Lee Keegan gets off

Delighted for the lad himself and it will make for a better game
but
i tell you this
If Lee was a Dub and this happened....the outrage on here would break the internet!
Special Treatment?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 29/08/2014 08:34:39    1643808

The referees were reluctant to dish out Black Cards ; now red cards are undermined . Bad on the ref !

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 29/08/2014 09:12:00    1643821

Wind you neck in Liam, by starting this thread you just open a can of worms which is exactly what you really want. Your own Diarmuid Connolly got off on a technicality last year. As a Mayo fan I am delighted as I didn't except him to get off and you can also take on board the views of those against recending the red card. Issue like this pop up every year.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 29/08/2014 09:12:08    1643822

Got off on a technicality, they need to close these loopholes, regardless I am delighted. I had a feeling he would get off. The Mayo management obviously knew that video evidence would clear him. Basically the ref had it in his report he had sent him off for striking. Mayo proved with video evidence he did not strike him. So basically the referee should have had attempted striking and not striking in his report. You have to love these loopholes. Apparently the fact that Buckley actually punched Keegan in the arm first( however harmless) helped his case. That by the letter of the law was a red card so even though that wasn't that case at hand, I believe it had a bearing.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7892 - 29/08/2014 09:17:17    1643832

It was a harsh Red Card in the first place Liam but I agree with other posters, this will only make the ref's job even more difficult going forward...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 29/08/2014 09:20:55    1643835

I've mixed views on this. I think its good that he gets to play but a ref is damned if they do and damned if they dont! On what basis did he get off. Connolly got off cos the ref didn't note his name at the time of sending off. Was it the same for Keegan?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 29/08/2014 09:21:53    1643836

I agree here. Think its a bad precedent to set relating to drawing the boot on a player.
I thought it was a harsh red that normally wouldn't be given but by the rule book its a red so where then do we stop the rules.
I really cant understand how it was dropped.

Is it any wonder the refs get no respect in this game. They make a wrong call and are vilified for it and when they make the correct call (albeit harsh) then the power is pulled from them.

No Wonder every red card is appealed. Sure most get off.

I also agree above that if that was other counties/players they wouldn't have got off. Imagine if Paul Galvin did that?

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 29/08/2014 09:22:18    1643838

I'm conflicted about this.

First off, I'm happy the lad won't miss out just because of a second's worth of red mist.

At the same time, ref made the right call, and it got overturned. Makes him look like a bit of a plonker. I suppose it merely depends on what tint of glasses you are wearing. If they are green/red, it's a relief, if they are green/gold, you'd be a bit pissed at this "preferential" treatment. If they are blue, it will be a wry smile.

At least it will be one less excuse if Kerry take them. The CEM will be working hard to come up with another one as good.

JadenD (Dublin) - Posts: 3 - 29/08/2014 09:22:33    1643839

Yet another embarrassing day for the GAA disiplinary process. What Keegan did was petty and not particularly dangerous, but it was a red card offence according to the rules. I'm not a big fan of David Coldrick, but he got this call right and shouldn't be undermined by a soft-hearted committee. Black cards are no longer issued because 3 were rescinded in one night after the Tyrone/Monaghan game, and now the likelihood of a deserved red card being shown in a big game will also be reduced - referees will be afraid to enforce any rules, for fear of being contradicted a few days later.

The GAA disciplinary process features a interminable series of appeals from which a player will almost always find eventual reprieve, seemingly even when the rules confirm that they have transgressed. I like Lee Keegan as a player, but he should not be lining out in the AI semi-final. The GAA, yet again, are making up and redefining rules as they go along. A total joke.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 29/08/2014 09:23:23    1643841

Jackeen: The refs report says "kicking with minimal force" .Mayo proved with video evidence that the kick had not connected so should have been reported for "ATTEMPTING to kick with minimal force" which actually carries the same penalty, i.e red card but as ref's report was incorrect he is cleared to play

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 29/08/2014 09:28:07    1643842

Yea,delighted he is eligible to play. Don't forget the Connolly incident in 2011 semi final also. It's a physical sport and not basketball so let's not lose this side of things.

AB13 (Dublin) - Posts: 100 - 29/08/2014 09:31:36    1643845

What a load of rubbish, if he was a kerry player there is no way he would have been cleared. If the gaa want mayo to win so much just give them sam now so we dont have to waste our time going to limerick.

jackrobin (Kerry) - Posts: 15 - 29/08/2014 09:35:09    1643849

Ah thanks yew tree so referee error. Fair play to mayo for taking the appeal up on what looked like an open and shut case.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 29/08/2014 09:42:45    1643857

This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is similar it has been incorporated here.

Brolly
Monaghan

29/08/2014
08:49

Lee Keegan gets away with attempted kick

So he's playing sat. Personally for him I'm happy but there does seem to be one rule for one county, different for others etc. there were men who got suspended this year for pushing and shoving and had their appeals turned down. Thoughts?

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 29/08/2014 09:43:25    1643859

I almost wish he didn't get off and we won without him, the rubbish we will have to listen to now will be endless. If Mayo were to so somehow win the All Ireland it won't be because of favours from the Gaa, grow up lads.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7892 - 29/08/2014 09:44:32    1643860

Whats the point in having a referee??? Underminded again by the Powers of the Gaa. He kicked or attempted to kick so he got red carded. Would love to know under what grounds his appeal was successful??

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 29/08/2014 09:50:50    1643863

jackrobin
What a load of rubbish, if he was a kerry player there is no way he would have been cleared. If the gaa want mayo to win so much just give them sam now so we dont have to waste our time going to limerick.

Yer crowd have got away with plenty in the past...Kennely "taking out" Murphy in the final springs to mind.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 29/08/2014 09:50:59    1643864

It was a nothing incident, the lad (an amateur giving up 90% of his free time to the GAA) shouldnt miss an all-ireland semi final over a trivial leg movement that didnt injure anyone in a tough but fair game.
A little off the point, the card waving incident in the same game was a lot worse in my opinion.

HenryHill16 (Dublin) - Posts: 249 - 29/08/2014 09:51:02    1643865

Coldrick's mistake was not sending off Buckley as well as Keegan. Both broke the rule and Buckley did make contact, while Keegan didn't.. D.Walsh wasn't exactly an innocent bystander either and should have been warned. If both players were dismissed we wouldn't have the people of Ireland laughing at what is a joke of an organisation again today. Last week Reilly showed that they make up the rules as they go along and now Coldrick is shown to be another incompetent. As sure as day follows night, we will have a Hawkeye problem in Limerick, and I wouldn't bet the house on the game finishing. Nothing to stop the crowd in the covered stand from encroaching and I anticipate a lot of angry 'animals' on Saturday if the game is going against them, which I think is a distinct possibility.

JackMurphy (Cork) - Posts: 30 - 29/08/2014 09:52:04    1643869

I agree flaker but there's a concensus that if dublin win it IS because of favours from the gaa. Ye cant win. I suppose its shows both our counties are to be envied for recent sucesses and long may the conspiracy theorists sit in their rocking chairs plotting!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 29/08/2014 09:52:26    1643870