Worried about Kerry dominance?

If you wanted to play them in a traditional game of football they won, but now if you want to reduce the game to a foul ridden defensive shambles, they'll happily get down and dirty with you, and they'll win that game too. The insurance policy for teams with less talent than the kingdom (i,e, pretty much everyone except Dublin) is now redundant.
A senior team with a lot of good young players, a healthy production line, and a good manager.
I get the feeling we'll be sick of the sight of the green and gold in the years to come, and it wont be the green and gold of Donegal.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 27/09/2014 15:43:49    1657464

Subtle, I like it

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 27/09/2014 15:53:58    1657466

Yep, And so you should worry.

Kerry for the 5 in a row, There is just no style of play that will beat them in the next few years.

The Dublin's, Mayo's, And Donegal's of this world will just be making up the numbers unfortunately.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 27/09/2014 16:57:36    1657481

Wayno ya cute Dublin hoor.
I just think that Fitzmaurices decision to get down and dirty (and lets face it, kerry played puke footie the last day) will greatly improve kerrys chances of winning things in the next few years, and it gives me no pleasure to say that by the way.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 27/09/2014 17:05:07    1657483

lol, we'll enjoy the winter. As they said at the beginning of this year - the team that beats the capital will win the All-Ireland. Kerry or the team that got passed us have won 13 of the 15 All-Irelands this century.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7842 - 27/09/2014 17:35:08    1657488

joncarter

If you wanted to play them in a traditional game of football they won, but now if you want to reduce the game to a foul ridden defensive shambles, they'll happily get down and dirty with you, and they'll win that game too. The insurance policy for teams with less talent than the kingdom (i,e, pretty much everyone except Dublin) is now redundant.
A senior team with a lot of good young players, a healthy production line, and a good manager.
I get the feeling we'll be sick of the sight of the green and gold in the years to come, and it wont be the green and gold of Donegal

But do Kerry really have more talent that everybody else? I really don't think so, there is simply no evidence to support that from this season.

Apart from a marginally higher emphasis on kick passing from them, this current Kerry team are no great shakes across the field.

Legend and reality are 2 very different animal's, and I tend to focus on the current team rather than the Legendary Kerry teams that have gone before.

Perhaps you think Kerry are genetically superior? Personally I always feel preparation is the mother of all talent, and nobody has a monopoly on that. If Kerry are better at a certain trait, It is because the practice that trait possibly from a young age until the master it.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 27/09/2014 17:52:26    1657493

That's right and that specific trait is Gaelic football and you're right we have mastered it, much more than your predictions.

mlcollins (Kerry) - Posts: 440 - 27/09/2014 19:57:09    1657544

GaryMc, i spent an entire evening during the week making the same point to fabio8. I dont think this is a particularly good kerry team from an individual standpoint (the thing about everyone except dublin was a bit of a wind up, although historically that was probably true), but they do have a pretty handy young team, they have played a both offensive and defensive football this year, and came out on top (credit to Fitzmaurice), and they are the all Ireland minor champions. and most worryingly, they have a manager who is willing to play to a system that, while not traditional, will bring success (despite what spillane thinks God bless him)
All the ingredients are there and I think there are good times ahead for the Kingdom.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 27/09/2014 20:07:17    1657549

I reckon we'll have something to say about that :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 27/09/2014 20:17:04    1657554

Kerry will likely never go away, I don't understand why some people write them off. Maybe it's wishful thinking.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 27/09/2014 20:36:39    1657561

Tyrone have not gone away either. Be aware of Armagh as well. Both are coming from the north!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7842 - 27/09/2014 20:54:47    1657568

Legendzxix, I'm not sure how I'll ever recover from that :)

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 27/09/2014 21:00:27    1657569

Just back from Croker. The crab claws were delicious, I took the eye outta 3 lads on the Hill and secured 5 new contacts too so a super day out! Oh and well done to whoever won the final too, I missed the last 68 minutes doing deals!

Anyway, this Kerry team are no great shakes (that is no secret down in kerry either so I dont know why the seeming 'mystique' or whatever) and will be beaten next year without issue!
They will come back again in 2016!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 27/09/2014 21:02:16    1657570

Dublin are 5/4 for Sam next year. Enough said....

meath67 (Meath) - Posts: 71 - 28/09/2014 11:20:55    1657628

joncarter

GaryMc, i spent an entire evening during the week making the same point to fabio8. I dont think this is a particularly good kerry team from an individual standpoint (the thing about everyone except dublin was a bit of a wind up, although historically that was probably true), but they do have a pretty handy young team, they have played a both offensive and defensive football this year, and came out on top (credit to Fitzmaurice), and they are the all Ireland minor champions. and most worryingly, they have a manager who is willing to play to a system that, while not traditional, will bring success (despite what spillane thinks God bless him)
All the ingredients are there and I think there are good times ahead for the Kingdom.

Kerry have a decent team, and have consistently been a Top 5 team for 15 or 16 years at least. That kinda tells you that football is strong in Kerry, and they will always be in the mix come August/September.

Eamon Fitz adapted their style and setup to combat a very efficient Donegal team, and on this occasion it worked. But I would consider Kerry extremely fortunate to be this years All Ireland Champions, as it was far from a convincing performance. And most definitely a far from convincing tactical masterclass, with the first goal being probably the only stand out tactical ploy.

Ulster will provide a number of tough outfits next season, with the likes of Armagh, Tyrone, Monaghan and Derry all looking to step up and overthrow Donegal. And it will be a Munster/Ulster on one side of the All Ireland series next season, so Kerry mental resolve for defensive football will be really put to the test.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 28/09/2014 13:57:48    1657668

Kerry's battles with the Ulster Region ebbs and flows like any good rivalry. 7 of Kerry's last 7 All-Irelands required beating an Ulster team along the way. 4 of the last 7 All-Irelands required beating the Ulster champion along the way. When Kerry beat Mayo in Limerick, it was written in the stars that Kerry would come up against an Ulster opponent in the final and that Donegal would win their semi-final the following day. Any good team raises their game against the champions. It's probably the reason we have not seen many champions even make a final the following year. The capital can vouch for that. It's been said Ulster All-Ireland champions have only been beaten the following year. Well the same applies for any All-Ireland champion regardless of province. Our Senior Football Championship resumes next weekend with a double header in Tralee on Saturday and Killarney on Sunday. We'll winter well in the Kingdom. Ciarrai abu!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7842 - 28/09/2014 14:21:04    1657675

this kerry team may go on to prove they are very strong who knows really

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 28/09/2014 15:15:04    1657683

GaryMc,

It's obvious you don't rate us, that's grand we won't loose any sleep over it.
You extected us to loose the final. You were wrong.
Like your fellow countyman Brolly, it's hard to praise a team that beat the System!

Gooch and Tommy Walsh and a raft of young lads with
all Irelands, a minor team that won along with a hogan
cup, Yeah Gerrymc we are in a bad place alright.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 28/09/2014 17:08:56    1657718

westkerry

1657718 GaryMc,

It's obvious you don't rate us, that's grand we won't loose any sleep over it.
You extected us to loose the final. You were wrong.
Like your fellow countyman Brolly, it's hard to praise a team that beat the System!Gooch and Tommy Walsh and a raft of young lads with
all Irelands, a minor team that won along with a hogan
cup, Yeah Gerrymc we are in a bad place alright.

I think its more a case of the system won out in the end. Fair play and congratulations on your victory, winning is all that matters .

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 28/09/2014 17:48:27    1657736

Surely a Derry man will be more interested in how his county might transfer league form into championship? What's the state of play with ye're county championship? Worry not of Kerry for we will winter well! ;)

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7842 - 28/09/2014 19:02:14    1657764