The Hypocrisy of the GAA Fan

Pre Dublin Donegal we had every culchie this side of Dingle saying Dublin should be split in 2, that it was going beyond the joke and it was an unfair playing field etc etc etc, Split Dublin in 2, take them out of Croker etc etc etc
It was all Non Dubs saying it, every single Dub here poo pooed the idea

Now here we are in the aftermath of last Sunday, and all of a sudden all the same lads taking great delight in our "demise" are pointing to our arrogance at the idea of splitting in Dublin in 2....when it was ye're idea in the first place!!

Only in the GAA!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 02/09/2014 15:05:52    1646894

Two questions.

Who is saying this is a 'demise'?

Who is now saying they shouldn't be split in two?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 02/09/2014 15:14:57    1646903

The culchies dont know what they want

Born and bred whingers

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 02/09/2014 15:15:40    1646906

Spot on Liam, I think most were bleating on as an excuse for losing. Especially the Meath lads

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 02/09/2014 15:25:44    1646919

The poor Dubs. You'd nearly feel sorry for them.

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 02/09/2014 15:34:25    1646927

The Dublin spilt in 2 debate was one of the most laughable ideas in the Gaa. Not every culchie said it thank you very much. Dublin are not in demise either, but they certainly aren't one of the greatest teams of all time as some people said. Things are fine the way they are.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 02/09/2014 15:47:50    1646945

I never advocated splitting Dublin in two and I'll go on record to state now that I think such is a stupid idea. I have however questioned the continuing use of Croke Park for Dublin footballers, particularly for league matches, and see no reason why Dublin's home league games and Leinster quarter final can't be played outside of Croke Park. The financial issues have been flogged to death, I agree with some and disagree with others, my views are there for all to be seen on other threads. But just because Dublin have lost they'd first championship match in 2 years doesnt mean that all validly raised issues should be brushed away, it'll take more than one defeat to knock Dublin off their lofty perch overlooking the great unwashed below

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 02/09/2014 15:48:38    1646946

First time I had heard of splitting Dublin was from Tommy Lyons, ex Dublin manager. For the record, I've always thought it a daft idea. Would have no problems with Dublin entering 2 teams an A-Team and a B-Team, once the Dublin CB and clubs were on board with the idea. With the player population within Dublin, I don't think you'd have much trouble getting 2 squads together.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 02/09/2014 15:51:25    1646949

Ah... poor Liam... LOL

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 02/09/2014 15:53:04    1646951

Down with this sort of thing !! :)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 02/09/2014 15:53:56    1646953

H'mm the "demise" of Da dubs. And this after the comments like
"Ah sure - We'll beat the pick of the 3 teams left in the All Ireland" prior to the semi finals.

Hypocricy indeed - Lol

MaigheoAbu (Mayo) - Posts: 343 - 02/09/2014 15:56:43    1646957

I don't 100% agree with this thread. Don't get me wrong the concept of splitting a team in 2 is mental and was started by outsiders

but

In the lead up to the match several dubs on this forum suggested the only team that could touch Dublin is Dublins B team. Now that WAS from Dubs. WUMing it may have been but silly comments in my eyes.

Now splitting counties makes no sense but even after the game I am still on for spreading the finances around a bit more. Dublin have done great work with the Money they have been given and many people are correct about other counties blowing the money but then maybe Someone should be put in place to overlook the whole thing. Look at club facilities around every county and put the money in where necessary. I know its hard to accept especially after losing at the weekend but Dublin are ahead of most.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 02/09/2014 16:01:58    1646965

but they certainly aren't one of the greatest teams of all time as some people said.

Not yet anyway!!

Capable of being a great side, But for now, Just a very good one.

Lets see in the next 4 or 5 years wether we are a great side though.

We may turn out to be, We may not. Time will tell.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 02/09/2014 16:02:36    1646967

Miler

The poor Dubs. You'd nearly feel sorry for them
Fair play. You've a sense of humour anyway. That should be over on Masters daft quotes thread.
Sitting here wondering to myself when are we going to see the first A-list celeb been tricked into holding up a "Mayo 4 Sam 2015" banner, flag, scapula 

A.

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 02/09/2014 16:02:38    1646968

way to misread my OP Flaker!!!
I didnt say ALL non dubs said it, i said everyone who said it, was a non Dub
Gate Keeper, what u on about my friend?
I have already given Donegal all the credit in the world and 100% hold my hands up that i was wrong and Donegal were far and away the better team

i tell you what tho lads, who here is brave enough to say Dublin wont win another Sam in the next few years? :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 02/09/2014 16:20:30    1646983

Shut up Liam.

Book of Ecclesciates:

"A time to get, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to cast away."

And a time to keep your mouth shut.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 02/09/2014 16:28:33    1646986

flack

Spot on Liam, I think most were bleating on as an excuse for losing. Especially the Meath lads

Not sure who you were talking to but I always thought splitting Dublin in two was a silly idea, and the reason we lost to you's this year was partly because you's have a better team and also because our players mentally collapsed right from the throw in, no excuses or complaints here.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 02/09/2014 16:32:48    1646990

Give it up guys. We were beaten, that's it. Just suck it up.

rcarragh (Dublin) - Posts: 305 - 02/09/2014 16:45:05    1647005

Jeez, another sore loser thread, look, the dubs on here were hyping Dublin as the greatest team in the history of Gaelic football, Michael Murphy wasn't good enough to make the Dublin team but he could fight for his place on the bench, the five in a row was in the bag etc, and what happened, the boys from Donegal burst your bubble. That's sport, get over it.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 02/09/2014 16:47:40    1647011

Them grapes sure taste sour...

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 273 - 02/09/2014 16:51:16    1647016