Aidan O Shea's interview!

Interesting to read how he sees the game evolving in the future! What do ye the posters think. His full interview in today's Independent.

bananapublican (Leitrim) - Posts: 878 - 16/04/2014 10:11:38    1575816

Sky might count how many times he carries the ball into the tackle, and then the penny might drop...

He would be better concentrating on his football than giving the media ammo to fire at him when it suits them. Naive...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 16/04/2014 10:19:05    1575821

I was actually only thinking this morning that he has been very outspoken recently. A little bit whingey even.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 16/04/2014 10:40:34    1575833

tallking nonsnesense. the commentators did say that wexford dublin game was terrible. The monaghan cavan game last year was the worst peice of sport iv ever seen in my life and in fairness the commentators tried to save it

Fishermantom (Limerick) - Posts: 569 - 16/04/2014 10:41:19    1575835

Didn't that match produce the gem of commentating that was 'constipated hurling'? I'd consider that criticism.

RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 16/04/2014 10:50:32    1575843

A few things having just read the article in full , he definetly sees the money signs but wont actually come out and say he wants to be paid ,who's to say that his idea on franchise is not going to happen its an opinion and he's entitled to it , its not one I share but as we are talking the future well we will leave that one to the judge , describing a scenario were teams find it hard to compete well thats hardly anything new ,is it ?
On the black card didnt talk about what has happened , but rather what could happen etc not too insightful, we are all for raising profile of the game and to do so we need county players talking to media , just be careful what you wish for .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 16/04/2014 10:52:59    1575848

Ha Master

good post!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 16/04/2014 11:01:21    1575856

RebelCork

1575843 Didn't that match produce the gem of commentating that was 'constipated hurling'? I'd consider that criticism.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 16/04/2014 11:08:47    1575864

I was at the Dublin Wexford match in Wexford Park and it had the crowd on the edge of their seats. I doubt O'Shea was even watching it.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 16/04/2014 11:18:42    1575871

He's one of the most best known players in football, very marketable and is just getting his profile built-up in time for the Sky coverage to kick in. He surely has an agent. He might want to say something a bit more controversial than 'RTE are a bit lazy' and it'd be an idea to join up some county teams, if he wants to build it a bit more. Might take a few tips from Conor Mort on the media front, a man who pops up more often than Bosco.

O'Shea is a decent bloke, just trying to get a few quid from his name. I think there's great scope for him to improve as a player, needs to get fitter and faster and know when to hold the ball and when to pass or shoot. I'd prefer him to stay between the 40s more too. Might look for a media role after his playing days and build up his profile good and early. I can't see anything wrong with that, he's not the first and won't be the last.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 16/04/2014 11:57:18    1575897

He is entitled to his opinion, I assume the newspaper asked him for the interview. I wouldn't get worked up, makes some interesting points, others not so much. I would agree that Id rather not hear much from Mayo players in the media though at this stage....plenty of work to do on the training field me thinks.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 16/04/2014 12:05:12    1575906

I was at the Dublin Wexford match in Wexford Park and it had the crowd on the edge of their seats.

Think that had more to do with the deal between the GAA and Weightwatchers Ireland for that particular game....

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 16/04/2014 12:07:52    1575908

I am very surprised at the amount of posters backing rte here. I think he is dead right especially the the holy trinity of Spillane O Rourke and to a lesser extent Brolly.

bugsie (Leitrim) - Posts: 199 - 16/04/2014 12:09:59    1575910

I am very surprised at the amount of posters backing rte here. I think he is dead right especially the the holy trinity of Spillane O Rourke and to a lesser extent Brolly.

bugsie (Leitrim) - Posts: 199 - 16/04/2014 12:10:12    1575911

16/04/2014 11:57:18
GreenandRed

O'Shea is a decent bloke, just trying to get a few quid from his name. I think there's great scope for him to improve as a player, needs to get fitter and faster and know when to hold the ball and when to pass or shoot. I'd prefer him to stay between the 40s more too. Might look for a media role after his playing days and build up his profile good and early. I can't see anything wrong with that, he's not the first and won't be the last.

What age is he, about 23? Bit early to be thinking about a post-playing media role, and he's clearly looking at what he can get out of this sky deal. Nothing wrong with having an opinion on things but he'd be better served focusing on his own game, as all players should be first and foremost.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 16/04/2014 12:16:33    1575916

he is spot on about rte, im trilled that sky might / rattle them as as for wexford park yes we on edges of seats but it was a dire game brutal standard of huring by both teams cop on

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2840 - 16/04/2014 12:26:59    1575920

he is spot on about rte, im trilled that sky might / rattle them as as for wexford park yes we on edges of seats but it was a dire game brutal standard of huring by both teams cop on

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2840 - 16/04/2014 12:27:14    1575921

True Patk, I'd like to see him improve his game first too. But he can still have a few media gigs at that young age. Hopefully he'll not be analysing any games before September!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 16/04/2014 12:27:35    1575924

hurlingdub

1575871 I was at the Dublin Wexford match in Wexford Park and it had the crowd on the edge of their seats. I doubt O'Shea was even watching it.

You certainly wouldn't be on the edge of your seat at Pairc Ui Chaoimh.

batterburger (Cork) - Posts: 161 - 16/04/2014 12:35:03    1575934

Eat less burgers batter and you'll be fine. granted the last time I was in Pairc Ui Caoimh I was in the uncovered side of the ground.

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 16/04/2014 13:08:42    1575948