Donegal v Kerry

Firstly as a Kerryman can I say to all those keyboard warriors on here all summer saying Dublin would destroy pick of Mayo/Kerry/Donegal, to all those who said Dublin would steam roll into final and destroy us and all Kerry or Mayo or Donegal would be is guard or honour for their coronation. Enjoy the humble pie this winter!

Fair play Donegal, Kerry v Donegal, what's rare is wonderful. It will be some craic in build up. Think Kerry have great chance now, An Riocht abu. See you in few weeks Donegal, can't wait!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 31/08/2014 17:05:27    1645242

Excuse me administrators, the topics title I gave this was Donegal v Kerry All Ireland SHC Final 2014, explain please why it has been changed and please change it back, this is intended to be main thread for All Ireland final discussion..

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 31/08/2014 17:20:43    1645287

Can we just start next years football championship with Mayo, Kerry, the Dubs and Donegal? Allow Armagh and Cork in as reward for decent QF performances. Call it the Sky Sports Super Six. The rest of us could play for the Sky Bet Tommy Murphy Championship.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 31/08/2014 17:21:13    1645289

Kerry will beat Donegal off the field. That was a desperate poor game today, typical negative Ulster puke football by Donegal; dreadful game to watch, all that packed defending making it so hard for the more skilful Dublin lads to score really destroyed the game. Nowhere near the wonderful quality on display in Limerick yesterday, in what surely was the game of the decade for me. Dublin collapsed mentally and made Donegal look better than they are. Donegal got lucky breaks and Kerry won't collapse like that; Kerry for Sam.

Pat Spillane and Joe Brolly were right when they said that the worst team won today. They said 'only two' of the Donegal players would be 'good enough to get on the Dublin team' - and they're right. There's something wrong with the rules of our game if a team as bad as Donegal are allowed to win games.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 31/08/2014 17:40:20    1645334

With master tactician in charge of Donegal I think they might just do it.
Credit where credit is due.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 31/08/2014 18:04:54    1645369

Dublin were over hyped they beat nobody decent, they feed into the over hyped and seemed to believe their own publicity. They were mentally not tuned in and collapsed when Donegal put it up to them. Donegal and Kerry will be a great game my own view is that Kerry should not start Dongahy in the final. The high ball tactic would be easily hoovered up by Donegal, O'Donoghue will not get anything like the knock downs he got from Donaghy.

A performance similar to what we done against Cork is required, fast fluid football with the ball played into space.

Traleenative (Kerry) - Posts: 44 - 31/08/2014 18:08:40    1645374

I wouldn't say that Dublin, their players or their mananger believed they were all that and more, but certainly a lot of people didn't bother making their own opinions and just believed what was written about them, we all seen the same stuff over and over all summer.

I wrote at one stage at the start of the summer that Dublin would be caught sooner or later in a battle and when this happened they would lose - it wasn't to insult or wind up, but simply, to retain Sam Maguire is a near unreachable task, I think I likened it to a club winning the CL twice in a row.

It won't be of any solace or comfort at the moment to the Dubs - but I would safely say this time next year they'll be in an All Ireland Final - The hunger deserted them, as it does with all teams. When they get it back, they'll win the AI again.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 31/08/2014 18:19:26    1645392

The Hermit. Tipp and Kilkenny are playing in the All-Ireland SHC.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2987 - 31/08/2014 18:25:59    1645405

A very very hard game to call, really is 50/50, both teams will be on a high after their respective semi finals and both believe they can win, this could be one cracker of a final

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 31/08/2014 18:34:15    1645414

Traleenative

Dublin were over hyped they beat nobody decent, they feed into the over hyped and seemed to believe their own publicity.

There is no evidence of that.

If you don't rate Donegal that highly than you could be in for a rude awakening in 3 weeks.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 31/08/2014 19:30:08    1645497

Kerry accusing Dublin of being over hyped !! There's a case of Kettle calling the pot black if I ever saw it ! Kerry will think they have the All-Ireland in the bag now, they don't rate Donegal no matter what they let on.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 31/08/2014 19:40:51    1645501

Most Kerry folk will not only expect their team to beat Donegal they will demand it and with 'style' too to put the Ulster hordes back in their box; expectation in the Kingdom will be bursting at the extremes. It is a birthright thing.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 31/08/2014 19:47:40    1645509

Too right Ulsterman. They will need to beat these northerners who don't play football the proper way... i.e. the Kerry way...theirs will be the crusade to save Gaelic football from the pukefeast that it has become. It doesn't matter that Donegal etc play within the rules, if its not the Kerry way it is not football !

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 31/08/2014 20:03:03    1645523

county man, were you bullied by a Kerry lad when you were younger?

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 31/08/2014 20:20:32    1645543

Ulsterman

Most Kerry folk will not only expect their team to beat Donegal they will demand it and with 'style' too to put the Ulster hordes back in their box; expectation in the Kingdom will be bursting at the extremes. It is a birthright thing.

Not at all true Ulsterman. The atmosphere in the Kingdom is very different this year. I never saw such joy from Kerry at winning an All-Ireland semi-final. Kerry are underdogs. The general reaction here is that Kerry are in bonus territory. They are a team in transition, and Fitzmaurice has worked wonders getting this team to an All-Ireland final at this stage of their development. You can dream up whatever fairytale you want, but being here is a different story!

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 31/08/2014 20:26:39    1645549

I don't know maybe i'm wrong but i think Kerry have a few average footballers and i for one am surprised they are in the final.Donegal are far from the perfect team too but with the master technician/psychologist or whatever you want to call him Jim mc Guiness on their side i wouldn't back against Donegal.

someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 31/08/2014 20:43:56    1645562

Of course this 'team in transition' line will be trotted out ad nauseum between now and the AI final. Its a great way for the Kerry management team to take the heat of their team in the run up to the final, so well done to them for the ruse, I dare say some media outlets will gobble it up just like they did with the Dublin are totally incredible line.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 31/08/2014 20:47:05    1645568

Just listen to Radio Kerry tomorrow treatyexile and you'll see how many people compliment how great the Donegal style of play is !!

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 31/08/2014 20:52:12    1645578

Just listen to Radio Kerry tomorrow treatyexile and you'll see how many people compliment how great the Donegal style of play is !!

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 31/08/2014 20:53:20    1645581

Well this is the final pairing that went against the odds. At the moment the head is a bit fuzzy after our defeat so I'll have to come back to this one. Donegal favs with the bookies, but the never wrong turf accountants are erring in their ways so it seems.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 31/08/2014 20:59:02    1645588