Is there anything good at all about the GAA

Just reading some of the most recent posts on HS and couldn't help notice how negative the majority of posts were , I would ask some posters Do You Even Like Our Game ????
Constant comparisons to other sports , some with validation others less so , some may argue we should learn from rugby with the clock and the sin bin etc others constantly refering to soccer which in my opinion has lost its soul and is as close to a non contact sport as you will get . Id be of the thought they could do with a bit of leaning from us .
We constantly go on about our administrators , in comparison to many sports are they that bad ? A world cup in Qatar ? Many sports organisations unable to enforce drug testing procedures and in conflict with WDA , pricing of major sporting events v our own game . But this isn't about other sports its about our game , why do we watch ? Why do we play ? Where does the pride come from ? Why does IT matter ?
I can answer questions posed for me personally , in addition I am not against debate , Im not against change ? I recognise HQ makes mistakes , player welfare and club players being some areas of major concern , as is promotion of both codes in areas of country not up to scratch . But I do believe Im involved in the two best field sports games there is bar none .and more than happy to say it

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 17/04/2014 15:27:16    1576389

The games are great!.....its the 'OFFICIALDOM' that pulls the strings behind it all that people dislike!!

Rather naive of you to question whether people 'LIKE' the games or not, and not instead see that people are not complaining about the 'sport' itself but rather the decisions of the 'suits' behind it all, e.g.
SKY deal,
Dubs in Croker all the time,
Sports council grant,
Fixture timings etc.

Cant you see that these are issues of the 'suits' and noting to do with the actual GAA sports?!!!!

Con you not separate between the two?

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 17/04/2014 16:12:54    1576422

Our games have survived against all the odds in my opinion. Irish people love to moan, and that's all they do, moan. Hats off to the GAA and their doggedness in today's glamorous commercialised world!!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 17/04/2014 16:19:47    1576431

I honestly think the problem is simple = we're in a slow month, between mid April and mid May there aren't too many inter county teams in action so naturally Irish people decide to engage in their favourite pastimes = complain, resist change and most importantly = don't act on any threats made whatsoever.

Come the last week of May and early June the Gaa will be the best thing since sliced bread and all will be forgotten....well until Sky broadcasts their first game that is. Then we'll have another wave of "Maurice Davin will be turning in his grave", "I'm tearing up my membership", "what about aul Jim up the road who still only has the rabbit ears" etc etc etc but again it will blow over by mid July and all will be well again.

......well until the Meath beat the Dubs in the Leinster final with a last minute knocked on try then it will be "those Meath s***bags", "cheats", "replay replay replay" but again all will be well by bank holiday August...........UNTIL Joe McQuillan gets to referee another Dublin AI final match, then it will be "Joe's after handing Dublin another AI", "that was never a free in at the end", "he blew the whistle too early", "the Gaa always favours the Dubs" etc etc etc

You gotta love Gaa, the summer wouldn't be the same without it :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 17/04/2014 16:39:54    1576441

Dublin!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 17/04/2014 16:47:07    1576449

17/04/2014 16:19:47
realdub

Our games have survived against all the odds in my opinion. Irish people love to moan, and that's all they do, moan. Hats off to the GAA and their doggedness in today's glamorous commercialised world!!!

158 posts one reply on is there anything good about the Gaa , now stick up a post on dubs playing at home for the one millionth time , or we win because of population or top ten things you hate about GAA and watch them flock .you hit the nail on the head realdub no doubt .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 17/04/2014 16:49:22    1576452

agree totally its an irish attiude devloped in last twenty years or so
that we think anything in ireland is inferior to non irish things
and if you dare say anything else your living in the past your told
when really these people are the ones living with their eyes shut and brains washed by the differant mediums running the world

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/04/2014 16:51:07    1576454

Snufalufagus

The games are great!.....its the 'OFFICIALDOM' that pulls the strings behind it all that people dislike!!

Rather naive of you to question whether people 'LIKE' the games or not, and not instead see that people are not complaining about the 'sport' itself but rather the decisions of the 'suits' behind it all, e.g.
SKY deal,
Dubs in Croker all the time,
Sports council grant,
Fixture timings etc.

Cant you see that these are issues of the 'suits' and noting to do with the actual GAA sports?!!!!

Con you not separate between the two?

How nice of you to jump to the defence of all concerned , there are several posts that I could point to that back up my point were there are those who would have a hybrid non contact sport given their way , that has nothing to do with officialdom , there are those that turn umpteen threads into a hurling v football thread , I could go on , but thank you Snuff for your positive input --- whoops sorry my mistake it wasn't positive .
There are those on here interested in honest debate and I enjoy reading their posts , and there are those who moan about , HQ , RTE , Referees, Coaches, Rules , Dublin ( a lot ) , and on and on thats my point .As Realdub put it the irish way .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 17/04/2014 17:00:39    1576459

17/04/2014 16:39:54
Htaem

I honestly think the problem is simple = we're in a slow month, between mid April and mid May there aren't too many inter county teams in action so naturally Irish people decide to engage in their favourite pastimes = complain, resist change and most importantly = don't act on any threats made whatsoever.

Come the last week of May and early June the Gaa will be the best thing since sliced bread and all will be forgotten....well until Sky broadcasts their first game that is. Then we'll have another wave of "Maurice Davin will be turning in his grave", "I'm tearing up my membership", "what about aul Jim up the road who still only has the rabbit ears" etc etc etc but again it will blow over by mid July and all will be well again.

......well until the Meath beat the Dubs in the Leinster final with a last minute knocked on try then it will be "those Meath s***bags", "cheats", "replay replay replay" but again all will be well by bank holiday August...........UNTIL Joe McQuillan gets to referee another Dublin AI final match, then it will be "Joe's after handing Dublin another AI", "that was never a free in at the end", "he blew the whistle too early", "the Gaa always favours the Dubs" etc etc etc

You gotta love Gaa, the summer wouldn't be the same without it :-)
17/04/2014 16:47:07

Ha ha bring it on

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 17/04/2014 17:02:17    1576461

A country of begrudgers and inferiority complexes Damo!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 17/04/2014 17:05:34    1576463

If it wasn't for the Dubs everything would be fine.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 17/04/2014 17:28:49    1576473

There are those who moan about , HQ , RTE , Referees, Coaches, Rules , Dublin ( a lot ) , and on and on thats my point.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------

HQ = Officialdom,
Refs = Officialdom
Rules = Officialdom
RTE = Officialdom

..............notice a trend there Damodub????? People complain about Officialdom and not the 'games'!!!! Can you grasp that at all?

You should really me more precise when when claiming "do people 'like' the GAA at all" as such a daft and open eneded statement to GAA fans deserved the distain I have shown it!

Do not blame me for showing up your inability to separate 'Our Games' from the 'Administration and Administrators of our Games' and which one of those two that people on here actually 'dislike' and cause consternation!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 17/04/2014 17:33:03    1576474

:D @ Muckrosshead

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 17/04/2014 17:34:40    1576476

MuckrossHead

If it wasn't for the Dubs everything would be fine.

Always good to hear!

Music to our ears.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 17/04/2014 17:38:12    1576480

The games are good, more fast moving and entertaining than other sports. The craic at a match. The camaraderie amongst supporters.

Incidentally I don't think there is anything wrong with comparing the GAA or anything else Irish to what happens in other countries. If another country does something better we shouldn't be afraid to copy it. For example I don't see anyone arguing against sponsors on jerseys anymore, but once upon a time that was a big deal.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 17/04/2014 18:27:10    1576498

Back in the day of hawkers at games you use to get a free spoon with a tub of ice cream.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3743 - 17/04/2014 19:46:41    1576530

Agree with every word Snuf says, officials are the only negative in the association IMO. Her Loughnane got it right years ago when he said something similar and likening them to mushrooms!!!! Fair play to Snuf, he got it in one.

theborderfox (Monaghan) - Posts: 138 - 17/04/2014 20:05:05    1576534

I was just saying that to someone last week analyser! Now, if you buy something that requires spooning you have to bring your own fkn spoon. No wonder we are where we are :-(

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 17/04/2014 20:18:48    1576536

17/04/2014 17:33:03
Snufalufagus

There are those who moan about , HQ , RTE , Referees, Coaches, Rules , Dublin ( a lot ) , and on and on thats my point.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------

HQ = Officialdom,
Refs = Officialdom
Rules = Officialdom
RTE = Officialdom

..............notice a trend there Damodub????? People complain about Officialdom and not the 'games'!!!! Can you grasp that at all?

You should really me more precise when when claiming "do people 'like' the GAA at all" as such a daft and open eneded statement to GAA fans deserved the distain I have shown it!

Do not blame me for showing up your inability to separate 'Our Games' from the 'Administration and Administrators of our Games' and which one of those two that people on here actually 'dislike' and cause consternation!!

Check your punctuation on last two posts if your going to be precise ,
Other posters not as offended as your self Snuffaflockalot

No I don't blame you for showing me up as you put it , Id have to care what you think first , and trust me that wont happen any day soon .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 17/04/2014 20:26:47    1576542

Do you require some spooning hurlingdub :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 17/04/2014 20:27:13    1576544