Kerry Dublin - AI Final

You saw it here first its going to be a Kerry Dublin final.
Dublin are a dead cert to reach the final.
Kerry will take care of Galway or Tipp in the quarter final.
Plus we all know what happens Mayo at the sight of a Kerry jersey.

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 16/07/2014 21:12:36    1620420

Kerry will have the easier route alright

Dublin have many obstacles to go... no more greater than a Leinster final against a high scoring / high confidence Meath team.

If Dublin make it to a final in 2014 then it would be a great occasion if we were to play Kerry but it would be a great occasion to play anyone.

We we starved of AI finals for long enough... cheery picking opponents is not what it's about for us.

But I have no doubt that if Dublin were to play Kerry in an AI final that Kerry would break blood vessels to win that game

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/07/2014 08:39:04    1620465

If it is then Dublin would be celebrating 2 in a row. They would run straight through that Kerry defence. Johnny Cooper would man mark James O Donohue out of the game and that would be that.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 17/07/2014 09:23:13    1620482

We live in hope, revenge for 2011 and 2013!!! How we let the All Ireland go 3 years ago I'll never know, really thought we had it won with 4-5 minutes to go and in fairness the Dubs around me were already shaking my hand and congratulating Kerry..its a funny old game (not when you lose though :( )

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/07/2014 12:38:09    1620572

Not a very constructive thread, smacks of pure arrogance

RoyalSt.Pat (Meath) - Posts: 333 - 17/07/2014 13:33:15    1620613

I think Kerry of all the sides left are well capable of beating Dublin though Donegal are sneaking up on the outside and could surprise many; they are hitting the form of 2012 at the right time.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 17/07/2014 13:47:40    1620622

wfkerry, in the last 3 outings Mayo have beaten Kerry, so ye will have to up yer game. Maigh Eo Abu.

saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 17/07/2014 13:53:10    1620626

Probably Mayo's last chance at winning an All-Ireland with this team. Another defeat would be one heartbreak too many. I hope they can win one.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2987 - 17/07/2014 14:00:39    1620630

Dublin will be in the final and will win it. Kerry will be found out yet. Mayo are the team that will do it .

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 17/07/2014 14:11:07    1620641

If your looking to league results against Kerry for inspiration, your on a dead rubber already. Kerry in February and Kerry in August are two very different animals.

Perhaps we will come up short this year (though it won't be this Mayo team who stop them), but mark my words Kerry will regain the All Ireland within the next two years...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/07/2014 14:26:54    1620648

Mayo will NOT win it. This is the same Mayo squad who have been found wanting mentally over the past few years; they don't have the psychological strength or belief to win SAM and teams sniff that out very quickly.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 17/07/2014 14:31:31    1620651

Ulsterman, the same was said of Dublin until they won it, and tyrone... And we know how much you love tyrone...

As for Donegal, well they were given the biggest hiding ever seen in a quarter final by a bunch of mentally weak alsorans... Doesn't say much for them either.

Am I correct in saying that Dublin would have a path to the final without playing a single division 1 team?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 17/07/2014 14:43:31    1620655

Yes, bring it on. I cant wait.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 17/07/2014 14:57:05    1620663

The Master...... Your missing the point here, yous are mentally weak on the big day, ie the AI final, yous have proved on too many occasions to argue anything different, so don't start crowing about the big hiding yous handed out to Donegal last year, you couldn't do it when it mattered as you don't have the mental strength or the balls to get over the line in 2012/13....... Not too mention all the ones previous to them

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 17/07/2014 15:01:42    1620665

Yeah in fairness to Mayo, they lost in 2012 to a Donegal team that was a well oiled machine with a clever game-plan and had players in the form of their life. Then they lost to this Dublin team, that is considered to be utterly unstoppable, by 1 point. I don't think Mayo have any mental issues, rather they need another forward to stand up to plate alongside O'Connor.

proevo (Meath) - Posts: 296 - 17/07/2014 15:01:51    1620666

The Hermit, with 4 or 5 minutes to go in the All-Ireland final of 2011 the sides were level.Dublin got their goal in the 63rd minute and
there was 9 minutes played after that goal been scored so there was plenty of time for Kerry to win the match. To console you, Roscommon were leading by six points in the 1946 All-Ireland Final with 5 minutes to go against Kerry. Kerry won the 1946 All-Ireland. I think you will agree that was hard luck from a Roscommon point of view.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 17/07/2014 15:02:55    1620667

Think the goal was 64 min so its was with 7 minutes to go I thought it was all sewn up! We did come back to equalise with Star kicking a lovely score if I recall but then of course the referee decided to give Dublin a free for no reason so Cluxton could do his heroics...I'm not bitter though ;)

As for 46, sure can't you console yourself with the fact that in '47 we fecked another final up by deciding what we did in the first half was enough (did the same thing in 2002 of course)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/07/2014 15:19:13    1620673

I wish I had your confidence Hermit, about retaining it in next 2 years. Wouldn't it be sweet next year if Gooch came back in form of his life, O'Donoghue kept his form and Declan retained his form of old (which he's showed some signs against Cork).

In regards to Mayo's recent defeats in Croke Park, was it mental, or just merely been beat by the better team?? Were Donegal not the best team in 2012, and Dublin in 2013?

JMK (Kerry) - Posts: 273 - 17/07/2014 15:23:06    1620675

I don't think Kerry's defence and midfield are good enough to beat mayo. One thing about mayo since Horan took over is they always deliver a reasonable performance at worst. Additionally they are without doubt the most physical side left in the competition. Paul Flynn said last years AI final was the most physically brutal game of football he has ever been involved in. I was worried about mayos energy levels this year but they look to be tracking nicely in that regard. Aidan and Seamus o Shea were like 2 grown men playing against a minor team last week. And the Galway midfield are no shrinking violets either. I would have some concerns about our style of football at the later stages of the competition, and would prefer to see us kicking long ball earlier, but I'm pretty sure we would be physically far too strong for Kerry, notwithstanding the class of o donoghue and Declan o Sullivan.

Mayostar (Mayo) - Posts: 40 - 17/07/2014 15:23:52    1620676

Yes I would back Mayo to beat Kerry just. Mayo are far from finished - if they lose another final they'll just go again - that's how you win one.
We have the easy side of the draw imo thankfully, and if we get past Meath it's plain sailing to the final.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 17/07/2014 15:34:26    1620684