Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 20/07/2014 17:32:41    1622030

The 1933 Connacht final for me.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 20/07/2014 17:40:40    1622042

Great topic, one for the ages

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 20/07/2014 17:41:56    1622044

The Munster final was the worst. Thought it would be very close but Cork were shocking. We knew Dublin were going to hockey Meath so no surprise there and Mayo were never under pressure against Galway. Donegal vs Monaghan was close which was expected.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 20/07/2014 17:42:14    1622045

Offside_Rule

The 1933 Connacht final for me.

Nice one!!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 20/07/2014 17:43:19    1622048

In football today's Leinster Final and the Munster final were disasters for meath and cork but the other two were nothing to write home about either.

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 20/07/2014 17:58:45    1622060

When there are no stand-out teams in football everyone complains about the apparent poor standards, a few teams come along and raise the standard and we all give out about how predictable it all is. There's no pleasing some people.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 20/07/2014 18:00:21    1622061

All 4
Provincials should be scrapped

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 20/07/2014 18:14:20    1622073

I just hope the quarters throw up a few good matches, Donegal won the ulster final by 3 points but it might as well have been 30 , we won the Munster final by 12 , the jacks won theirs by 15 and mayo by 7 or 8. I was expecting tighter games to be honest.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/07/2014 18:17:35    1622082

They were all awful this year!!

sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1053 - 20/07/2014 18:43:22    1622122

Whatever about the provincial finals we're down to the last 12 and for the first time I can recall there are 3 teams left standing from each province. If that doesn't spread the interest there's no pleasing some people.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 20/07/2014 19:05:43    1622153

what sort of a thread is this at all?
you would have to ask this question why some people even like the gaa
if this is there type of discussions they want to have

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/07/2014 19:49:50    1622218

Except hill16no1 man, gaelic football is going from bad to worse, and we all know it. The strong are getting stronger and the weak are getting weaker, and media-driven pc rules like the black card are making the strong even stronger. Even your hill 16 brethern are voting with their feet, only turning up now for the latter stages of the championship (when they expect the better teams will give them a game) and not bothering with the earlier rounds. Maybe next year they wont bother even going to the Leinster final because of the low entertainment value. Im steeped in the gaa and I wouldnt go to a gaelic football game if it was taking place in my back yard. If an old fella such as me is like that, I just wonder about the next generation who are growing up with wall to wall coverage of rugby. The gaa need to be aware that culture can change, that winning "hearts and minds" is no longer a certainty, and what is a majority sport could well in time become a minority one.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 20/07/2014 20:12:47    1622250

Defensive football won the All-Ireland in 2012. Attacking football won out last year. Which will win out this year? While I much prefer attacking football I've no problem with today's northern final. It was the battle which was to be expected. It'll be up to attacking systems to get the better of the defensive systems if the positive approach is to win out.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7821 - 20/07/2014 20:14:51    1622254

Pericles and hill16
So boys ye tought they were great provincial finals did ye?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/07/2014 20:19:19    1622264

really enjoyed the munster final because of the brilliance of kerry and in particular james o donoghue. it was a joy to watch. likewise the leinster final as the dubs were magnicifent and meath had their moments too. ulster final was horrible as predicted but fair play todonegal and monaghan, they left nothing behind on the pitch and donegal showed they are back in the big time. however i actually enjoyed the connacht final the best. it wasn't so one-sided and the football was good too.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 20/07/2014 20:23:22    1622271

poolstrugeon

fail to see how thats true
62,660 flocked to croke park today to see gaelic football
31 thousand full house in clones today also to see gaelic football
the 70tys was made up of two really strong teams in dublin and kerry and history tells us it was a golden period
2008-2012 saw 5 differant counys win the all ireland each year
dont know what your on about with a jibe at hill16 supporters
it was full for all 3 matches in the leinster championship this year
and the nally terrace was full today also

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/07/2014 20:29:04    1622283

kingdomboy

yeah i obviously enjoyed our win today
a 9th leinster in 10 years was brilliant and we played some really good football
i didnt see the munster final as i was in croker for the leinster hurling final
thaught the connacht final mayo were impressive they were physically very strong and took their chances well
galway rued some bad wides before half time but had a brilliant performance from their centre forward walsh who has the
makings of a great player.
the ulster final was the only one that for me wasnt a good game
both set up defensively and was poor football from my point of view but im sure the donegal supporters be quiet happy
with the win

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/07/2014 20:37:52    1622306

pool folks is anti gaelic football i.e. hurling only. unfortunately we have many of them here in our county. I am dual but you would think hurling is the be all and end all. a sport at best competed for by 7 or 8 teams and at worst dominated by half that. pool is forthright in his views i will acknowledge and actually wished us luck pre the connacht final on the galway forum.but the hurling only brigade really annoy me sometimes. on the thread itself while the provincials have lost their aura with the back door etc the competition is better in an overall context with the many novel pairings over the years. still I am for some champions league format on a trial at least.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 20/07/2014 20:43:46    1622319