Gaelic football in serious trouble

I'm really worried about our game cause as I've said before people are just going to copy the puke football that McGuinness has started especially when playing Donegal cause it's the only way to beat them. It's not sour grapes anyone can see our game is in serious trouble and something has to be done.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 21/09/2014 18:10:29    1654571

The only good thing is that Kerry proved that you can adapt and use it and with better footballers you'll still win a game of football. Systems are all very well but it was human error that cost Donegal, this type of game thrives on forcing errors, its negative and horrible to watch. But maybe the better teams with better players can adapt and vary the different styles and systems. Even at Juvenile level they are at it and if you watch the Ladies football final you'll see everyoen is employing it.

But the hope is always the team with better players win.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 21/09/2014 18:24:22    1654589

England won World Cup in 1966 playing a revolutionary 4--3-3 defensive system. Alf Ramsey was hailed as a tactical genius. Don Revie did the same with Leeds Utd in 1970's. However since then the English game has declined.
My point is, defensive team games destroy individual creativity. Looking forward to watching Gooch, james O' donoghue, Connolly and Brogan etc next year, and not blanket defences.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 21/09/2014 18:26:25    1654591

Good, get the hurls out. Poetry in motion!

martinprince (Tyrone) - Posts: 187 - 21/09/2014 18:34:49    1654603

Agreed. The nordies are destroying the game. The puke is as infectius as ebola

foreverroyal (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 21/09/2014 18:37:25    1654607

there's a reason why I go to the hurling final every year over the football and its because I cant remember the last decent football final. 2011 was alright but still not a patch on this or last years hurling finals. No matter what tactics hurling managers use it generally doesn't effect the fantastic skills the game has to offer. Of course there are still poor games and there have been a few disappointing finals down the years but this year even the thought of the hurling final in the build up gave me an adrenaline rush and it didn't disappoint. The football just didn't get me interested in the build up but I watched it on the off chance both teams might go for it and im sorry I did, nobody out there today wanted to seize the initiative or be the hero, the game was won fittingly by an error, one of many in the game. Gaelic football has a problem and im not just talking blanket defence teams. I have no interest in watching Dublin practice their shooting against smaller counties and contests effectively over before half time. In hurling seven or eight point leads at half time are not fatal because of the pace of the game but in modern football the second half is about going through the motions and keeping it respectable. I hope hurling gets more investment because football is starting to look like a lost cause

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 21/09/2014 18:44:19    1654619

Gaelic football rip.

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 21/09/2014 18:53:07    1654637

maybe you will see gavan duffy line out for mayo after all

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 21/09/2014 18:58:24    1654643

After both semi finals, we were saying how great the game was. One game later, we are saying it is now dead?

I am not sure how it is in other counties, but the club football I see is a totally different sport. It is refereed differently, completely different tactics.

At intercounty level, we mess with rules during the league and the first few rounds of the championship. When it comes to the All-Ireland finals from August onward, we watch a new sport take over.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 21/09/2014 19:19:47    1654676

The game is in serious trouble? Shhh, better to keep the heads buried in the sand, kick the can down the road and say nothing ;) Sure we've been playing the game without a defined tackle and inconsistent refereeing for years now.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 21/09/2014 19:43:13    1654728

Yeh it is in such serious trouble that 82500 people turned up today, millions in Ireland, Britain and around the world watched and there are countless threads on countless websites discussing it. Get real and dry yer eyes; different sports have different styles and Gaelic football is no different. Take off the doom and gloom glasses.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 21/09/2014 19:44:54    1654732

Both teams should hang there heads in shame. It will definitely go down as the worst All Ireland ever. Thank God for Hurling.

rebeltrev (Cork) - Posts: 344 - 21/09/2014 19:55:42    1654749

foreverroyal

Agreed. The nordies are destroying the game. The puke is as infectius as ebola

Agreed. Let's all play football the Meath way........or maybe not.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 21/09/2014 19:59:44    1654759

Benny Hard to argue with your points. If club football was to be played like today, then its a dead duck. Players and supporters would soon loose interest

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 21/09/2014 20:01:27    1654761

Today's game was a very poor advertisement for the game as a whole. Yes the semi finals were somewhat better, but today was not about style! It was definitely about winning - at any cost - and as a result was poor fare.
Everything weather wise was perfect - the pitch , the weather, all the ingredients were there but the tactics both on the ball and off the ball were ot conducive to a good spectator's day out.
Donegal were poor and Kerry won midfield and apart from about 3 good solid scores the game lacked the class the day deserved.
No forward really stood out and overall it was disappointing.
Fair play to Kerry who were just a little better than their opposition.
An All Ireland to forget for me.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 21/09/2014 20:05:05    1654770

Todays game was better than the 04,06,07 finals and equal with the 2009 final in terms of entertainment.

The truth is in football finals are rarely very good because there is so much at stake and players are nervous and it ends up in mistakes and conservative tactics.Last years final wasn't great despite 2 of the country's best attacking teams playing in the final.In alot of sports finals don't tend to be great games.Just look at the champions league a large amount of the finals in the last ten years have been poor games because of there being so much at stake and teams not wanting to risk losing the biggest match of the year.

However overall football is in good shape the league was brilliant this year and when we got evenly matched teams playing each other in the championship the games were good (the 3 semi finals were excellent games) the structure of the championship is a bigger issue than any rule changes.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 21/09/2014 20:09:20    1654777

Ye would want to have heard Jack O'Shea on radio 1 a short while ago. He said the way the game was played today is not the game he wants to see and he said there should be a rule introduced to outlaw short kick outs..that a kick out has to travel a certain distance or else it's penalised (on the basis that the short kick out eliminates high fielding, one of the best skills in the game). When one of the best players of all time is finding gaelic football hard to watch sometimes, you know the game is in trouble. It's a game that lost me a long time ago
..would only watch it on the telly nowadays, and only when it comes to All Ire semi final stage. As for the argument that the full house today proves gaelic football is in a healthy state, it doesnt hold water in my opinion.When a county reaches an All Ireland final, every event junky in that county wants to be there...but the event junkies wont be there for the first round championship game and they probably wont look at a game again until their county reaches the final again. And for sure, games like today will do nothing to encourage them to become more regular supporters of the game

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 21/09/2014 20:29:58    1654816

I'm already looking forward to next years final between Dublin and Kerry.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 21/09/2014 20:49:10    1654854

I'm really worried about our game cause as I've said before people are just going to copy the puke football that McGuinness has started especially when playing Donegal cause it's the only way to beat them. It's not sour grapes anyone can see our game is in serious trouble and something has to be done.

Clondalkin,
You are no more worried about "our game" than I am. The game is just fine & I have a feeling that the only thing you are worried about is how Dublin are going to cope with this Kerry team who have still got players to come back.

Fitzmaurice is a superb tactician & if JMcG was able to figure Dublin out easily then imagine what Fitz will do with a truckload of Kerry players.

You have every right to be worried.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 21/09/2014 20:52:14    1654859

Get over it lads, an AI title is an AI title, they have something in the region of 268 at this stage, good luck to them :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 21/09/2014 21:07:05    1654880