Jim McGuinness - I salute you

Ok so I took it bad! Very bad! I was hurting...still am!
Never saw it coming and with my comments gave ye all a stick to beat me with :)
And ye did!!

Its been over a week now. It has sunk in and the desperate disappointment has dissipated (try saying that after a few blue moons!)

I listened to Jimmy McG on OTB last night and I have to say....what a man. What a genius, what a seemingly humble, genuine leader of men.

He outhought us. His tactical acumen is up there with the like of Heffo, and thats a massive compliment. See Micko had a panel of brilliant footballers, he didnt have to mould them, he just had to guide them. Heffo had a panel of some outstanding footballers, but also some lads who he saw were perfect for a particular role and he moulded them. Jimmy is similar. His use of the the McGee's, the McHughs and Michael Murphy.

Look, i was bitter, i was sour. I am not anymore. I am full of respect and appreciation for a great manager and a great team.
Well done Donegal.
Well done Jimmy

Your winning matches again.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 10/09/2014 08:52:34    1650401

What Jim has done for Donegal has been epic. He inherited a shambles and what he has achieved has been incredible. It's also unthinkable that he was turned down for the manager's position several times by the board.

What I don't understand at all is the vitriol that he sometimes get.

I may be biased but I see a really well spoken, passionate, intelligent guy. It's true he might use a bit of mind games now and again but that's part and parcel of the game … sure didn't we see it with Cork Mayo this year.

Donegal's style of play may not be to everyone's taste but I guarantee you that any supporter in the country, if in Donegal's position, would rejoice in it. I do find it a bit of a shame he does get unwarranted abuse sometime.

ayeboy_wan (Donegal) - Posts: 25 - 10/09/2014 09:41:36    1650418

Dublin fans were all gracious after defeat . I salute you Liam !

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 10/09/2014 10:03:50    1650430

Fair play Liam although I did try to warn you :P Pride before a fall and all that! :P

No matter what the result Sunday week Jimmy has his place secured as an all time legend in Donegal. I hope and pray that we can land the big one again as it would prove beyond doubt the man's extraordinary capabilities, especially when you consider how much this team was written off after last year. People mocked and discredited the 2012 win as a once off, and sneered at the valid reasons offered by the Donegal camp as to the drop in fortunes in 2013. All we can say is a huge thank you and well done!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9133 - 10/09/2014 10:52:25    1650452

If Donegal win it, will Jim have overtaken Mickey Harte and joined the Micko Heffo Boylan club of all time managers?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 10/09/2014 11:03:30    1650461

Well Liam some people have short memories and forget very quickly the effort and time that' managers and players put in in order to achieve the success that is capped in September.
I suppose its human nature really.JmG has done fine work indeed.
I would suggest a somewhat underestimated achievement similarly happened when you consider where Dublin were when Pat Gilroy took over.
He too brought about a complete change considering what had happened up to that point.

From a Donegal point of view and I don't wish to sound negative here but the real value of JmG like all top managers will only be seen once he leaves his post.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 10/09/2014 11:24:15    1650475

Jim McG showed a master class in the semi.

Our Jim has a lot to learn...

To see what Jim McG has done for Donegal is amazing.
Yes, the puke in 2011 was brutal but he has tweaked it immeasurably and look at the results.

Last year Donegal players were physically shattered but have come back this year refreshed.

I alluded to it after the League 2 Final that maybe their performance then v Monaghan was due to heavy training at that time and this proved to be the case.

Fair play to Donegal and Jim McG.

Hope they go on and finish the job now.

If they do, Jim McG can be rated up there with the greats imo, and the Donegal lads will be forever legendary.

Well done to them - but the job is only half done.
Kerry waiting in the long grass in a couple of weeks to try to bring them back down to earth.

Intriguing viewing in store..

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 10/09/2014 11:27:49    1650480

Are Dublin Donegal Kerry the new Tyrone Armagh Kerry Triad of power ?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 10/09/2014 12:06:44    1650506

Nice post, and it was really good to see the amount of dublin support who stayed on to full time. Many other counties including our own on a bad day would have split and tried to beat the traffic!

Yes we are very lucky indeed to have him. I think that he would be the first to give credit to the players around him, but having said that, they didnt achieve that much before his arrival.

In terms of all time great managers, I would point out that he has only won 1 all ireland, so it is a wee bit premature to put him in the category of all time greats. Still, even if we leave on sunday week without winning, there is no doubt that the players will have given it their best shot.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 10/09/2014 12:13:41    1650511

Liamwalkinstown

1650506 Are Dublin Donegal Kerry the new Tyrone Armagh Kerry Triad of power ? [/I]

Possibly. In my opinion they are not equals though. Dublin are a much better than both in that they are equipped to win a lot more. Much like Clare picked up the scraps from Kilkenny's hiatus last year, Kerry and Donegal have a chance this year. I would not see Kerry or Donegal winning 4 in a row, I could easily see Dublin doing it. Things could change, but Dublin are well ahead of the chasing pack at underage as well (ok so Donegal and Kerry also compete in the minor final but again, given their recent past, this bucking the trend).

Donegal were a shambles in 2010 and have become extremely well organised since and are hard to beat. Other counties have the potential to reach their level - the likes of Roscommon, Cavan etc. They may pick up an All-Ireland.

Kerry will always produce talented footballers and have lots of resources. They will always believe, despite the cute hoorism, that they are the best.

It is hard for anybody to match what Dublin have though - the believe, the organisation, the talent, they have put massive effort into developing their underage...

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 10/09/2014 12:23:50    1650518

Nice post, and it was really good to see the amount of dublin support who stayed on to full time. Many other counties including our own on a bad day would have split and tried to beat the traffic!

Anyone who left should be ashamed at any time, But this team have been brilliant in recent years, And they havent gone anywhere, They will be back. They owe us nothing however for the work they put in, Thankfully the vast majority know that and stayed to clap our lads off the pitch.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 10/09/2014 12:26:46    1650521

Its unbelieveable what Jimmy has done. Anyone who saw Donegal lose to Armagh in Crossmaglen in 2010 could not have seen what would happen next. 3 Ulster titles and 1 All-Ireland delivered to a county who last won both in 1992, defeats of all the major players Tyrone, Kerry, Cork, Monaghan, Derry, Mayo and Dublin and in time he should be included in the same ranks as Heffo, O'Dywer, Boylan, Harte etc.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 10/09/2014 13:16:21    1650551

Yes well said Liam

Great manager in charge of an excellent team

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 10/09/2014 13:28:25    1650559

In a word Genius...the dubs tactical awareness that day...Naieve and most surprisingly the Dubs kept it up all day.Kerry will have more tactical nous ..will it be enough....it will be fascinating to watch.

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 10/09/2014 13:43:13    1650573

bennybunny

Liamwalkinstown

1650506 Are Dublin Donegal Kerry the new Tyrone Armagh Kerry Triad of power ? [/I]

Possibly. In my opinion they are not equals though. Dublin are a much better than both in that they are equipped to win a lot more. Much like Clare picked up the scraps from Kilkenny's hiatus last year, Kerry and Donegal have a chance this year. I would not see Kerry or Donegal winning 4 in a row, I could easily see Dublin doing it. Things could change, but Dublin are well ahead of the chasing pack at underage as well (ok so Donegal and Kerry also compete in the minor final but again, given their recent past, this bucking the trend).

Donegal were a shambles in 2010 and have become extremely well organised since and are hard to beat. Other counties have the potential to reach their level - the likes of Roscommon, Cavan etc. They may pick up an All-Ireland.

Zero chance.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 10/09/2014 14:02:33    1650580

the likes of roscommon and cavan have very little chance to break through..both are quite small counties and most of cavans youngsters are in their prime now and have not really pushed on...cavan seem to have a lot of good underage teams but they dont seem to push on after that like say a good dublin u21 team would

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 10/09/2014 14:02:48    1650582

Zero chance.

Agreed completely. More chance of the earth caving in in fairness.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 10/09/2014 14:13:06    1650594

Wow didn't see the Cavan-bashing coming in this thread.

Get over yourselves lads. We've had a couple of years u-21 success and some of you seem to think we should be competing for/winning all-irelands already.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12118 - 10/09/2014 14:15:20    1650596

im not bashing cavan at all just i dont agree with the idea that roscommon and cavan are going to be competing for all irelands is all..cavan are doing a brilliant job underage at present and fair play to them...other counties should take note of what a smaller county can do if its managed correctly

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 10/09/2014 14:17:26    1650600

It wasnt me Breff!! :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 10/09/2014 14:18:20    1650602