certainly did not 'run amok'. That is way over the top and makes it sound like he went out to deliberately injure others.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 29/09/2014 14:25:09    1658112