Dublin out of Croker

Can i just quell a myth that all the Dubs fans are only too happy to have all our games in Croker...
Its just that, a myth.
I would love, absolutely LOVE if this game Sunday was in Portlaoise or Tullamore. The craic we would have would be epic and we would bring a massive crowd to it.
I honestly think the GAA are missing a trick big time not having the provincial games out of Croker. No Dubs fan would object to playing Offaly, Laois, Kildare etc in a neutral venue atall. And Jesus could you imagine the buzz of a Dublin Meath Leinster semi final played in a packed out Portlaoise or even Navan!

The game Sunday will be lucky to get 40,000 between the 4 teams and the atmosphere chances are will be poor
Imagine Dublin Laois, Stand Alone game in Portlaoise/Tullamore and the place packed out with both fans....

Surely the GAA can see the sense in this.

Get the Dubs out of Croker till the Leinster Final if we get there.

Make Croker a reward, not a privilige

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/06/2014 16:10:05    1598075

Don't listen to Liamo!

The only reason he wants more Dubs games in Portlaoise is coz be lives in Limerick!

I know your game bud!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 04/06/2014 16:21:05    1598086

Would be handy alright Mes ;)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/06/2014 16:22:28    1598088

To be honest, the whole Dubs in Croker was never a rattle against the Dub's followers.

It was against the authorities who insist on playing every game possible in Croke Park whether it suits followers from other counties or not. I would also say though that it is an advantage to play the vast majority of your games on your own home patch, but again this is not the Dub followers fault.

The Div 2 final a few weeks ago was a case in point. If that game had been played in Omagh far more Ulster folk would have gone to it, me for one. Omagh is a central location & it would have given the businesses in the town a good day also.

So in essence Liam, I agree with you 100%

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 04/06/2014 16:31:41    1598093

Dublin Hurlers play more of their games outside Croker than in it....

Not too many travel to see them though....!!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 04/06/2014 16:33:30    1598095

Fionn

Dublin Hurlers play more of their games outside Croker than in it....

Not too many travel to see them though....!!

In fairness Fionn a lot of Dublin fans think a hurling game has only one half , hence them all walking in with 30 odd minutes to go , but the core that are there in fairness are passionate and loyal enough .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 04/06/2014 17:12:51    1598129

Liam, did you not start an identical thread on this about 6 weeks ago?!......there was a thread on this only 6 weeks ago!!!!!!!!!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 04/06/2014 17:29:16    1598142

Laois need the wide open expanse of croker to fully express ourselves.
The big teams thrive on the big stage.
Hence why we would never hand Dublin an advantage by letting the match be played in portlaoise.

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 04/06/2014 17:35:14    1598151

I can understand the GAA's thinking from a financial point of view, as Dublin bring a big home crowd and Croker can cater for that. Naturally they want more ticket sales, and it is marvellous facility to have and is there to be used.

I suppose I can also understand from a competitive point of view that playing in Croke park gives Dublin home advantage in every game they play there. So opposition teams may often feel an a severe disadvantage from the word go.

Outside of Croke Park, there isn't many suitable stadiums in Leinster that can cater for the huge crowds Dublin bring during later stages of the Leinster Championship. So until that is addressed, Croke Park is the only viable option for big games involving the Dubs.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 04/06/2014 17:47:49    1598163

Think the extent to which Dublin fans are willing to travel was highlighted by the U21 AI final a number of weeks back when they were outnumbered by at least 5:1 by Roscommon fans. Dubs just don't be bothered travelling...

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 04/06/2014 17:49:41    1598164

blacknamber

Think the extent to which Dublin fans are willing to travel was highlighted by the U21 AI final a number of weeks back when they were outnumbered by at least 5:1 by Roscommon fans. Dubs just don't be bothered travelling...

Ha!

How many Kerry people make the the bi-annual trip to Páirc Uí Rinn to see your U21s lose to Cork?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 04/06/2014 17:55:26    1598168

blacknamber

2+ 2 = couldn't be bothered to reason a proper input , but pipe up with first thing that came into my head , Ok so lets see where are you correct , well u21s are not well attended so jump to top of the classes , AH before taking your seat return to the back don't pass go don't collect €200 , you see any evidence over last thirty years will tell you we travel for Senior team , rare is the opportunity , would you like to rhyme off games at which the blue army didn't travel ? Or were you just giving your opinion as fact , lazy-boy 500 lines I must not use stereotype answers as if my own opinion .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 04/06/2014 18:00:45    1598171

This again ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 04/06/2014 18:04:09    1598173

liamo

come off it would you
you say be lucky to attrcat 40 thousand like 40 thousand is nothing!!!
games in ulster that had 16 and 18 thousand so far were hailed as brilliant corwds and well supported ulster championship.
40 thousand is bigger then must matches up to the all ireland quarter finals

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/06/2014 18:04:54    1598174

ah the old home advanatge myth again i see
well tyrone couldnt win at home to down but went away to down and won well
westmeath were beaten at home to louth
antrim who were given barely any chance went to brewster park and beat fermanagh who were at home
derry had home advantage against donegal didnt do much for the scoreline.
london had the fortress rusilip home advantage yet galway hammered them
wicklow had another fortress aughrim home advantage yet laois went there and kicked 21 points on their way to victory
last weekend in the hurling tipp had home advantage in thurles against limerick yet it was limerick who came out on top
so far there has barely been a HOME WIN NEVER MIND ADVANTAGE
the best team wins on the day regardless of if the match is on the moon

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/06/2014 18:09:54    1598176

This again ?
--------------------------

Exactly!!......By one of our own, who is fast becoming a serial 'national moan threader' about his very own county!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 04/06/2014 18:10:58    1598178

Guys this is nonsense. We would all love to see it, and Liam you are right, a lot of Dubs who normally don't travel will!

But a big crowd in Portlaoise!? Firstly there's little access. Yes, the M7 passes right by, but if you take the town exit you'll have to pay for parking and walk a distance, plus the traffic will snake along. The lucky ones (early ones) will take the second exit, and get a spot in the underground car park (pay) adjacent to the stadium. Everyone else will have to park on grass verges which means driving over pedestrian footpaths and cycle lanes. Dublin hurlers played there a couple of years ago against the Cats and the slip road was a car park and people were parking on the far side of the roundabout as there was no parking. There are no buses to carry people in from these impromptu car parks. Traffic management was non existent that day! Took an eternity for most people to get away from the ground a afterwards.

The Dublin footballers will draw a massive crowd down to Portlaoise. And another poster in an earlier thread mentioned Semple isn't up to scratch, and for the price of a ticket you expect minimum standards. For the cost of a ticket these days I want some infrastructure. The likes of Portlaiose is fine for a small enough crowd. But what I seen two years ago leads me to believe Portlaoise can't handle a big crowd. I've been to Portlaiose to watch loads of games since. But I still think a Dublin footballers bandwagon would be a nightmare down there. Lack of parking, no buses......

And strangely there are no bars right beside the ground! In all the times I was in Portlaoise I never had a pint! You have to walk by pubs in Mullingar, Newbridge, Navan etc. You don't need to in Portlaoise! So I'm not sure the Dubs will be a massive boost to the economy down there!

People will reminus Dublin played there plenty in the past

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 04/06/2014 18:17:06    1598186

There is a train station in Portlaoise. There's Bus Eireann, JJ Kavanagh and the green airport bus thing. Jeez ye lads do need to get out and travel a bit. Dublin being the hub for nearly all public transport it's easy for ye to get from Dublin to almost anywhere. If there's any county that can travel with minimum fuss it's surely Dublin.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 04/06/2014 18:50:21    1598206

Im starting to think Liam is down the country too long , when I see threads like this .it only ends in tears ;)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 04/06/2014 19:00:23    1598214

Listen at the end of the day the culchies get what the culchies want.

If they want the Dubs on the road they'll get the Dubs on the road and if they want the Dubs in Croker then that's where the Dubs will play.

It's up to the culchies where we play and so far they want us to play in Croker. It is as simple as that!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 04/06/2014 19:03:28    1598216