The Cruciate Knee injury (Bladed boots)

This is an injury that is becoming all to common in the GAA, in my own club in Fermanagh we have had 5 players suffer this horrid injury in the last 3 years, 3 of these players received the injury last term and will miss the majority of this as a result. The only commonality between all 5 injuries was amazingly that all 5 players were wearing bladed boots. My club has now banded these boots as a result. I am interested to know if anyone else knows players that have been unfortunate enough to receive knee injuries and if so what boots where they wearing?

It is an injury that is damaging football at the minute, Limerick now have lost Galvin, Kilkenny Tennyson, Down Ambrose Rodgers, Fermanagh Eamon Maguire and Paul Cosgrove, and there are numerous others. Something needs to be done as the injury is not only effecting the game it is affecting the financial well being of many of this players and it is a strain on GAA funds to pay for the expensive operation

manowar (Fermanagh) - Posts: 147 - 19/05/2011 12:35:49    934512

Can't say about players that got injuries due to the blades on their boots but a physio i went to a year or 2 back told me never to wear blades as they're an absolute hazard!

beer baron (Cavan) - Posts: 3916 - 19/05/2011 12:48:14    934523

Colm O'Neil of Cork has done the same knee twice now and he is only 22. I pretty sure he wears blades.

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 19/05/2011 13:15:27    934551

Have heard this connection before myself.

Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 19/05/2011 13:39:01    934571

Blades are grand when the ground isn't hard but isn't soft

MadMan10 (Waterford) - Posts: 17 - 19/05/2011 13:54:22    934585

Ive got rid of my blades.
adidas world cups and mundials is all i wear now, too many injuries alrweady without doing a cruciate.

bosch (Derry) - Posts: 873 - 19/05/2011 13:59:07    934588

Had the cruciate done 2 years ago now. I was wearing blades and I blamed them for it partly along with not stretching my hamstring and calf muscles fully. Haven't had any problems since but have not wore boots with the nike style blades but have used addidas blades and had no problems so far.

For those who are unaware of the different styles of blades here you go.
Nike Blades link
Addidas blades link

Pure_full_hi (Monaghan) - Posts: 74 - 19/05/2011 14:10:00    934598

MadMan10
County: Waterford

934585 Blades are grand when the ground isn't hard but isn't soft

Very helpful!!!!

jono (Mayo) - Posts: 350 - 19/05/2011 14:12:14    934605

Back in 68, What a year btw guys!, i broke my knee, some guy punched it and what can i say i just fell and landed on a bell, got a free laptop from dell, it did have an awful smell, i had nobody to tell, so i just started to yell ! ! ! ! Up the Gaa!!

GaaHead718 (Down) - Posts: 2 - 19/05/2011 14:15:30    934610

GaaHead718
County: Down

934610 Back in 68, What a year btw guys!, i broke my knee, some guy punched it and what can i say i just fell and landed on a bell, got a free laptop from dell, it did have an awful smell, i had nobody to tell, so i just started to yell ! ! ! ! Up the Gaa!!

Well that explains his abscence!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 19/05/2011 14:24:19    934615

I was wearing mouldies puma kings when it happened to me in june last year but I definitely blame it on not doing a full warm up because we arrived late up to the match but in my opinion (might not be correct) If you are going to tear your cruciate it will tear no matter what boots you wear, its just that blades are harder to remove from the ground than moulded studs. That said I would still avoid blades and stick to the mouldies that you get with puma kings or the copa mundial adidas

cboyle92 (Down) - Posts: 184 - 19/05/2011 14:45:54    934635

yeah there is defintely a connection

sashman (Kildare) - Posts: 465 - 19/05/2011 15:17:19    934702

players out of this years football championship due to cruciate damage
mark davoren
peter kelly
dermot earley
john galvin
david moran
colm oneill
paddy bradley
david bray
johnathan davey
im sure theres a few more i just cant think of at the top of my head right now
stephen hiney
john tennyson
the only players in hurling unavailable for the remainder of the year

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 19/05/2011 15:26:52    934714

Mark O'Sullivan ( Celbridge & Kildare ) did his last weekend. Wearing you guess it. Blades.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 19/05/2011 15:33:17    934719

stekhli

934714 players out of this years football championship due to cruciate damage
mark davoren
peter kelly
dermot earley
john galvin
david moran
colm oneill
paddy bradley
david bray
johnathan davey
im sure theres a few more i just cant think of at the top of my head right now
stephen hiney
john tennyson
the only players in hurling unavailable for the remainder of the year

Cavan's Martin Reilly is another.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 19/05/2011 15:42:56    934730

JJ Mathews from Longford did his cruciate in a recent club game. Was rumoured to be starting against Laois on Sunday but now out for the year. Francie McGee is only back playing in recent weeks after doing his the week before Longford county final last year.

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 19/05/2011 16:15:55    934764

But not just those in the County Championship. the lads that get injured for the clubs cost the GAA as much and go through the same trouble.

manowar (Fermanagh) - Posts: 147 - 19/05/2011 16:18:28    934769

But not just those in the County Championship. the lads that get injured for the clubs cost the GAA as much and go through the same trouble.

manowar (Fermanagh) - Posts: 147 - 19/05/2011 16:19:47    934772

Blades can be very dodgy on hard ground, they dont get grip at all, and too often a player can slide on the dry grass when turning sharply.

Scruffy2Donut (Cavan) - Posts: 1112 - 19/05/2011 17:11:29    934839

I really am shocked at this suggestion. From what everyone is saying, there are too many coincidences for it NOT to be true. There have been four guys in my club that have damaged their cruciates including one intercounty footballer. I will definitely be asking what type of boots they were wearing at the time! The GAA have got to look further into this and at least make players aware of this possibility. I know an operation to repair the cruciate can cost €5000 which is crazy! And that is for the operation alone, let alone the costs of physio, doctors, MRI, consultants etc.. This is a serious issue that has to be investigated! Fair play to the club in Fermanagh for looking into it themselves and banning blades

gaa..head (Westmeath) - Posts: 84 - 19/05/2011 17:48:11    934877