Incident on the Hill

Probably a big deal made out of nothing but just wondering if anybody knows what happened. I know a number of flares were lit during the game but nothing happened over them. Not a big deal anyway. But at the end of the match there were a rake of garda and stewards together up in the middle of the cork fans. Something happen or did they just want a better views of the rebel mauling?

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 18/08/2014 18:07:45    1638509

What about poor Brian Cody getting booed when his face was showing on the big screen in Croker. If that was the Dubs that booed him it would make headlines.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 18/08/2014 19:11:17    1638532

Lot of drunken fools of young fellas around yesterday Jack but nothing dangerous.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 18/08/2014 19:25:52    1638537

True enough Ollie.

Cody took it in good spirits though in fairness.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 18/08/2014 19:31:59    1638542

Didn't The Beatles pen an ode to said type of yahoo/s?

Fool On The Hill :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 18/08/2014 20:22:28    1638562

Coady always has the last laugh that's why he smiled back....legend of a manager

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 18/08/2014 20:28:41    1638567

We have an old saying in Kerry ( let them in let them out ) but I think that has more to do with milking cows or is it the same thing in crokepark I don't know :-0

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/08/2014 21:25:35    1638613

What happened? I dont know if I am getting auld and contrary but I find the amount of drinking done before GAA matches to be a disgrace - I for one think every bag going onto a train in Cork/Mallow/Thurles/etc should be checked for alcohol - if they are paying a fiver for a bottle of beer on a train it might reduce the inebriation when people get off the train at Heuston.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 18/08/2014 21:34:36    1638620

realdub

-----
Not sure Realdub. The Beatles were way before our time. We're all generation X here, Nirvana, Pearl Jam, Rage against the Machine and all that stuff :)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/08/2014 21:42:06    1638632

Joxer
That's the stuff in fairness, deadly bands ,although I do like the Beatles also realdub :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/08/2014 21:49:13    1638638

If that was the Dubs that booed him it would make headlines.
OLLIE
Louth
---------------------------------------------------------------

Even a non-Dub admits!......Just in case (in light of recent threads about kerry getting a 'hard time') anyone needed a reminder of who really has to put up with a 'hard time' on this board and in the GAA in general!

Then again, I suppose when your county is the Capital, the social and economic hub of the country and the GAA's 'Paymaster General' you have to put up with these things!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 19/08/2014 09:48:51    1638680

Joxer

realdub

-----
Not sure Realdub. The Beatles were way before our time. We're all generation X here, Nirvana, Pearl Jam, Rage against the Machine and all that stuff :)

Heyyyyyyyyyyy!!!! Cheeky git, I can be hip, I loved Nirvana too ya know :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 19/08/2014 10:15:42    1638712

My self and my brother was in the middle of that. Some Cork lads came into the game late and had red flares my god the smell was rotton. They didnt give a hoot who was in front or behind them they were gonna have their fun. We coudlnt move as we were practiclaly surrounded by a sea of red.
The stewards came up a few times but by the time they had reached our zone the flares had burned out. About 2 minutes from the end a Cork fella lit up another one and a fight started with the steward.
A guard then came up and the lad was thrown out but if im been honest he shud have been put out before the game even started as he was causing trouble.
Some of his own cork fans were even peed off with him that at one stage a fight nearly broke out between the cork fans themselves.
The lad had a bag of smoke flares and how he even got into the game is beyond me.
I couldnt even celebrate at the end of the match as I was too afraid that crew would turn on me. However the majority of the very very genuine cork fans all shook hands with myself and brother on the way out. We were completely bottled up by a sea of red but it was great craic apart from the smell of those flares and the silly antics of those young lads and girls too by the way who were aged 15-16.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 19/08/2014 11:56:26    1638796

Sounds like an accurate description Wild Pundit. A lot of the worse trouble on Hill in old days was Dub young fellas fighting among themselves. Young fellas + drink = mess! Thus it has ever been :-) But agree with you about some idiot getting in with flares. Should definitely been stopped.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 19/08/2014 12:07:15    1638804

Yep, youngsters away from Mammy & Daddy for the day and getting drunk. Can't bate it.
At least there isn't the hooliganism culture in GAA ( yet ! )and Cody was only booed. He didn't expect Valentine cards off Cork & Tipp fans anyway.

AnFearDonn (Kilkenny) - Posts: 65 - 19/08/2014 12:59:19    1638838

Lots around me booing Cody couldn't believe it.
We know he can be a pain in that back side at times but he didnt deserve to be booed.
Its because of Cody and Kilkenny that the game has been bought to new heights.
By the way he was smiling I fear for September 7th!!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 19/08/2014 14:27:43    1638880

Pepole laugh at me for saying it, but yet again thank God for the 'Corporate Box' and civilised society!

Who wants to mix with 'ordinary people' when this is what they get up to!.....the chimpanzees tea party on tour!!!

Better off staying with better people in the better seats and throwing my crab claws over at said chimpanzees in the hope that a sharp corner of one will take the eye outta one of them!..... and the better people can look down and laugh at them getting a taste of their own medicine and comeuppance from the echelons of higher society that they deserve!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 19/08/2014 15:54:30    1638907

Well said snuf

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 19/08/2014 15:59:50    1638910

Have to say Snuff, you are like Marmite - either love it or cant stand it.... lol

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 19/08/2014 16:05:31    1638913

Snufalufagus
throwing my crab claws over at said chimpanzees in the hope that a sharp corner of one will take the eye outta one of them!

You must have picked up the "throwing" technique from your days on the hill Snuff....before you became the refined poster you are today. Thank god for finishing school.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 19/08/2014 16:18:11    1638924