Donegal players help Galway man save his turf

Not the sort of thread usually seen on HS but this story was too good to let pass.

The Naomh Columba players, from my neighbouring parish & great rivals, were taking a break during the Comortas competition in Galway last weekend when they saw a Galway man saving his turf on his own.

So the Glen lads piled off the bus & gave him a helping hand for a couple of hours.

Where else but in the GAA would you see it?

Full story here http://www.hoganstand.com/Donegal/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=217

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 04/06/2014 11:57:43    1597779

Fair play to them .

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 04/06/2014 12:16:24    1597801

FAIR PLAY TO THEM?
Id have the all arrested and thrown in jail for breaking EU regulations!

juniorbsub (Wexford) - Posts: 646 - 04/06/2014 12:23:45    1597812

Great story - well done to all involved. Think will they return to help him save the hay?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 04/06/2014 12:27:57    1597818

Hon the lads!!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 04/06/2014 13:34:57    1597894

Damned right, sure you wouldn't see the Dubs getting their hands dirty like that now would you.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 04/06/2014 14:07:04    1597926

The Galway turfcutters have ming to look after them in Europe now! They can cut away to their hearts content.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2987 - 04/06/2014 14:07:49    1597927

I heard he had to do it all over again after they left, they made a right mess of it. Bit like the dubs and the 1946 harvest no harm to them.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 04/06/2014 14:45:24    1597961

Heard He was really impressed and with those type of young men in Donegal, He can now see how they win the 2012 All Ireland in a canter He now will have a second team to support this year ( Donegal) No matter where we (Donegal people) go we are capable of creating SENSATIONAL headlines. Not a bad place to start :::: in the bog and that's where we have a big advantage over the Dubs.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 04/06/2014 14:53:32    1597969

s goldrick

I heard he had to do it all over again after they left, they made a right mess of it. Bit like the dubs and the 1946 harvest no harm to them.

HaHa Goldrick, very good.

Talking about the 1946 harvest, my father, who was teaching in Dublin at the time, worked on that harvest. He told me that country lads like himself spent more time tidying up after Dubs than anything else!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 04/06/2014 14:57:59    1597979

The 1946 'harvest volunteers'!.....As Colm O'Rourke once said "Its takes the auld Dub for the hard road"!
We have been bailing this country out for long enough whilst others loll about!

Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 04/06/2014 14:59:02    1597980

Apparently Spillane was giving out about their technique - called it Puke Footing.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 04/06/2014 15:25:09    1598012

Kilcar win the All Ireland Gaeltacht and the men from Glen still manage to upstage them... Kilcar men must be sickened!!!

HandballRef (Donegal) - Posts: 520 - 04/06/2014 17:31:43    1598145

Thon Baywatch doll on Sky can foot my turf any time shes passing ;)

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 04/06/2014 17:38:58    1598159

brendtheredhand

Damned right, sure you wouldn't see the Dubs getting their hands dirty like that now would you.

----
Damn right you would. We'd have tied the aul fella up, stacked the bus full of turf and beelined for the capital.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 04/06/2014 18:13:47    1598180

HandballRef

Kilcar win the All Ireland Gaeltacht and the men from Glen still manage to upstage them... Kilcar men must be sickened!!!

God no, we're a magnaminous lot in Kilcar & despite the rivalry, the Glen people are our neighbours.

Fair play to the lads, if that was a busload of Dubs they would probably have mugged him, stolen his turf & tried to smoke it on the way back home.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 04/06/2014 18:23:31    1598189

That's all the culchies are good for ... a bit of manual work. It would have taken one Dub 5 minutes to show him to maximise his turf cutting and get it done more quickly.....

Bet the cute aul hoor had been talking to a Dub 5 minutes earlier who alerted him to a bus full of gullible footballers coming up the road!

This isn't the first Donegal team to park a bus!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 04/06/2014 18:28:38    1598191

JayP

This isn't the first Donegal team to park a bus!

----
Like it JayP.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 04/06/2014 18:34:41    1598198

SamOnErrigal

1597969 Heard He was really impressed and with those type of young men in Donegal, He can now see how they win the 2012 All Ireland in a canter He now will have a second team to support this year ( Donegal) No matter where we (Donegal people) go we are capable of creating SENSATIONAL headlines. Not a bad place to start :::: in the bog and that's where we have a big advantage over the Dubs.

The bog, good place for Shiite football alright Sam ;)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 04/06/2014 18:56:50    1598211

Muckross.
I think you are going a bit too far now.
You mean to tell me that the Dubs are not clever enough to know that you burn turf on the fire to create heat. Where did you get this idea from that they would smoke the turf themselves?? Can't see them being that Daft or stupid.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 04/06/2014 20:33:35    1598264