FAO Breffni39

Made up for you lad :)
Your a long time on here with little to cheer about at senior level. Thought about you at full time yesterday. Congrats man. Happy for you/ye.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 20/05/2013 09:03:57    1386962

Well said Liam!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 20/05/2013 09:41:48    1386977

I was delighted when I heard the Cavan result - well done them and I say Breff could be hungover today

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12122 - 20/05/2013 09:57:34    1386994

Yes great result for them for sure amd happy for Breff but I feel for Armagh too. Jamie Clarkes goal should never have been disallowed!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/05/2013 10:23:27    1387015

Jackeen

1387015 Yes great result for them for sure amd happy for Breff but I feel for Armagh too. Jamie Clarkes goal should never have been disallowed!

Of course it should have. The ref had blown up for the foul before the 'goal' was scored. It was unfortunate from an Armagh point of view but he had blown for the foul.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 20/05/2013 10:32:22    1387027

Advantage should have been played!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/05/2013 10:41:18    1387034

Jackeen

1387034 Advantage should have been played!

Maybe so but he had blown. You could not play advantage after blowing.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 20/05/2013 10:43:58    1387036

My point being why have the advantage rule and not use it? Bad bad decision imo.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/05/2013 10:59:35    1387055

Jackeen

1387055 My point being why have the advantage rule and not use it? Bad bad decision imo.

I agree with the first bit of that but he blew so end off. The free had to be taken. Maybe he shouldn't have blown but he did and he could not have allowed advantage then because the backs could have stopped trying to keep him out.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 20/05/2013 11:10:07    1387069

Because the referee deemed that there was no discernable advantage at the time of the infringement, he blew his whistle, Cavan stopped, Armagh scored, no goal. To be honest, if it had stood Cavan would still have won, they were able to up their game after Armagh pulled it back to with 3/4 points in a way that Armagh could'nt. Not seen an Armagh team so lacking in fight and ideas for some years now, worrying times for the apple pluckers I'd say.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 20/05/2013 11:13:14    1387076

I feel Maurice Deegan hadn't a good game yesterday.

He was very quick to blow up Clarke for the wee pull on his jersey, Clarke was clearly still going forward and held a great goal scoring chance which he duly buried in the Cavan net, it was a poor poor call by referee Deegan. There were numerous other incidents in the game where he played an advantage to a player where there was a pull on their jersey, these were all out field however.

Deegan wasn't so quick to blow the Cavan fullback for handling the ball on the ground inside the square just prior to Armagh's goal, it should have been a penalty to Armagh but he didn't give it.

A lot of other blatant fouls committed by both teams went unpunished.

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 20/05/2013 11:30:57    1387099

Ahhh thanks Liam, we've one hand on Sam now!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 20/05/2013 14:50:06    1387374

I was happy enough for Cavan aswell yesterday, to be honest though I fancied them anyway because Armagh have slipped a long way since 02.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 20/05/2013 14:58:53    1387391

The Breffni are back!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 20/05/2013 15:45:45    1387467

The point surely being that the ref should not have blown until waiting a second or two to see how the play developed. There were other instances in the game when he did allow play to develop and unfortunately its just plain old inconsistency raising its head again. Likewise with punches thrown yesterday not receiving red-cards.

But congrats to all in Cavan, a deserved victory and a real chance of making an Ulster Final in what would be a great boast to supplement all the underage work being done.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 20/05/2013 15:46:00    1387468

ye congrats to Cavan,

As Seany said ,Deegan could easily have waited a couple of secs and then if no advantage blown up then, it makes no sense why he blew up when he did. Cavan were the beater team though.
I hope they get a good run, it gives hope to underage developement and their u21 sucess.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 20/05/2013 15:57:15    1387483

Well done to Cavan yesterday a deserved win. Breff must have drank some pints last night :)

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 20/05/2013 16:39:24    1387530

THE_SNAPPER
County: Louth

Deegan wasn't so quick to blow the Cavan fullback for handling the ball on the ground inside the square just prior to Armagh's goal, it should have been a penalty to Armagh but he didn't give it.

I haven't seen that on TV yet but it looked at the time that he touched the ground just beside the ball. there were alot of incidences yesterday where the ball simply didn't hop it caused the players no end of trouble . lads were soloing and hopping the ball expecting it to bounce but it seemed to sink in the turf. something which caused this particualr scramble in the goalmouth.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 20/05/2013 20:05:43    1387785

So life goes on after seanie

D5dub (Dublin) - Posts: 283 - 20/05/2013 21:06:30    1387860

If he did pull for it it would have been a 14 yards free, the the goal would not have happened so its a disappointment

potnorwindow (Cavan) - Posts: 363 - 20/05/2013 21:19:33    1387876