Stop favouring the Dubs! - Leinster & Central.

THIS IS NOT A RANT AGAINST THE DUBS OR THEIR GREAT SUPPORTERS, WHO HAVE SHOWN DOWN THE YEARS WHAT GREAT TRAVELING SUPPORTERS THEY ARE. IT IS A RANT AGAINST THE LEINSTER & CENTRAL COUNCILS PREFERENTIAL TREATMENT OF THEM, UNJUSTIFIABLY SO IN MY OPINION.

Is anyone other then me completely and utterly peeved at with the GAA in their treatment of the dubs. The theory goes that the Dubs will rarely if ever move their games out of Croke park, because of the attendances. BUT DO THE FACTS BACK THIS UP? For certain games yes, Leinster Final, and AIQF, SF and Final.

Take last years quarter final v Westmeath, there were 33,000 in Croker, that included a double header with Offaly v Kildare. I am certain that figure would have been achieved if stand alone fixtures had been held in say Tullamore and Mullingar. Leinster semi v Kildare, 50,000 that also included Meath v Wexford, again, stand alone fixtures would have come close to this.
Even last Sundays league semi's only attracted 30,000, crowds that would have been matched if say Pairc Uí Chaoimh and Castlebar had held these games. (They should have because cork finished 1st and Mayo finished 2nd in the regular season.)

EVEN IF THE DUBS WERE GUARANTEED 60,000 EVERYTIME THEY PLAYED IN CROKER, WHY SHOULD THEY BE GUARANTEED TO PLAY THERE? The Leinster council have already said there is no chance of them going to Portlaoise should Laois overcome Wicklow, even though Laois have a ground capable of holding the crowd. An all ticket game at a ground like Portlaoise or Nowlan Park is far better than a third full Croke park, as Dublin had for the Leinster quaters this time last year. Donegal refused to give up home advantage against Tyrone last year, and it was far better than a half full clones.

Again, NOTHING AGAINST THE DUBS WHO ARE BRILLIANT SUPPORTERS, AND MANY OF THOSE I KNOW WOULD LOVE ROAD TRIPS. I just think there should be a level playing field in terms of travel and boost to local economies. Just think back to last Sunday and the distances Rory O Carroll and Brian Hurley had travel.

galwaydublin (Galway) - Posts: 226 - 15/04/2014 12:04:31    1575411

You know you'll now be accused of being Anti Dublin. Personally I've become totally disillusioned with the whole lot. However if you dare have an opinion on the matter you'll be accused of being bitter and a begrudger.

batterburger (Cork) - Posts: 161 - 15/04/2014 12:45:23    1575435

batterburger

1575435 You know you'll now be accused of being Anti Dublin. Personally I've become totally disillusioned with the whole lot. However if you dare have an opinion on the matter you'll be accused of being bitter and a begrudger.

Eh hello no he wont,he makes perfectly true and valid points.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 15/04/2014 12:56:25    1575442

Dublins continued overuse of Croke Park is certainly a major issue in equality of our games, but to be fair I dont think it has a huge impact on Match Results. Dublin are a great side, end of story. I have no doubt they would beat any of their Leinster oppostion away from Croke Park, with ease might I add. However it is unfair for local economies to miss out, as you have stated.

One major gripe with Dublin however is the southern media's refusal to point out the cynical and dirty side of their game. Dublin on their way to victory against my own county committed three times as many fouls, men were head locked, others were sent off only to be replaced by a sub? Now if my own side had committed three times as many fouls against Dublin, TYRONE would have been hung to dry by the media.

It is unfair but there is no taking away from it that Dublin are a good team but they are as dirty if not more so than any side. They spoiled Tyrones come back in Omagh, by continous fouling.

Game2Halves (Tyrone) - Posts: 265 - 15/04/2014 13:01:05    1575445

I agree with you. They need to reconsider their approach. There are towns that could really do with the few pound these games would bring, and when they can they should spread it around, not to mention keeping interest in the gaa strong around the country. The people in these towns are just as much a part of the gaa as people from anywhere else. But the gaa seems to have forgotten them. Your example of the 2 semi finals was a perfect one. They were never going to fill croke park, so why not put one in castlebar and one in cork? There isnt a single good reason to play them in croke park. There are some people who cant go up to dublin who would love to see a big occasion like that and have been gaa fans all their lives, and you know it would mean a lot to them to attend a national semi final. Similarly, young kids are more likely to attend when their parent dont have to trek up to dublin with them. It is sad that they are forgotten entirely by the gaa, in favour of playing games in dublin for what appears to be the sake of it, as the crowds attending could be matched easily elsewhere. You see all those dublin youngsters at the matches on tv and that should be youngsters from every county getting the same chance.

I could understand it more when Croke Park still had debts, but it is debt free now. Meanwhile other stadia around the country still have debts and they are left to fend for themselves. What happened to the gaa community? Personally I cannot fathom how the gaa are not doing this already. The gaa is for everyone, and sport is built on the ethos of fair play. It sends out the wrong message and creates a them v us mentality. The league is the perfect opportunity to spread the wealth of intercounty gaa all over and they are blowing it. You have to wonder where their interests lay when they dont recognise this, in my mind, most obvious of obvious moves.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/04/2014 13:11:06    1575452

Latest version of a rehashed argument on here.

Dublin County Board do not control fixtures or the allocation of grounds. Wouldn't mind a trip away, sure look at the numbers up in Tyrone and in Mullingar this year in the league. Dublin fans will travel.

A double header in Croke Park early in the Championship where Kildare or Meath and Dublin are involved in ties brings a fairly decent crowd.

Unfortunately I disagree about Portlaoise etc being a capable venue for holding Dublin Football games. Access to Portlaoise, and parking are really bad around Portlaoise. And Dublin playing Laois away will bring a massive swell in numbers. The hurling match against Kilkenny caused significant problems and parking is inadequate around the stadium. Now you may say this is similar with Croke Park but the bus/train system around Croke Park is handy enough for getting in and around Croke Park.

If the Dublin football bandwagon was brought to Portlaoise things like parking/policing becomes an issue. I know people will say "hang on, Dublin used to play away" but the numbers travelling to games are bigger than ever. Traffic disruption, policing and parking are all issues.

And then comes finances, Dublin in Croke Park is a financial winner for the GAA, unfortunately that's just the way it is.

All in all, I'm all for a sunny day down in Thurles/Portlaoise/Navan....... Dublin don't become a poorer team by playing away. I understand the frustration of fans of other counties, but the Leinster Council decide the venues in consultation with Croke Park, so its a question for them to answer. Dublin fans are quite happy to travel.....but we don't mind playing in Croke Park either for obvious reasons!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 15/04/2014 13:13:16    1575453

15/04/2014 12:45:23
batterburger

You know you'll now be accused of being Anti Dublin. Personally I've become totally disillusioned with the whole lot. However if you dare have an opinion on the matter you'll be accused of being bitter and a begrudger.

Batterburger not surprised your disillusioned , doubt it has anything to do with travelling more a mauling .
Original poster have no issue with you raising your point , however Im wondering if you are in fact a new poster 3 posts only , the reason I suggest this is due to fact that topic has been debated to death over the last 18 months , only someone who didn't know that would post it as a new topic .or are you in disguise ?
So let me tell you how this plays out as you have cast your fish net , it will be pounced upon by usual posters easily named , and defended with vigour by some Dubs posters , eventually a cat fight will break out by which time most sane posters will have died of boredom and moved onto some thing more exciting to debate ,
If you don't believe me scroll through previous posts and see if Im wrong .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 15/04/2014 13:19:10    1575458

You have written to the GAA to complain about this yes?

The GAA do what suits them, the organisation is a joke!

Even Offaly conceed that they should be down in Div 2A of the hurling leagues while kerry go up to 1B.....but they aint gonna volunteer to do it!
The point being made is that the GAA have their set up that they work to and thats that!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 15/04/2014 13:21:51    1575459

batterburger

Lies.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 15/04/2014 13:25:50    1575462

batterburger

dont think its being ant-Dublin at all BB. Most of the Dublin posters on here will admit its an advantage. It is, but by how much? I heard David Brady on OTB last night saying he didn't think it was, 'it was just some grass' while Woolie got his smalls in a knot. If a team is good enough they'll beat us. The point about the distance players have to travel is valid but the bean counters in HQ dont give a ****!
So what do you do?
A

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 15/04/2014 13:35:44    1575468

Personally I've become totally disillusioned with the whole lot

You're totally disillusioned about the Leinster Council?

Strange chap.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 15/04/2014 13:50:39    1575475

The Dubs in fairness to them would for the most part like to play away from CP. The OP is correct its the Leinster Council and GAA that are at fault.
A league semi between Cork and Dublin should be midlands i.e. Portlaoise, Thurles etc.
For championship home & away agreements should be implemented across the board, particularly at preliminary and QF level. Dublin should be included in it. Now a Leinster QF between Dublin and Meath cant be played in Navan. Nor could a Munster SH semi between Waterford and Cork be played in Walsh Park.
In those scenarios the 'home' team should be allowed to nominate a home ground other than their own that has the capacity.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 15/04/2014 14:03:06    1575479

Yeah a couple of summer road trips would be nice alright. Away league games are ok apart from getting the **** frozen off you.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 15/04/2014 14:05:51    1575480

I as a Dub agree 100%

they should bring the Dubs to Limerick more often...........

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 15/04/2014 14:06:01    1575481

Dublin fill Croke Park better than anyone due to their popularity and population.

The GAA want Croke Park filled as often as possible to line it's coffers so it makes perfect sense to promote and develop GAA in Dublin as much as possible in hurling and football thus giving them an overwhelming advantage compared to other counties.

This is one of the main reasons why Dublin now are miles ahead of everyone in football and it's only a matter of time before the hurlers do too.

The big sponsors now all want to sponsor Dublin teams and it's a case of them getting stronger and stronger with everyone else lagging behind.

Expect a monopoly of AI's in the capital for the next 10 years.

Gone are the days of counties competing from a level playing field - Dublin are miles ahead of everyone.

Laytown Legend (None) - Posts: 424 - 15/04/2014 14:14:34    1575485

Basically in the 00's when Dublin were rubbish we loved playing them in Croker now that there good and hammer everyone it's a disgrace they play all there games in Croker. This has been done over and over please not another 20 pages of this.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 15/04/2014 14:18:35    1575487

Haha damo :)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 15/04/2014 14:18:57    1575488

Agree with the original poster.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 15/04/2014 14:19:29    1575489

1575462 batterburger

Lies.

Really? You know thats not true. I've seen it on numerous occassions where if anyone who offered an opinion on Dublin were accused of wither being anti Dublin or a begrudger. And I'm not talking about the usual few who constantly moan about Dublin.

Why shouldn't we have had home venue against Dublin? We finished top of the pile and yet we had to travel to Croke Park. Leaving aside the utterings of our manager, it should have been decided by the fixture crowd anyway.

So yes I am disillusioned with the GAA as wole. Certain things have happened over the last few years that favour Dublin of that there is no doubt. Its something I cannot understand. I mean its difficult enough to beat Dublin owing to the talent at their disposal without having the extra bits thrown in.

batterburger (Cork) - Posts: 161 - 15/04/2014 14:20:58    1575490

Unfortunately I disagree about Portlaoise etc being a capable venue for holding Dublin Football games. Access to Portlaoise, and parking are really bad around Portlaoise. And Dublin playing Laois away will bring a massive swell in numbers. The hurling match against Kilkenny caused significant problems and parking is inadequate around the stadium. Now you may say this is similar with Croke Park but the bus/train system around Croke Park is handy enough for getting in and around Croke Park.

Oh hang on now I think Portlaoise is far better than most venues for parking and access, it's immediately accessible from the M7 and in all the years travelling there I've never had any major parking issues, always went in good time and found good spots within a short walk of the ground and that was for games where at times the crowd was near capacity. Places like Tullamore, Mullingar or Newbridge would be worse in my opinion in terms of access and parking. O'Moore Park is well fit to hold a potential Laois/Dublin clash as is the town itself, unfortunately Leinster Council, as has been proved with the recent U21 debacle, don't like rocking the Dublin boat. And whilst Dublin don't make the fixtures as was said, they could influence them by declaring a willingness to go on the road at least for a Leinster quarter final, that's not much to ask I don't think

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 15/04/2014 14:25:44    1575494