Cork Attempting to Pressure Referees

Very disappointing to see the continual creep of the soccer style pressuring of the referee in GAA. Cork football management at it this week trying to put pressure on Cormac Reilly. Pat McEneaney should be stepping in telling both the Cork and Mayo managements to keep shut and that Reilly will ref it impartially and as he sees fit.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 30/07/2014 12:42:41    1628405

I agree in that I don't like to see that either. However, I do want to see cynical fouling stamped out and somebody needs to be putting pressure on referees to implement rules. Pat McEnaney probably should tell Ronan McCarthy to close his mouth and then turn around to Cormac Reilly and say; "but he was right!"..

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 30/07/2014 12:57:29    1628420

The Cork camp have done their analysis on Mayo and here is one of their conclusions. Very interesting.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 30/07/2014 13:09:28    1628433

Even if billy Morgan was named ref,Larry Tompkins and Connor Counihan as linesmen they still won't beat Mayo. They could take a Kerry team in transition if somehow they get to the semi final but the dubs would embarrass them in the final.I wouldn't blame Cuthbert for trying something but I would prefer if he concentrated on his decisions on the sideline for Sunday. Hopefully he won't wait til they are 10 points down before making a change.

KY4SAM2013 (Kerry) - Posts: 7 - 30/07/2014 13:13:06    1628438

Yeah and see the Cork selector getting in on the act singling out Mayo players. Comes across as desperation. Good to see the Mayo camp very quiet at present and hopefully stays that way until 4:00pm Sunday.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 30/07/2014 13:17:31    1628443

Cormac Reilly is a good referee.

He won't be listening to any of that rubbish, He will do his job to the very best of his ability.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 30/07/2014 13:35:16    1628456

Playing JH at his own game. Part of the build up. I enjoy it.

A

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 30/07/2014 13:35:18    1628457

What? You joking me this is great , Horan has done the exact some thing in the past, this makes it even more spicier than it already is, let's get it on ffs and can the wimps of hoganstand please leave.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/07/2014 13:35:19    1628458

mayo management to keep their mouth shut ..... did i miss something ??!!

HurlerOnTheFenc (Mayo) - Posts: 282 - 30/07/2014 13:43:56    1628462

fun and games but a wee bit of mind games deep down he who blinks first lol

blackrockeddie (Cork) - Posts: 160 - 30/07/2014 14:09:41    1628468

This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is similar it has been incorporated here.

Liamwalkinstown
Dublin

30/07/2014
13:38

Cork accuse Mayo of being Cynical and Streetwise

Interesting comments from the Cork camp What say ye ?

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 30/07/2014 14:16:11    1628472

What's good for the goose is good for the gander. Horan has been very vocal in the past trying to influence the ref in 2012 semi v dublin. Tis gonna give the game a bit of an edge I hope. Still Mayo ftw!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 30/07/2014 14:31:28    1628480

HurlerOnTheFenc

mayo management to keep their mouth shut ..... did i miss something ??!!

JH to be fair usually behaves himself but he did bring up Joe McQuillan's involvement with Dublin in 2012.

Think Cork are making a big mistake here. Do they really want to poke a Mayo team, that have just been cruising along so far, with a stick? Remember Donegal started having a go in the media last year? Mayo don't seem to appreciate that stuff...

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 30/07/2014 14:37:36    1628483

In fairness Horan enjoys a good auld yap about the ref pre game as well.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 30/07/2014 14:43:35    1628491

embarrassing just embarrassing

ffs we were a county how tried hard and took our beatings with dignity

now we are a county who doesnt try hard for 70 mins and looking for excuses on bloody tuesday.
Counihan probably wasnt the best manager principally cause he was too nice and too loyal but had honour and dignity

Brian has brought discontentment to the camp and bull shite to the media. Jasus years ago we would have been tearing into mayo now were setting up our bitch fest on the previous tuesday jasus christ almight

Im sorry to mayo and the country on a whole this is not how we have ever acted and i sincerely hope brian either concentrates on preparing the team or else moves on

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 30/07/2014 14:43:44    1628492

Spices things up surly I suppose....rebel county me *ole...winging before the game even starts.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 30/07/2014 14:48:03    1628496

ritchie - Any truth to rumours of discontent in the Cork camp? Didn't a player who's name escapes me levae the panel who was one of yer best players throughout the league and also heard one of the selectors was due to walk....hardly the same fella in the papers today.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 30/07/2014 14:51:43    1628499

MesAmis

In fairness Horan enjoys a good auld yap about the ref pre game as well.

He did it once? And I've never heard him complain too much after the fact either. To be fair to the Dubs ye tend to mind your manners in the press for the most part as well. Don't think anybody could top Rory "Conspiracry Theorist" Gallagher from last year... Mayo told Monaghan to take our lads out. Did ye ever hear the like of it?

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 30/07/2014 15:40:51    1628549

ritchie

1628492 embarrassing just embarrassing

ffs we were a county how tried hard and took our beatings with dignity
now we are a county who doesnt try hard for 70 mins and looking for excuses on bloody tuesday.
Counihan probably wasnt the best manager principally cause he was too nice and too loyal but had honour and dignity

Brian has brought discontentment to the camp and bull shite to the media. Jasus years ago we would have been tearing into mayo now were setting up our bitch fest on the previous tuesday jasus christ almight

Im sorry to mayo and the country on a whole this is not how we have ever acted and i sincerely hope brian either concentrates on preparing the team or else moves on

Ritchie

Jaysus lad....I agree with a lot of what you said but the first statement is ridiculous...refs can't even send a Cork player off with Frank Murphy waving the rule book in the faces of the Croke Park boyos...take our beating...the supporters maybe but our county board ??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 30/07/2014 15:45:13    1628552

Counter-productive by McCarthy. It just gives Mayo an extra motivation (which we didn't need) and also possibly puts the referee against us (it is generally forgotten that referees are human, too).

Time enough to talk about the referees when the whole season is over.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 643 - 30/07/2014 16:00:04    1628562