Monaghan v Donegal

So it is. The reigning Ulster champions v the 2013 dethroned ulster champs. I am disappointed that the game was not on tv, I was looking forward to have a look at monaghan and it wasnt even streamed. Will tune in tonight, but I suspect monaghan have improved since last week. You cant fake 1-18. I think that it will be an interesting game, it will be close and tense, and every score will be hard come by.

I am not going to call it.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 06/07/2014 17:31:50    1614668

Just in the door. Monaghan very impressive and could've won by 10 but K Hughes injury may be a worry.
Saying that Armagh are a poor side and This proved how poor Monaghan were last weekend.

bladecx (Monaghan) - Posts: 147 - 06/07/2014 17:41:23    1614673

Will be close,wouldn't be surprised if it needed a replay.

Maybe Donegal,just......

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 06/07/2014 17:58:08    1614683

Once again monaghan fail to really put away what is a very poor div 3 armagh team...monaghan should be dissapointed with only winning by 5 pts against what should be much inferior opposition..there is too much hype about this monaghan team and i expect donegal are now favourites for the final by the minimum margin

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 06/07/2014 18:01:17    1614685

Kieran Hughes injury ???? this sounds very worrying , I remember he picked up a bad knock against Tyrone , didnt look right afterward

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 06/07/2014 18:13:02    1614691

Monaghan for me. The Conor McManus factor. Simple as that.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 06/07/2014 18:26:35    1614699

If anything, todays margin probably flattered Armagh, 8 - 10 pts would be a proper reflection of the difference between the teams. As for the final, Donegal go in with smoother preparation and a real point to prove, I can see the bookies having them as favourites despite Monaghan being the reigning champions. We'll have to be at our absolute best on the day to win and hopefully that'll be the case!

blueblood (Monaghan) - Posts: 73 - 06/07/2014 18:28:52    1614703

blueblood
County: Monaghan

If anything, todays margin probably flattered Armagh, 8 - 10 pts would be a proper reflection of the difference between the teams. As for the final, Donegal go in with smoother preparation and a real point to prove, I can see the bookies having them as favourites despite Monaghan being the reigning champions. We'll have to be at our absolute best on the day to win and hopefully that'll be the case!

If either team is not at their best, there is no business turning up for a fixture like this. I can see pros for us re our preparation this time, for a change we have a clean bill of health, thanks to a relatively easier route to the final for the first time in 4 years. Will this be a disadvantage compared to monaghans run of competitive games? There is only one way to find out.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 06/07/2014 18:37:19    1614709

Well done to Monaghan and I'm glad yous did not let us (Donegal supporters) down The game Iv wanted all year.could be a bit like the Wild West ,scores to settle plus ther is only room for one of us in Ulster to be top dog so the other must fall by the wayside.
Don't be too worried about the Tyrone poster saying youse were disappointing today and not beating Armagh by more today as I'm sure he 'd like to be in our shoes all going to the Ulster final in two weeks

Blessed Jim , please deliver us from this Monaghan team and help Deliver the Anglo -Celt to the Diamond in a Donegal town. no the night of 20/07/14

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 06/07/2014 18:40:42    1614712

A re-run of the NFL Division 2 final. Should be yet another intriguing battle between these two sides.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7820 - 06/07/2014 18:45:20    1614715

Ned Stormcrow. That could be the factor. If Donegal have learned anything from last yearI'd expect Conor McManus to be well policed. Plus I'm sure I don't have to tell OUR SUPREME LEADER other players who make Monaghan tick.
The problem about one star forward on a team is :::if he is held/not let into the game who picks up the slack.
Think M Murphy for Donegal and watch how closely he has been marked over the last few years 2/3 men watching him at all times.
We don't know how this game will pan out but whoever going to win the Anglo -Celt will have to play to their very best and no below performances from any player.

After following Donegal for close on 50 years I hope to see something I have not witness before and that is to see Donegal being crowned ULSTER champions at both MINOR and SENIOR on the same day.
Think the first ever Ulster final I saw was in Ballybofey at U 21 and Donegal beat Monaghan. Now I can't remember the year ;;;; was it 1964. ???
Anyway this should keep us talking and indeed it looks like being the most competitive provincial football this year.
But as regards factors we dealt with them before in 2012 and more or less the same players and with less injuries from last year we look in better shape plus we did not have too hard of a time to get to the Ulster final.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 06/07/2014 19:02:47    1614728

So how much are Donegal win by this time ?

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 06/07/2014 19:03:59    1614729

All I can say to the Donegal supporters waiting on this match
be careful what you wish for, wanting revenge can be very dangerous
so much so that you can fall flat on your face.

Mulligan Eamonn (None) - Posts: 896 - 06/07/2014 19:04:40    1614730

Personally I prefer to meet monaghan, out of interest sake. Revenge has little to do with it, for me anyway. I cant speak for the players and I think that they may want to show well considering the performances in recent years v monaghan. Monaghan will probably relish getting us, if not, they definitely wont be dreading it. What I will be most interested in is will monaghan shoot from distance as they did so successfully in the past, or have they the confidence to run deep, or both. I have a good idea how our scores are going to come, but cant say for sure either. I expect the first 10 minutes of this game could well be the winning or losing of the game, rather than the 15 minutes at the start of the second half.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 06/07/2014 19:18:53    1614744

Donegal win by 5

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 06/07/2014 19:20:25    1614745

Donegal will be favourites and everything favours revenge for them.Monaghan carrying injuries won't help .

If Donegal start well I fancy them by 4-6 points if Monaghan start well it will be in the balance a goal could really swing this game...

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 06/07/2014 19:26:30    1614752

Well done to Monaghan, they did a comprehensive job today which will stand to them big time in the final.

Not much between the teams & the hop of a ball, a refereeing decision or a horrible mistake by someone could well decide it.

Looking forward to the 20th & feeling a bit nervous already.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 06/07/2014 19:30:41    1614758

Pride of 85
A two point hammering as M hart said after the v Cork semi 2012 would do.
Or could I ask you how much will Monaghan win by this time seeing as ye have beat us twice in the last 12 months ( I'll keep quite about thr Letterkenny game as it was not a final). ???

As regards wishing to meet Monaghan ,well they are the champion of Ulster so they set the standard, they are the best , so to be the best we have to beat the best.
If Monaghan beat us so be it, saw that happen last year but also saw Down beat us in an U final plus saw Tyrone/Armagh beat us in U Finals.

But I have not seen Donegal beat Monaghan in an Ulster Final and that's having bee at all Donegal's finals since 1983.
As Monaghan got the Tyrone monkey off their backs this year, it might be Donegal's turn now to offload the Monaghan monkey.
Do you know what :::I think this is going to be the year of the monkey.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 06/07/2014 19:31:50    1614760

Take. Bow Dick Clerkin, what a man. At the start of the year he was only going to be an impact sub, for me he's playing the best football of his life, keep it up. Donegal supporters have 2 week's to get their excuses ready, the last 2 excuses were in the Ulster final they were tired, in the league final they weren't trying so have a good one ready this time,FEAR OF THE FARNEY.

hutto (Monaghan) - Posts: 171 - 06/07/2014 19:37:16    1614764

hutto
County: Monaghan

Donegal supporters have 2 week's to get their excuses ready, the last 2 excuses were in the Ulster final they were tired, in the league final they weren't trying so have a good one ready this time,FEAR OF THE FARNEY.

hutto,

You forgot the excuses that were made after the Donegal's magnificent victory in Letterkenny, way understrength if memory serves me right.

I just thought I would throw that in, for balance like. It is going to be a long two weeks.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 06/07/2014 19:57:35    1614779