27 Mins Gone: Something Happened

On 27 Mins something remarkable happened. McGuinness sent Christy Toye into the maelstrom and the veteran's first act was to run right down Dublin's defensive throat. The run set up a Ryan McHugh point and, within 90 seconds, Donegal had two more from Gallagher and Murphy.

Then a high ball towards the Dublin square and Donegal's captain got just enough purchase on his jump to force Stephen Cluxton into a flap. The ball broke to Colm McFadden, who put McHugh in for the goal that triggered an earthquake. From that moment on, Dublin forgot themselves. And Donegal remembered.
It's not because the world has forgotten, it's because this once unlikely dream has become that most extraordinary of things: it has become real...again

JohnGrace1989 (Donegal) - Posts: 472 - 01/09/2014 10:34:48    1645793

Fantastic performance by Jim McGuinness and Donegal. What a great game of football and I truly delighted for all the Donegal supporters.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 01/09/2014 12:44:33    1645923

On 27 Mins something remarkable happened. McGuinness sent Christy Toye into the maelstrom and the veteran's first act was to run right down Dublin's defensive throat. The run set up a Ryan McHugh point and, within 90 seconds, Donegal had two more from Gallagher and Murphy.

I read this paragraph at 7.30 this morning over my first coffee of the day - Vincent Hogan I think ?
Any views of your own ?

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 01/09/2014 12:50:22    1645931

Yea great introduction. Fair play to Donegal.

They got it all right!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 01/09/2014 12:52:47    1645936

Pat Spillane and Colm O'Rourkes wee faces were a picture a half time - you could just tellthat they were reeling from what they had just witnessed after all their ganshing all summer about Dublins champagne football and Ulster puke football.

It has been debated to within an inch of its life on here but how do these guys not see or not want to see that there is more to a game of football than just a shooting contest.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 01/09/2014 12:59:54    1645941

Forwards don't necessarily see the art of defending as anything special, O'Rourke was happy enough to let Mick Lyons and the rest hold the fort at the back whatever way possible, ditto Pat and the Kerry, hard as nails defence of that era.

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 01/09/2014 13:07:44    1645954

What changed the game yesterday was Durkans save from Connollys goal chance. If he scored Dublin would have won handy i reckon.

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 01/09/2014 13:15:28    1645960

Donegal don't play an Ulster style of football they play their own style,they attack as good as any team and send end as good as any team.

Midlu1 (Louth) - Posts: 790 - 01/09/2014 13:31:37    1645980

not being any sort of sour grapes before its labelled that
but for that first goal,you kind of left out a major incident
yes murphy rose for the ball with cluxton
but when the ball was kicked in before it came inside to be cntested
murphy clearly pushes o carroll to the ground
should that have been a free out?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/09/2014 15:17:14    1646106

donaghy also regularly does it hill..crucial thing to do is make your move just before the ball comes in so its not seen

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 01/09/2014 15:19:51    1646109

01/09/2014 15:17:14
hill16no1man

1646106 not being any sort of sour grapes before its labelled that
------
yes but if the Ref blew for every off the ball contact between O Carroll and Murphy we would still be there.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 01/09/2014 15:29:37    1646115

not being any sort of sour grapes before its labelled that

I know it's not sour grapes, I believe you when you say that.

But at the end of the day, It doesnt matter. It's gone. Over. Irrelevant.

Doesn't take away from the fact tht Donegal where the better team.

They absolutely deserved their win, I know you will agree with me there.

After every game we can turn round and talk about incidents, But why bother ? Cant un-do it.

All we can do now is look forward.

I don't know about you man, But i'm drained after that.

I just feel tired ha.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 01/09/2014 15:36:05    1646123

ruanua

im just pointing out that the original poster
clearly missed that incident when describing the goal
and the sunday game panel didnt even mention it either
it did happen like afterall in what was amjor moment in the match

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/09/2014 15:36:49    1646126

wayno

its a discussion forum
what do you want to do after games
go into hiding and bury your head in the sand just because we lost?
major incidents are discussed in matches every day of the week
im just making the point that the original poster clearly left it out of his view of that goal
and the sunday game panel who usually look at these incidents like they did with the kerry frees in extra time
failed to acknowledge it.
i know donegal were the better team on the day and im not taking anything away from them
but it shouldnt mean you cannot discuss the incidents throughout a match

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/09/2014 15:45:08    1646137

01/09/2014 15:36:49
hill16no1man

1646126 ruanua

im just pointing out that the original poster
clearly missed that incident when describing the goal
and the sunday game panel didnt even mention it either
it did happen like afterall in what was amjor moment in the match

----
The opening post looks to be directly copied from journalist articles this morning - so blame the INDO not the OP !

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 01/09/2014 15:59:10    1646154

Hill16

Your 15/16 point hammering notion has gone out the window and now your trying to take away from one of donegals goals to make yourself happy. I presume you were at the game and are aware of what was going on between Murphy and O Carrol, Gallagher and MDMA. Every time Neil or Michael were making runs for the ball your two lads were facing them waving in their face and if they tried to move they literally hugged them so they couldnt get anywhere. Neil got a yellow for retaliating and at one stage O carroll was still facing murphy and waving in his face even though the ball was going over his head. Ridiculous stuff. For the goal O carroll was at the same craic not even facing the ball, holding murphy, and then when Murphy gives him a wee nudge you cry foul. Your blaming the donegal poster for not telling the full story well there it is and it looks a lot worse on you.

SamT2012 (Donegal) - Posts: 66 - 01/09/2014 16:02:59    1646163

I was very disappointed with O'Carroll's tactics at the start of the game. He was clearly instructed to wind up Gallagher as much as he could. He just stood in front of him waving his hands in his face the whole time. It was really childish stuff. Then, interestingly, as soon as Gallagher got booked they switched MDMA on to him and O'Carroll went to pick up Murphy.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 01/09/2014 16:03:10    1646165

what do you want to do after games
go into hiding and bury your head in the sand just because we lost?

No-body is going/gone into hiding. The fact we are posting on here shows that.

I just dont see what you are trying to achieve by bringing up these points about frees.

I do believe its not sour grapes, or at least intended sour grapes on your part, But it could come across as such.

Wether we should have had frees or not doesnt matter.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 01/09/2014 16:04:15    1646166

On topic....maybe the introduction of Toye was the signal to the rest of the Donegal players to begin Phase 2 of the operation!

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 01/09/2014 16:04:29    1646167

ruanuna

haha i didnt read the indo
in fairness it was the original poster who started a thread about it here on this site not the indo
i dont think people should go around believeing newspapers if donegal did they wouldnt have even showed up yesterday
the rubbish that was being printed

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/09/2014 16:08:10    1646179