Why the Double Standards?

Following on from Naysayers post on the tactics employed by Kerry topic and the specific time references to check out it got me thinking. We are 43 odd hours after the Kerry/Mayo match and there has been little said about the couple of brawls and what went on at the end of the game either in the media or on here. In the immediate aftermath of the Cavan/Armagh brawl this place was full of people with opinions on how disgraceful the whole thing was and the media were over it like a rash - jaysus, Joe Duffy was probably rang out. Yet there has not been the same topics started this time and people calling for blood. Here are a few of my favourite choice comments from the brawl between Armagh/Cavan:

It was all Pat Spillanes fault as well. I am not sure exactly how yet, a few posters will be along shortly to explain fully, but it was definitely Spillanes fault. To be serious, the pictures of young lads from the band standing around watching players brawling is a very poor image for the game. Lets hope both counties are fully dealt with.

Just leaving Dublin. Can anyone confirm or deny that there was a huge brawl at Armagh v Cavan match during parade? .......If there is a shred of truth to this I hope CCC takes serious action.

Both teams should be thrown out of the championship. Imagine if this farce had been televised?

There was a similar brawl just after the penalty save in the cork Waterford hurling game, but this has attracted no media attention. One standard for football, and a different one for hurling?

I think it's mostly the Ulster muppets saying it was only handbags. They are well use to seeing nothing but pushing and pulling during the game so why not let the lads at it during the parade too.

Yesterdays scenes were a disgrace to the Association & do massive PR damage to our games... Real men can control themselves & their discipline & do their talking on the field.... Take decisive action now & ban those involved & set some example.

Dunne should call the police and press assault charges. This is total bulls**t and completely unacceptable but if it is just left to the GAA to deal with, it will be swept under the carpet as usual.

So punches are bad and choking and giving headlocks are ok then? Yes if GAA don't suspend several people involved then they are a joke.

If stuff like that is acceptable....then this sport is fit for the dogs

As for not a word about this if it was between Cork/Kerry or Dublin. Time to get a grip there has been plenty of furore about Paul galvin/Kerry in the past etc
I openly admit if this was kerry involved in crap like this they would get pillored within kerry and rightly so

And after the suspensions were handed down:

Proper stance taken by the GAA here. I hope you lot have learnt your lessons.

Personally I think its a disgrace that they have got so little suspensions....

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 01/09/2014 13:38:50    1645983

I wish i could answer your question,But i cant.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 01/09/2014 13:42:42    1645987

Agree, there should not be double standards here, Kerry were as cynical as anything I've seen before and once they new the ref was'nt going to control it, it just got worse.
Donegal were fairly cynical in 2012 but they have moved on and the black card in my opinion is a good deterrent when used as is the rules and the ref is key to making a game flow by making it clear who's in charge. After watching the game on saturday I thought why should I bother watching this rubbish. However yesterday was everything that is great about the game. Well done to both teams and the Ref who did a great Job and handled the occasion professionally.

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 01/09/2014 13:56:50    1645997

Hey Offside Rule, I absolutely see your point.
To play devils advocate id imagine it was how the armagh/cavan incident looked and when it took place.

Sometimes in gaelic football its anything goes for 70 mins with the ref trying to hold on desperately.
its 15 men on each side who in theory are capable of defending themselves.

The armagh/cavan incident happened BEFORE the match, during the march and near to kids in the band.

However, keep in mind Gaelic football commentators are a fickle publicity seeking bunch (doesnt matter if what they say is good or bad for the sport, or even true). Sorry, but bad mouthing ulster is in right now.
I wouldnt take it personally.

HenryHill16 (Dublin) - Posts: 249 - 01/09/2014 14:15:28    1646016

Jesus H. Christ, in Cavan game a load of Armagh lads started a stupid fight before the match about nothing and were kicking a Cavan players head on the ground. And you're trying to say that a bit of pulling and dragging at end of match in Limerick was as bad? How? What punches were thrown, what heads were being kicked in or legs broken?? Tensions simmered over and frustrations got better of some players and we had a bit of a argy-bargy, nothing more than I've seen in every second championship game for last 20 years.

Did the Kerry lads have a plan to start a brawl to ensure clock ticked down (which people on here seem to think). I'd love to know how some people on here obviously have close contacts within Kerry dressing room to confirm this was true. They are certainly posting as if its Gospel.

Where Kerry the only side on the pitch and fighting amongst themselves? A Kerry lad was slow coming off the ball and Mayo lads pilled in, one fella ran half lenght of pitch to put in a shoulder charge. So again, how is this Kerry solely starting a brawl. Yes, like any other player in that situation, the Kerry lad wanted to slow down Mayo's ability to kick the free quickly. Does that justify Mayo players piling in? What about Mayo backroom members getting involved, I didn't see any Kerry backroom members wadding in. Why are ye singling out Kerry in all this when Mayo were at it and doing probably more??

Cut the Bullsh**te lads. I don't know if media have bias against Ulster in situations like this. Perhaps they do, but don't go claiming that Kerry indulged in stuff we saw from Armagh last June.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/09/2014 14:18:26    1646023

Offside_Rule

Just talking with a pal of mine from Dundalk. He's bemused at the treatment of the Mayo supporter who tried to get onto the pitch to "have a word" with Cormac Reilly when contrasted with the views expressed at the time about Louth supporters who wanted to have a word with M Sludden after Lenister Final a few years ago. A point well made.

A

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 01/09/2014 14:22:39    1646031

Exactly the point and at the risk of stating another Hurling v Football debate can I say that when the entertainment is great as it was with this particular football match then the negative, cynical stuff tends to get forgotten about. If every football match was as good as this then the discussion would tend to focus on the positives rather than the negatives.

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 693 - 01/09/2014 14:23:38    1646033

I don't take it personally HenryHill and enjoy the banter to be honest. I am not getting at the teams or players for what went on as we all have our own opinions on the rights and wrongs of such scenes or what place they have - also my opinion of yesterday would be similar to what it was after the brawl in the Armagh/Cavan match i.e. handbags though there were potentially one or two more serious incidents within yesterdays which have been pointed out with specific times for people who want to make up their own mind.

However, people might maybe understand why we have the Ulster Siege Mentality up here when we see how public/media opinion depends on who you are on more to the point where you are from. When there is a lack of fairness or balance on a constant basis then there is perhaps a more ingrained bad feeling towards the people of the North and Ulster than a lot of people maybe even realise themselves. I am not just basing this on the brawls by the way as I lived for 7 years down in Dublin so had many many experiences or comments thrown which although didn't really bother me did leave me scratching my head as to the Psyche of a lot of people.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 01/09/2014 14:31:25    1646041

It was 6 of 1 and half a dozen of the other Hermit. Both sides were hitting hard in a great contest. Two very tired sets of players involved in handbags at dusk, nothing more. Absolutely ye were right to slow us down taking the free. In yoer position we'd have tried the same, any team with savvy would.If we had taken a few chances better the free would not have made a bit of difference. People on about the referee having a poor game is just more beal bocht stuff and it's embarrasing. Better team won, took yer scores at the crucial moments.Good luck to Kerry in the final.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 01/09/2014 14:32:24    1646043

TheHermit - you might want to get down off that throne and have a wee look at the incidents that there were times given for and then come back and give me that last line of yours again. ;-)

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 01/09/2014 14:33:51    1646046

A number of reasons. First off, the Armagh-Cavan thing seemed contrived while the Mayo-Kerry one didn't. That is obviously a big difference there. Secondly, Donegal-Dublin was on the next day, and unexpectedly, the dubs took a right old tonking. People are now focusing on that.

Frankly, the above is obvious, and pretty reasonable, to be looking for some conspiracy says more about your own opinions than anyone else's.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 01/09/2014 14:34:40    1646047

i would say due to the ulster bias in general and also there was a lot more going on this weekend with 2 semi finals and the dubs being beaten..that was early on in the championship where people are stuck for talking points..there is no doubt though that if tyrone had been involved on saturday there would be uproar

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 01/09/2014 14:47:02    1646060

Exactly Green and Red, what you saw at the end, while not welcome, was at least understandable from both teams. Kerry trying not to let a lead slip by frustrating Mayo a little and Mayo players, being frustrated that game was beyond them reacting. Jesus its only the equivalent of what happens up in the stands sometimes. Ever now and then in the heat of the moment you might tell a rival supporter where to go but at the end the handshakes go around and you apologise for being a bit of a fool!

But people on this forum seem to be singling out Kerry in particular for orchestrating it, again that's to do with their own biases. As was said Armagh/Cavan a stupid contrived fight to make a statement; Kerry/Mayo a few people letting frustration get the better of them with no serious incidents.

Can honestly look at images of Cavan fight and say that what happened in Limerick was as bad or worse? Explain that one Offside...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/09/2014 14:47:47    1646062

TheMaster - on your points:

A number of reasons. First off, the Armagh-Cavan thing seemed contrived while the Mayo-Kerry one didn't. That is obviously a big difference there.

Firstly it is your opinion that it was contrived but even if it was what does that matter - is a brawl not a brawl? Who is to say Kerry didn't contrive it to waste time?

Secondly, Donegal-Dublin was on the next day, and unexpectedly, the dubs took a right old tonking. People are now focusing on that.

Are you serious as to this being the reason as to why the media haven't been all over? Seriously?

Frankly, the above is obvious, and pretty reasonable, to be looking for some conspiracy says more about your own opinions than anyone else's.

No it doesn't - I am not looking for a conspiracy. I am just calling things as I see them and if it is a bit close to home then thats not something I need to reflect on.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 01/09/2014 14:49:39    1646064

TheMaster and TheHermit have had their say, be interested to see what the neutral opinion on the two brawls and the reaction is?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12118 - 01/09/2014 14:52:29    1646066

But people on this forum seem to be singling out Kerry in particular for orchestrating it, again that's to do with their own biases. As was said Armagh/Cavan a stupid contrived fight to make a statement; Kerry/Mayo a few people letting frustration get the better of them with no serious incidents.

Can honestly look at images of Cavan fight and say that what happened in Limerick was as bad or worse? Explain that one Offside...

Where have I said one side or the other was responsible Hermit? Also it depends what you call serious - I know if I had to get either I would prefer a dig in the gob than my eye being pulled out but maybe I am just a bit soft.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 01/09/2014 14:53:20    1646069

TheHermit

Hahahaha talk about propaganda!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12118 - 01/09/2014 14:55:57    1646076

Aido69

1646031 Offside_Rule

Just talking with a pal of mine from Dundalk. He's bemused at the treatment of the Mayo supporter who tried to get onto the pitch to "have a word" with Cormac Reilly when contrasted with the views expressed at the time about Louth supporters who wanted to have a word with M Sludden after Lenister Final a few years ago. A point well made.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 01/09/2014 14:56:41    1646078

Offside Rule there was too much made if Armagh v Cavan row in the first place. A few players went over the top maybe but it was just two teams sorting it out before the throw-in. This arguement "kids watching it" makes me laugh. It's a man's game, physical in nature, and from time to time it gets overheated. If your kids shouldn't be watching it don't bring them or turn off the telly. There's supporters effing and blinding all sorts in the crowd, it's no place for shrinking violets.

If Mrs Bouquet in Killiney doesn't like it let her off to ring Joe and his brand of sure isn't it terrible.Media are there to sell papers and nothing sells better than bad news.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 01/09/2014 15:01:00    1646087

You caught me Breffini, I'm like that distinguished Historian from Queens who in a certain book on the Troubles called IRA actions 'murders' and loyalists deaths 'killings' ;)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/09/2014 15:02:35    1646089