Donegal 2011 - I feel it in me bones.

Jimbo Mc will do the business this year... A man I have a lot of respect for.

Donegal have some talented players and under his reign, I think he'll bring this group of players together.

... there's some good times coming for Donegal in 2011

They'll play well in Ulster - They may even get close to a possible Ulster Final apperance, but I think we'll really see them at full sprint through the back door.

You've got something to look forward to Donegal fans... I feel it in me bones

... If you'd like to read more go to www.feelitinmebones.ie

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/01/2011 16:52:00    848806

jimbodub.
my heart will always say tyrone , but this year as a man who likes a flutter my money is on the dubs .

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 18/01/2011 17:37:40    848867

I've wasted a lot of money tipping the Donegal boys for Ulster over the years!!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 18/01/2011 17:44:59    848871

They're in preliminary round so can't see them winning Ulster but a good run of the qualifiers isn't beyond them. Depends how the draw treats them I suppose but there's no doubt they have underachieved in recent years.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 18/01/2011 18:05:23    848895

Ye could be right Jim. We have to go up to Ballyboffey in the preliminary round of Ulster , and I dread the outcome. I think Donegal will be ready for us this time given that we ambushed them a bit two years ago , and they didnt have their shootin boots on. I know that beatin Antrim wont make them world beaters , but I do fancy them to take a couple of bigger scalps this year. Always had a soft spot for the Tir Chonnail men.

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 18/01/2011 18:09:33    848904

We will win Ulster. The football mightn't be pretty, actually I can guarantee it won't be after watching the U21s last year. But who cares as long as the end justifies the means. I put 200 euro on them at 20/1 a week before Big Jim took over (insider knowledge he was the only applicant). The All Ireland is waaaaay beyond us I think we just do't have the players. Dublin were proof last year that pulling 13 men behind the ball and lumping it up to your out and out star will not win you an All Ireland, although they did come close. Tyrone will win the AI I think with their wee Angel watching over them, in fact I hope they do.

Break_er (Donegal) - Posts: 798 - 18/01/2011 18:29:05    848929

the division and in some cases hatred between clubs is a big stumbling block for donegal in the same way it has inflicted the galway hurlers in the last 8 years

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 18/01/2011 18:37:40    848944

Donegal are great exponents of how to commit football hari kari; they are either very good or just as bad and there's no in between with them. Down or Tyrone for Ulster with Cork, Kerry or Dublin for SAM. If Down get Ambrose Rogers back, fit and playing well they could have another go for the All Ireland but apart from them no Ulster side will challenge for major honours for a while.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9701 - 18/01/2011 18:37:56    848946

Got to agree with ta Dublin represent the best value of the big 4 at 6/1 and if BB gets a little help up front the boys in blue will go close ,I also think Down can build on last year and 18/1 will have a nibble on them , I would love nothing else for a Tyrone win but I think it will take a long time for them to recover from such a tragic start to the year.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 18/01/2011 18:42:49    848958

Ulsterman

Donegal are great exponents of how to commit football hari kari; they are either very good or just as bad and there's no in between with them. Down or Tyrone for Ulster with Cork, Kerry or Dublin for SAM. If Down get Ambrose Rogers back, fit and playing well they could have another go for the All Ireland but apart from them no Ulster side will challenge for major honours for a while.

18/01/2011 18:42:49
fortyfive

Got to agree with ta Dublin represent the best value of the big 4 at 6/1 and if BB gets a little help up front the boys in blue will go close ,I also think Down can build on last year and 18/1 will have a nibble on them , I would love nothing else for a Tyrone win but I think it will take a long time for them to recover from such a tragic start to the year.

I see the culchies have started hyping up the Dubs again as usual!!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 18/01/2011 18:48:08    848968

Culchies MesAmis! Surely that's anyone outside Belfast? Anyway sure there's more chance of finding hens teeth than a real, genuine, Moore St. Dub. Most of those living and playing GAA in Dublin ARE culchies, sons and daughters of culchies or immigrants.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9701 - 18/01/2011 18:54:45    848976

Listen lad's get your money on a Team beginning with (B) to win SAM this year what are they called ? Baile Átha Cliath ,Is that better MesAmis no mention of the (D) word

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 18/01/2011 19:07:16    848983

Ulsterman

Culchies MesAmis! Surely that's anyone outside Belfast? Anyway sure there's more chance of finding hens teeth than a real, genuine, Moore St. Dub. Most of those living and playing GAA in Dublin ARE culchies, sons and daughters of culchies or immigrants.

In my eyes anyone who isn't from inside the M50 ring is a culchie. I used to be a lot stricter on this but I've mellowed in recent times.

You are right about the lack of proper Dubs though. Culchies have the place ruined.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 18/01/2011 19:12:24    848986

I feel it in me bones allright

banterladhi (Donegal) - Posts: 502 - 18/01/2011 20:00:36    849027

MesAmis

848968 Ulsterman

18/01/2011 18:42:49
fortyfive

I see the culchies have started hyping up the Dubs again as usual!!

Crazy stuff alright... but whats new!The culchie sports journalists based in Dublin are the worst for it!! The way country folk harp on about the hype around the Dubs in the papers throughout the championship... you've got ur fellow Culchies to thank for that.

Jaysus I start a thread about Donegal possibly having a good year and people have turned that into Dublin winning the All Ireland... I know youre just throwing an idea out there... but really the thread is about Donegal.

It aint going to happen this year folks for Dublin.. Cork, Kerry, Tyrone (Meath,Kildare, Down and possibly Dublin)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/01/2011 20:31:35    849055

fortyfive

Listen lad's get your money on a Team beginning with (B) to win SAM this year what are they called ? Baile Átha Cliath ,Is that better MesAmis no mention of the (D) word

A little pet hate of mine I must admit fortyfive is the use of Baile Átha Cliath to refer to Dublin GAA. TG4 do it all the time.

Dublin GAA is made up of clubs from Dublin City and County Dublin. Therefore Baile Átha Cliath should not be used. It should be Áth Cliath(Dubh Linn would probably be even better!). A little pedantic I will admit.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 18/01/2011 20:40:37    849064

Jaysus I start a thread about Donegal possibly having a good year and people have turned that into Dublin winning the All Ireland... I know youre just throwing an idea out there... but really the thread is about Donegal.

That's power for the course jimbodub on here , wait a day or two and it will have morphed into how many Missiles or Giant fireworks do North Korea hold.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 18/01/2011 21:00:55    849094

MesAmis

849064 fortyfive

A little pet hate of mine I must admit fortyfive is the use of Baile Átha Cliath to refer to Dublin GAA. TG4 do it all the time.

Dublin GAA is made up of clubs from Dublin City and County Dublin. Therefore Baile Átha Cliath should not be used. It should be Áth Cliath(Dubh Linn would probably be even better!). A little pedantic I will admit.

I prefer Dubh Linn.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/01/2011 21:02:32    849097

fortyfive

That's power for the course jimbodub on here , wait a day or two and it will have morphed into how many Missiles or Giant fireworks do North Korea hold.

Funny you should bring that up, it seems the Egyptians suplied them with Scud B missiles

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 18/01/2011 21:47:30    849136

Would love to see em do well. Always liked Donegal for some reason. Had a good time up there last year in Ballybofey.

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 19/01/2011 08:05:02    849158