The Sunday Game coverage 2013

Brolly on both the live show and the highlights!
Jaysus sake RTE once a day is enough!
The other 2 boys are clearly uncomfortable, its
more of a circus than an analysis! Comments?

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 19/05/2013 21:57:31    1386927

Brolly continualy interrupts the other panelists.In my opinion he talks far too slowly and would put you to sleep at times and to be honest him,Spillane and O'Rourke have been their for far too long and should be got rid of, they are just repeating the same stuff they have said countless times before.Pundits should only be allowed on the show for 5 years max.Plenty of GAA men are out their that could do with the extra bit of money.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 20/05/2013 08:27:14    1386941

But he was brilliant on both. He really knows his stuff.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 20/05/2013 08:39:59    1386950

Brolly is still value for money, Without the likes of Joe Brolly we would be bored senseless.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3057 - 20/05/2013 09:21:30    1386969

Joe Brolly is pure entertainment.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 20/05/2013 09:43:01    1386980

If you look at the BCC championship and the panelists there there's nothing better than switching over to RTÉ to watch the 3 comical veterans having the odd argument and dig at each other! 3
Knowledgable and witty men, bring an element of bickering, rivalry and first class entertainment to the game! Lets be honest how many of us will take advantage of sky plus and forward on Brolly, Spilane and O'Rourke? I'd say very little, they're a guilty pleasure and as for Joe sure you either love him or hate him and even if you hate him, you love to hate him!

MissDownFanatic (Down) - Posts: 411 - 20/05/2013 09:52:22    1386988

I thought Id never see Brolly praise Mayo and maybe he went a bit overboard and was mostly winding up Spillane and O'Rourke who backed Galway. I was not surprised O'Rourke went for Galway as he has some sort of love affair for Galway and completely dismissed Mayo....Pat was well Pat - waffling and making it up a bit - kinda funny I suppose.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12122 - 20/05/2013 09:56:18    1386993

When Donegal played V Armagh a few years ago and got hammered, they more or less laughed. Yesterday they seemed to look for excuses for a pathetic Galway team. Brolly was spot on.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 20/05/2013 10:03:16    1386997

Spillane and O'Rourke predicted Galway to win yesterday before the game, says it all really. Mayo the All Ireland finalist last year, league semi this year and going for 3 in a row in Connaught and they predict Galway who are turmoil. Having good footballers no longer is good enough, its about fitness and conditioning, tactics and good footballers. You wont get anywhere if you dont have these.

Mayo are no where near the finish article and I expect Roscommon to give us a stern test. One thing about a Roscommon team is they will play with passion and a never say die attitude and they have some fine footballers coming up. Mayo just have to take one step at a time and hopefully we get to the business end of the championship. No one should be thinking about All Ireland's in Mayo after yesterdays win. It should be the ambition of all the players and the fans but if you think we would of beat Donegal, Dublin, Kerry, Tyrone, Cork with yesterdays performance your wrong.

ballaghmen (Mayo) - Posts: 318 - 20/05/2013 10:06:31    1386998

Truth is it would be boring without him, no one to give out about. He loves the sound of his own voice and poor o hara doesnt stand a chance next to him, Whelan and brolly are a good match in debating the game ,Spillane is very poor when on the back foot and just comes out with cliches.
For pure entertainment value hes gold.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 20/05/2013 10:55:39    1387049

I got back to Dublin at 9.40pm so i only got to see the beginning of the analysis from the galway-mayo game. I was at the game and seemingly Brolly slated Galway during the live programme but in fairness to him last night he was right about what he said re. the analysis. He slated Armagh manager also. i think his interrupting is annoying but in fairness to him he gives good analysis when he isnt slating people and also he adds to the entertainment. O'rourke and spillane are too nice to each other.

also Whelan and o'hara are top notch IMO so fair play to RTE in that respect.

pridengalway (Galway) - Posts: 327 - 20/05/2013 11:03:53    1387060

Brolly is a legend. says it as he sees it. doesnt lick round any county, makes great viewing

themoderngame1 (Down) - Posts: 39 - 20/05/2013 11:08:10    1387067

Again a joke. Spillane and Brolly. Carney co-commentator. Brutal stuff. They're not meant to be entertaining. They're meant to know football and go through the finer technical and tactical points of it, show us things we don't know or couldn't see.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2592 - 20/05/2013 11:18:01    1387085

personally wouldnt watch it if it wasnt for the craic!

themoderngame1 (Down) - Posts: 39 - 20/05/2013 11:24:12    1387089

Brolly is by far the best pundit on there. He's right more often than not too.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1075 - 20/05/2013 11:25:14    1387090

Last night's Sunday Game was terrible, it was like watching the Joe Brolly Show. Also no need for him to continually slate Paul Grimley.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 20/05/2013 11:38:39    1387104

Ah lads Brolly is great, I agreed with everything he said yesterday on both shows. It wouldn't be half as entertaining without him.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/05/2013 11:43:11    1387108

Cute_Kerry_Hoor

Last night's Sunday Game was terrible, it was like watching the Joe Brolly Show. Also no need for him to continually slate Paul Grimley.

Ah Now your on to something why don't with give Joe his own show let him talk about sport politics you name it... Be great craic

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1949 - 20/05/2013 11:52:42    1387116

look its simple brolly is entertaining and a wind up merchant at the same time,as for his opinions if you believed or pay attention to them you would be very foolish.
it was tyrone who could do no wrong now its donegal who he has up on a pedestol.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/05/2013 11:52:43    1387117

Personally looking for a bit of both , expert analysis and delivered in an entertaining format .
Great thing about television is the OFF button we all have one , the majority of time what I enjoy is the passionate /personal point of views given , even when I dont agree with them , Brolly not really my cup of tea , but at least hes not afraid to open his mouth , Id hate for us to go down the soccer avenue of Polished Ex-players cliche riden analaysis to death .
No real qualms about coverage or expets

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 20/05/2013 11:55:04    1387124